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I. INTRODUCTION

Since 1934, the State has delegated authority to implement and

enforce the State' s liquor laws to the Washington State Liquor Control

Board (Board). The Board issues licenses to sell liquor, enforces statutes

and regulations governing the exercise of licensing rights, and, until May

31, 2012, distributed liquor sold at retail from stores operated by the Board

and staffed by employees of the Board, or from stores operated by persons

who contracted to sell the state -owned liquor in exchange for a

commission. See Ch. 66.08 RCW (2010). 

In November 2011, the voters of Washington passed Initiative

1183, which " privatized" the importation, distribution, and retail sale of

spirits. The Initiative created new spirits distributor licenses, spirits retail

licenses, and modified or created privileges that other types of liquor

licensees can hold or exercise with regard to spirituous liquor. The law

imposed license fees to be collected by the Board. Among those fees is a

fee imposed on spirits distributors based on sales. The " license issuance

fee" for spirits distributors is set at the rate of 10 percent of sales in the

first 27 months of licensure, dropping to five percent in each year after

that. See RCW 66. 24.055( 3)( a). Initiative 1183 set a minimum amount of

150 million in license issuance fees that must be collected from those
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holding spirits distributor licenses in the first year of spirits sales. RCW

66. 24.055( 3)( c). 

Petitioners —the Association of Washington Spirits and Wine

Distributors (Distributor Association), an organization formed to represent

the interests of spirits distributors — challenge the Board' s rule that

implements this portion of I -1183, claiming that the Board should have

spread the collection of the $ 150 million across a broader group of

licensees, including those who do not hold spirits distributor licenses but

who have limited distribution rights under other licenses or certificates. 

They assert that by imposing a fee on those licensees with only limited

distribution authority for their distribution activities, but not the obligation

to contribution to the first year $ 150 million minimum, the Board acted

arbitrarily and capriciously. 

The superior court correctly concluded that the Board acted within

its authority, that the rule imposing the $ 150 million minimum obligation

only on distributor licensees is consistent with the language of the statute

it implements, and that the rule does not violate the privileges and

immunities clause of the Washington Constitution. The Board

respectfully requests that the Court affirm the superior court' s order

denying the Distributor Association' s Petition for Declaratory Judgment. 
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II. COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

1. Did the Board properly impose the requirement to contribute $ 150

million in spirits distributor license fees in the first year of private

liquor distribution only on " persons holding spirits distributor
licenses" when the rule follows the language of the statute and

does not conflict with the Board' s separate authority to impose fees
on other licensees who exercise limited distribution rights? 

2. Does the Board' s rule violate the Washington State Constitution' s
privileges and immunities clause, article I, section 12, when

engaging in the business of selling or distributing liquor is not a
fundamental right of state citizenship? 

3. Even if selling liquor were a fundamental right of state citizenship, 
did the Board have a reasonable basis to distinguish between

persons holding distributor licenses, who have nearly unlimited
distribution authority, and other licensees, who exercise very

limited distribution authority? 

III. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Initiative 1183 Transferred The Business Of Distributing And

Selling Spirits From The Liquor Control Board To Private
Businesses

Before I -1183 was approved by voters in 2011, the state was the

exclusive distributor and retailer for off - premises consumption of spirits.
1

Wash. Ass' n for Substance Abuse & Violence Prevention v. State, 174

Wn.2d 642, 648, 278 P. 3d 632 ( 2012) ( citing former RCW 66. 16. 010

2010)); see also former RCW 66.08. 050 ( 2010). All retailers selling

liquor on premises ( e. g., restaurants and bars) had to purchase spirits from

a designated state liquor store. Id., 174 Wn.2d at 648. The Board

1 " Spirits" is defined to include almost all distilled alcoholic beverages and some
fortified wines. RCW 66. 04. 010( 41). 
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purchased spirits from suppliers and distributed them to state liquor stores

from a single distribution center. See former RCW 66. 08. 030, . 050, and

former RCW 66. 16. 010 -080 ( 2010). Sales, taxes, and markups

contributed funds to the state treasury. 

B. I -1183 Imposed License Fees Based On Sales To Replace

Revenues The State Earned Through Its Sales Of Spirits

Initiative 1183 " privatized" the importation, distribution, and retail

sale of spirits. The Initiative provided for spirits distributor and retail

licensees, and it imposed license fees based on sales to make up for loss of

the state' s markup on its sale of liquor. Laws of 2012, ch. 2, §§ 103, 105

codified as RCW 66.24.630, . 055). After the implementation of I -1183, 

the Board continues to collect license fees from all types of liquor

licensees, but it no longer has authority to buy, distribute, or sell liquor. 

Laws of 2012, ch. 2, § 102( 2) ( codified as RCW 66.24.620( 2)). 

In addition to requiring annual license renewal fees, the Initiative

specifically required that persons holding spirits distributor licenses pay an

initial spirits distributor license issuance fee to make up any revenue

shortfall in the transition to private sales in I- 1183' s first year. Laws of

2012, ch. 2, § 105( 3) ( codified as RCW 66. 24.055( 3)). 
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C. I -1183 Authorized Licensed Distillers And Certificate Of

Approval Holders To Sell Their Products Directly To Retailers

To replace the state as the sole distributor of spirits, I -1183 created

a " spirits distributor license." Laws of 2012, ch. 2, § 105 ( codified as

RCW 66.24.055). Licensed spirits distributors now account for almost all

sales of spirits for resale. See CP 16; 18 - 20, Declaration of John Guadnola

Guadnola Decl.). But I -1183 also allowed distillers and importers to

exercise limited authority to distribute their own products without

requiring the sale to go through a licensed spirits distributor: licensed in- 

state distillers may sell their own product directly to retailers, and out -of- 

state spirits distillers and importers may obtain " certificates of approval" 

that authorize them to import their products into Washington and sell them

directly to retailers. Laws of 2012, ch. 2, § 206 ( codified as RCW

66. 24.640). 

D. I -1183 Requires Spirits Distributor Licensees To Pay A License
Fee Based On Sales, And To Have Paid Collectively At Least

150 Million In Such Fees In The First Year Of Spirits Sales

Initiative 1183 was intended to provide increased funding for state

and local government services, including local public safety programs. 

Laws of 2012, ch. 2, § 101( 2)( a), ( k). Consistent with that intent, 1 - 1183

created an obligation for " all persons holding spirits distributor licenses on

or before March 31, 2013," to have " paid collectively one hundred fifty

million dollars or more in spirits distributor license fees." Laws of 2012, 

5



ch. 2, § 105( 3)( c) ( codified as RCW 66.24.055( 3)( c)). The Initiative

directed the Board to adopt rules to deteiiliine how any shortfall in the

payment of the $ 150 million was to be collected, to be " allocated among

persons holding spirits distributor licenses . ratably according to their

spirits sales made during calendar year 2012." Id. 

In compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act, Chapter

34. 05 RCW, the Board adopted WAC 314 -23 -025 to implement the

shortfall payment requirement in RCW 66.24.055( 3)( c). 2 WAC 314 -23- 

025 provides that the shortfall must be paid by " persons holding a spirits

distributor license on or before March 31, 2013," with the amount owed

by each " spirits distributor licensee" calculated by " dividing the total

dollar amount of sales made by each spirits distributor licensee by the total

spirits sales made by all spirits distributor licensees combined" during the

calendar year 2012. A copy of RCW 66.24.055 and of WAC 314 -23 -025

are attached as Appendix A to this brief. 

2 The Board filed a Preproposal Statement of Inquiry on May 24, 2012 ( AR 8), 
notified the public of the filing ( AR 10), drafted language of the proposed rule, and

published notice of the proposed rule, (AR 25 -30). ( The Certified. Administrative Record

AR) was separately transmitted to the Court and is separately paginated from the Clerk' s
Papers. It is 73 pages.) The Board solicited and accepted written comment, and held a

public hearing on the proposed rule language on October 3, 2012. ( AR 38). ( The hearing
was postponed one week from the date listed in the CR -102. AR 29, 33.) The Board

received written comments from three entities, and verbal comments from two of those

three. AR 38 - 53. The Board considered the comments, and on October 10, 2012, 

adopted WAC 314 -23 -025 to implement RCW 66.24. 055( 3)( c). AR 58 - 59. The Board' s

compliance with rulemaking procedures was not challenged here. 
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E. First -Year Private Liquor Distribution Sales Resulted In A

Shortfall

Pursuant to the statute and rule, the Board calculated the

contributions to the first -year $ 150 million requirement from the fees

collected from holders of spirits distributor licenses and assessed any

shortfall on the same. CP 23. Since the fees collected from the spirits

distributor licensees only amounted to approximately $45 million dollars, 

an approximately $ 105 million shortfall assessment was issued to them. 

CP 23. 

F. The Superior Court Denied The Distributor Association' s

Attempt To Impose On Others A Partial Obligation To Repay
The Shortfall

In this action, the Distributor Association, formed to represent the

interests of the largest spirits distributors in the state, sought a declaratory

judgment that the Board' s shortfall rule, WAC 314 -23 -025, exceeded the

Board' s authority, was arbitrary and capricious, and violated the privileges

and immunities clause of the Washington Constitution.
3

CP 4 - 13. They

complained that the rule should also impose the shortfall obligation on

distillers and certificate of approval holders who exercise limited

3 In a separate action, the Washington Restaurant Association, Northwest

Grocery Association, and Costco also challenged the Board' s rules implementing I -1183, 
including WAC 314 -23- 030( 1), ( 2) and ( 3), which require spirits certificate of approval

holders to pay the 10% fee on sales made when acting as a distributor or when importing
product to sell to distributors. The Superior Court upheld these rules. Wash. Restaurant

Ass' n v. Wash. Liquor Contr. Bd., No. 12- 2- 01312- 5 ( Thurston County Superior Court). 
The case is stayed pending ruling of the Superior Court on the adequacy of the small
business economic impact statement prepared by the Board. 
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distribution authority. CP 4 - 13. After briefing and oral argument, the

Thurston County Superior Court rejected all of the Distributor

Association' s arguments, finding the rule does not exceed the Board' s

rulemaking authority, is not arbitrary and capricious, and does not violate

the privileges and immunities clause. RP 29 -32. This appeal followed. 

IV. SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Court should affirm the superior court' s order finding the

Board' s shortfall rule valid because the rule follows the language of the

statute it implements and is not inconsistent with the Board' s imposition

of an additional fee on distillers and certificate of approval holders who

exercise limited distribution authority. The Board' s authority to impose

the shortfall obligation only on spirits distributor licensees comes directly

from the statute, RCW 66.24.055( 3)( c), which imposes the obligation only

on " persons holding spirits distributor licenses." In contrast, the Board' s

authority to impose an additional distribution fee on licensed distillers and

certificate of approval holders comes not, as the Distributor Association

suggests, from the Initiative' s requirement that those licensees comply

with all " applicable laws and rules relating to distributors," RCW

66.24.640, see also RCW 66.28. 330( 4), but from the Board' s historically

broad regulatory authority over liquor and its specific authority to impose

fees even where the Legislature has prescribed none. RCW 66. 08. 030( 4). 
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Accordingly, the shortfall rule is consistent with the statutory language, 

does not exceed the Board' s authority, and is not arbitrary and capricious. 

The Board' s shortfall rule also does not violate the Washington

Constitution' s privileges and immunities clause, article 1, section 12. For

a violation to occur, the rule must infringe a fundamental right of state

citizenship, and the right to distribute liquor is not a fundamental right of

state citizenship. Even if it were, the Board had a reasonable basis to

distinguish licensed spirits distributors, who have broad, nearly unlimited

distribution authority, RCW 6624.055( 1), from licensed distillers and

certificate of approval holders, who may distribute only their own

products,, RCW 66.24.640. Spirits distributor licensees are not similarly

situated to distiller licensees nor to persons who hold spirits certificates of

approval. This Court should affirm. 

V. ARGUMENT

The Board' s authority to impose an additional fee on licensed

distillers and certificate of approval holders, for the limited right to

distribute their own products, comes not from the requirement that those

licensees comply with the laws applicable to distributors, but rather from

the Board' s historically broad regulatory authority over liquor and its

specific authority to impose fees where the Legislature has prescribed

none. 
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A. Standard Of Review

The Court reviews the validity of an agency rule under RCW

34. 05. 570( 2)( c). Under that provision, a rule may be invalidated only if it

1) violates constitutional provisions; 2) exceeds the agency' s statutory

authority; 3) was adopted without complying with statutory rule- making

procedures; or 4) is arbitrary and capricious in that it could not have been

the product of a rational decision maker. H &H P 'ship v. State, 115 Wn. 

App. 164, 167, 62 P. 3d 510 ( 2003). 

B. The Board Acted Reasonably, Rationally, And Within Its

Statutory Authority In Prescribing Fees For Persons Holding
Distiller' s Licenses Or Certificates Of Approval Who Choose

To Distribute Their Products

The Distributor Association argues WAC 314 -23 -025 exceeds the

Board' s statutory authority. Opening Br. of Appellant at 13. A rule is

presumed valid and should be upheld if it is reasonably consistent with the

statute it implements. Wash. Pub. Ports Ass 'n v. Dep 't of Revenue, 148

Wn.2d 637, 646, 62 P. 3d 462 ( 2003). The burden is on the Distributor

Association to present compelling reasons why the rule is in conflict with

the intent and purpose of the statute it implements. RCW 34. 05. 570( 1( a); 

Hi- Starr, Inc. v. Liquor Control Bd., 160 Wn.2d 455, 459, 722 P. 2d 808

1986). 

Because of the public safety implications associated with liquor

consumption, the Board historically has had broad regulatory authority
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over the sale and distribution of liquor. See RCW 66. 08. 010; Jow Sin

Quan v. Liquor Control Bd., 69 Wn.2d 373, 382, 418 P. 2d 424 ( 1966); see

also Wash. Ass' n for Substance Abuse, 174 Wn.2d at 657. While the

passage of I -1183 ended the state' s direct involvement in the sale and

distribution of liquor, it did not diminish the state' s authority to regulate

the sale and distribution of liquor or its authority to impose fees on those

activities. See RCW 66. 08. 010, 66. 08. 030( 3) —(20). The Board also is

specifically authorized to impose license fees even where the Legislature

has prescribed none. RCW 66. 08. 030(4). Given these broad and specific

powers, the Board reasonably acted within its authority to impose an

additional fee on licensees who act as distributors but who are not required

to obtain a specific distributor license. And, as discussed in Section V.C. 

below, the imposition of this additional fee is not inconsistent with the

Board' s rule implementing the specific statutory directive that the $ 150

million shortfall obligation be imposed only on persons who obtained a

spirits distributor license.
4

4 The Distributor Association may argue that the Court should not entertain this
argument because the Board did not present it below. However, a " party may present a
ground for affirming a trial court decision which was not presented to the trial court if the
record has been sufficiently developed to fairly consider the ground." RAP 2. 5( a). As

the Board' s argument is purely legal and does not rely on any material outside of the
record, the Court may consider it. 
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1. I -1183 created new spirits licenses, giving some

manufacturers and importers the authority to distribute
spirits without having to obtain a spirits distributor
license. 

Before the passage and implementation of 1 - 1183, only the State of

Washington could distribute and sell packaged spirits within the state. 

The. Initiative ended the state' s exclusive right to distribution and retail

sales, allowing private persons to become licensed as spirits distributors in

Washington. RCW 66.24.055 established a spirits distributor license, 

allowing a person holding the license to be a general distributor and

exporter of spirits. A person holding a spirits distributor license is broadly

authorized to purchase spirits from

manufacturers, distillers, or suppliers including, without

limitation, licensed Washington distilleries, licensed spirits

importers, other Washington spirits distributors, or

suppliers of foreign spirits located outside of the United

States, 

and to sell those spirits to

spirits retailers including, without limitation, spirits retail
licensees, special occasion license holders, interstate

common carrier license holders, restaurant spirits retailer

license holders, spirits, beer, and wine private club license

holders, hotel license holders, sports entertainment facility
license holders, and spirits, beer, and wine nightclub

license holders, and to other spirits distributors; 

or to export those spirits from the state. RCW 66.24.055( 1). 

In exchange for the privilege of holding a spirits distributor

license, the licensee must pay (with some exceptions to avoid double fees) 
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a license issuance fee that is comprised of two parts: ( 1) a monthly fee, 

calculated as 10 percent of the total revenue from the licensee' s sales of

spirits for that month, for each of the first 27 months of licensure, 

dropping to five percent for the 28th month and thereafter; and ( 2) an

additional one -time prorated payment by " all persons holding spirits

distributor licenses on or before March 31, 2013," as necessary to bring to

at least $ 150 million the total amount the Board collected in spirits

distributor license fees through March 31, 2013. RCW 66.24.055( 3)( a), 

and ( c). 5

Persons holding spirits distributor licenses are authorized as

general distributors of spirits in Washington, able to buy and sell spirits

purchased from a wide range of manufacturers, distillers, and suppliers

anywhere in the world. Other persons may obtain only a much more

limited authority to distribute spirits. For example, a person who produces

spirits under a distiller' s license under RCW 66.24. 140 may " act as a .. 

distributor to retailers . . . of spirits of its own production." RCW

66.24.640. The fee for a distiller' s license is $ 2, 000 per year, with

reductions for certain small distillers of spirits. RCW 66.24. 140. The

5 Although the conditional requirement in RCW 66. 24.055( 3)( c) that additional

fees be paid by persons holding spirits distributor licenses may be unorthodox, it is not
challenged in this action. The requirement unambiguously requires " additional spirits
distributor license fees" only from "persons holding spirits distributor licenses." This is a

licensing fee explicitly imposed on a specific licensee. 
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statute is silent as to any additional fee for a licensed distiller acting as a

distributor of its own product, even though it imposes no upper limit on

the quantity of product that a licensed distiller may distribute. 

Similarly, a manufacturer, importer, or bottler of spirits may obtain

a " certificate of approval" authorizing it to import those spirits into the

state and distribute them to persons who are licensed by the Board or

otherwise legally authorized to sell spirits in Washington. RCW

66.24. 640; RCW 66.28. 035( 2). The statute is silent as to the fee to be

imposed for a certificate of approval, leaving it to the Board to provide by

rule for the issuance of certificates of approval. RCW 66.24. 640. 

2. The Board properly exercised both its broad regulatory
authority and its specific fee - setting authority to impose
an additional fee on distillers and certificate of approval

holders when acting as distributors. 

The Distributor Association suggests that because distillers and

certificate of approval holders who exercise limited distribution authority

are required to comply with the " applicable laws and rules relating to

distributors," RCW 66.24.640, see also RCW 66.28. 330(4), then both the

10 percent distributor license fee and first -year $ 150 license fee obligation

must be imposed on those other licensees. Opening Br. of Appellant at

13 - 23. They are mistaken. The Board has broad, general authority to

p] erform all other matters and things, whether similar to the foregoing or
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not, to carry out the provisions of this title, and has full power to do each

and every act necessary to the conduct of its regulatory functions .. . 

subject only to audit by the state auditor." Former RCW 66.08. 050( 7).
6

The entirety of Title 66 RCW is " deemed an exercise of the police power

of the state, for the protection of the welfare, health, peace, morals, and

safety of the people of the state, and all its provisions shall be liberally

construed for the accomplishment of that purpose." RCW 66. 08. 010. 

Moreover, the Washington Supreme Court has consistently acknowledged

and affirmed the broad grant of powers to the Board. See, e.g., Hi- Starr, 

106 at 458; Anderson, Leech & Morse, Inc. v. Liquor Control Bd., 89

Wn.2d 688, 694 -95, 575 P. 2d 221 ( 1978); State ex rel. Thornbury v, 

Gregory, 191 Wash. 70, 74 -79, 70 P. 2d 788 ( 1937). The Court has

specifically recognized the power of administrative agencies to adopt rules

to fill in the interstices of statutes." Hi- Starr, 106 Wn.2d at 462 - 63. 

In addition to the Board' s broad authority to regulate the

distribution and sale of liquor, the Board is specifically authorized to

prescribe fees for "peiniits and licenses issued under this title for which no

fees are prescribed in the title, and prescribing the fees for anything done

6 This statute was amended by the 2014 Legislature, and former RCW
66. 08. 050( 7) was renumbered as . 050( 8) without any other change to the subsection. 
Laws of 2014, ch. 63, § 3 ( ESHB 2155). Although I -1183 amended RCW 66. 08. 030 and

050 ( see Laws of 2012, ch. 2, §§ 204 and 107, respectively), the statutory language cited
in this paragraph was preserved. 
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or permitted to be done under the regulations." RCW 66. 08.030( 4). 

Accordingly, although I -1183 did not specifically impose fees on licensed

distillers who choose to distribute their product directly to licensed liquor

retailers or persons obtaining a certificate of approval to import spirits into

Washington to distribute them to licensed liquor retailers, the Board has

ample authority to prescribe such fees. And it is within its discretion to

calculate these fees using the same formula as provided for persons

holding spirits distributor licenses —i.e., as a percentage of gross

distribution sales of the product distributed to licensed liquor retailers. 

WAC 314 -28- 070( 3); WAC 314 -23- 030( 3). It is these broad and specific

powers that authorize the Board to impose an additional fee on distillers

and certificate of approval holders who exercise limited distribution rights, 

and not, as the Distributor Association suggests, the requirement to

comply the " applicable laws and rules relating to distributors," RCW

66.24.640, see also RCW 66.28. 330( 4). Opening Br. of Appellant at

13 - 23. 

But the Board' s exercise of its authority to prescribe these fees did

not somehow transform distillers licenses and certificates of approval into

spirits distributor licenses; nor does it transform distillers licensees and

certificate holders into holders of spirit distributor licenses. As explained

above, the holder of a spirits distributor license is granted broad approval
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to be a general distributor and exporter of spirits with very few limits on

the sources from which it purchases and distributes spirits. RCW

66.24.055( 1). In contrast, the holder of a certificate of approval has much

more limited authority to distribute the spirits it imports into the State —it

may sell only its own products, and it may sell them only to spirits

distributors or importers licensed in Washington, unless it pays the

prescribed fees to receive a separate additional endorsement allowing sale

directly to licensed spirits retailers. WAC 314 -23 -030. Similarly, the

holder of a distiller' s license has authority to sell only its own products, 

which it may sell to licensed spirits distributors or, by paying the

additional fee prescribed in WAC 314 -28- 070( 3), directly to licensed

spirits retailers. But paying the additional fees prescribed in WAC 314- 

23- 030( 3) and WAC 314 -28- 070( 3) does not confer authority on the

holder of a distiller license or a certificate of approval to become a general

distributor of spirits; that authority is reserved to persons holding a spirits

distributor license. 

Moreover, the Board did not purport to rely solely on RCW

66.24.055 —which created provisions for spirits distributor licenses —as

authority for prescribing fees on licensed distillers and persons holding a

certificate of approval who choose to distribute their own products. In

adopting both WAC 314 -28 -070, 314 -23 -025, and 314 -23 -030, the Board
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cited as authority five statutes, including RCW 66.08. 030 ( providing for

the Board' s broad rulemaking authority). Accordingly, it is not necessary

to parse the language in RCW 66. 24.055( 3) to find the necessary authority

for these rules. Because distiller licensees and certificate of approval

holders are not transformed into spirits distributor licensees just because

they are permitted to undertake limited distribution activities, they are not

persons holding spirits distributor licenses" from whom the Board must

collect additional spirits distributor license fees under RCW

66.24.055( 3)( c). Persons holding a distillers license or certificate of

approval are not licensed under RCW 66. 24.055, and their license fees— 

including the extra fee prescribed for undertaking the limited distribution

of their products to licensed spirits retailers —do not depend on the

language of RCW 66.24.055( 3)( a). 

Finally, the general requirement in RCW 66. 24.640, that a licensed

distiller operating as a distributor or retailer must comply with the

applicable laws and rules relating to distributors or retailers, does not

subject a licensed distiller to fees assessed against holders of a spirits

distributor license. As explained above, these are different licenses, 

authorizing different sets of activities, for which different fees have been

Both rules cited RCW 66. 08. 030, 66.24. 055, 66. 24. 160, 66. 24.630, and

66.24. 640. A copy is attached as Appendix B. See also Wash. St. Reg. 12 -12 -065, at 79- 
85 ( available at http: / /apps. leg.wa.gov/ documents /laws /wsr /2012 /12 /12- 12PERM.pdf); 
AR 29. 
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established by statute or by the Board pursuant to its broad statutory

authority. Where the activities authorized by different licenses overlap, it

is appropriate and reasonable that those activities be subject to the same or

similar applicable regulatory requirements, such as reporting requirements

and requirements relating to fair dealing and undue influence. See, e. g., 

RCW 66.28. 290, . 315. But a general provision requiring compliance with

applicable laws and rules does not trump specific provisions setting fees. 

Hallauer v. Spectrum Prop., Inc., 143 Wn.2d 126, 146 -47, 18 P.3d 540

2001) ( specific statutes control over general ones); see also Section V.C.2

below. 

C. The Shortfall Rule Is Reasonably Consistent With The Statute
It Implements

As discussed above, the Board has both general and specific

authority to impose a fee on distillers and certificate of authority holders

for their distribution activities, and it properly exercised that authority

when it calculated that fee based on the distributor license issuance fee

imposed on licensed distributors under RCW 66. 24. 055( 3)( a). The

exercise of this authority is not inconsistent with the Board' s rule

imposing the $ 150 million shortfall obligation only on licensed

distributors, because the language of RCW 66.24. 055( 3)( c) specifically

imposes that separate obligation only on " persons holding spirits
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distributor licenses," and neither the Board nor this Court may add

language to that statute. Because the Board' s shortfall rule closely tracks

the language of the statute it implements, it should be upheld. Washington

Pub. Ports Ass 'n, 148 Wn.2d at 646. 

1. WAC 314 -23 -025 is consistent with the language of

RCW 66.24.055( 3)( c), and neither the Board nor the

Court may add language to the statute. 

Initiative 1183 imposed a " license issuance fee" on each person

obtaining a spirits distributor license and set out the amount and

parameters of the fee: 

3)( a) As limited by (b) of this subsection and subject to ( c) 
of this subsection, each spirits distributor licensee must pay
to the board, for deposit into the liquor revolving fund, a
license issuance fee calculated as follows: 

i) In each of the first twenty -seven months of
licensure, ten percent of the total revenue from all

the licensee' s sales of spirits made during the month
for which the fee is due, respectively; and
ii) In the twenty- eighth month of licensure and

each month thereafter, five percent of the total

revenue from all the licensee's sales of spirits made

during the month for which the fee is due, 

respectively. 

RCW 66.24.055( 3)( a) ( emphasis added). 8 The Initiative also included a

provision to guarantee the state collected a minimum amount of $ 150

s The block quote includes an amendment by the 2013 Legislature, which
changed the time period from two years to twenty -seven months. Laws of 2013 2nd sp. 
sess., ch. 12, § 1. 
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million in these fees from spirits distributor licensees in the first year of

private distribution: 

By March 31, 2013, all persons holding spirits distributor
licenses on or before March 31, 2013, must have paid

collectively one hundred fifty million dollars or more in
spirits distributor license fees. If the collective payment

through March 31, 2013, totals less than one hundred fifty
million dollars, the board must, according to rules adopted
by the board for the purpose, collect by May 31, 2013, as
additional spirits distributor license fees the difference

between one hundred fifty million dollars and the actual
receipts, allocated among persons holding spirits

distributor licenses at any time on or before March 31, 
2013, ratably according to their spirits sales made during
calendar year 2012. Any amount by which such payments
exceed one hundred fifty million dollars by March 31, 
2013, must be credited to future license issuance fee

obligations of spirits distributor licensees according to
rules adopted by the board. 

RCW 66.24.055( 3)( c) ( emphasis added). The statute explicitly defines

where the obligation for the $ 150 million minimum payment lies: on

persons holding spirits distributor licenses" during the relevant time

period. Accordingly, the Board required only this specific group of

licensees to contribute to any shortfall when it implemented WAC 314 -23- 

025. 

WAC 314 -23- 025( 1) closely tracks the language of RCW

66.24. 055( 3)( c) in outlining what the law requires the Board to collect and

from whom. WAC 314- 23- 025( 1)( b) implements the ratable allocation
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requirement in RCW 66.24. 055( 3)( c) by providing that "[ e] ach licensee" 

will be required to pay their proportionate share of the shortfall. WAC

314- 23- 025( 1)( b). The use of "each licensee" refers back to the opening

of subsection ( 1), which identifies the group on whom the $ 150 million

requirement falls ( "all persons holding a spirits distributor license ") and

against whom the Board is directed to assess the requirement ( " those

persons holding a spirits distributor license "), and also to subsection ( 1)( a) 

which refers to " total spirits sales made by each spirits distributor

licensee "). 

After careful review, the superior court agreed that language of. 

WAC 314 -23 -025 is consistent with the language of RCW

66.24.055( 3)( c). RP 29. The Board' s decision to decline to impose the

150 million minimum and shortfall obligations on anyone other than

those holding spirits distributor licenses on or before March 31, 2013, " is

reasonably consistent with the statutory scheme right as a whole and does

not directly conflict with the provisions of the statute or Initiative

1183...." RP 32. This Court should affirm. 

The Distributor Association asks this Court to read the

responsibility for contributing to any shortfall in the $ 150 million

minimum requirement as also falling on other licensees acting as
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distributors.
9

But neither the Board in its rulemaking nor the Court in

deciding this case may add language to an unambiguous statute. City of

Seattle v. Fuller, 177 Wn.2d 263, 287, 300 P. 3d 340 ( 2013). RCW

66.24.055( 3)( c) specifically refers to " persons holding spirits distributor

licenses," not to spirits distributors generically and not to persons holding

certificates of approval or licensed distillers acting as distributors. The

Board correctly declined to add language to the shortfall provision so as to

require anyone other than " persons holding spirits distributor licenses" to

contribute. 

2. The specific language imposing the shortfall obligation
only on persons holding spirits distributor licenses
supersedes the general language requiring licensees who
act as distributors to comply with applicable laws
relating to distributors. 

The Distributor Association argues that there is " no plausible

argument" that the general language in the statutes authorizing other

licensees to act as distributors does not require those other licensees to

contribute to the $ 150 million minimum and any shortfall. Opening Br. of

Appellant at 13 ( relying on RCW 66.24.640 ( " An industry member

operating as a distributor ... under this section must comply with the

applicable laws and rules relating to distributors . . . . ") and RCW

9 Indeed, by stating " For all practical purposes, [ distillers] are ` persons holding
spirits distributor licenses, ' the Distributor Association urges the Court to change the

plain statutory language. Opening Br. of Appellant at 14. 
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66.28. 330( 4) ( " The distiller must, to the extent consistent with the

purposes of chapter 2, Laws of 2012, comply with all provisions of and

regulations under this title applicable to wholesale distributors selling

spirits to retailers. ")). But a specific statute supersedes a general statute

when both apply. Kustura v. Dep' t ofLabor & Indus., 169 Wn.2d 81, 88, 

233 P. 3d 853 ( 2010); see also Knowles v. Holly, 82 Wn.2d 694, 702, 513

P.2d 18 ( 1973) ( "[ W]here there is a conflict between one statutory

provision which deals with a subject in a general way and another which

deals with the same subject in a specific manner, the latter will prevail. ") 

citing State ex rel. Phillips v. Liquor Control Bd., 59 Wn.2d 565, 369

P. 2d 844 ( 1962)). Here, contrary to the Distributor Association' s

argument, the specific limitation on precisely who must contribute to the

shortfall in the collection of $150 million in license issuance fees prevails

over the general requirement that licensees who act as distributors comply

with the applicable laws relating to distributors. The Board' s rule limiting

the $ 150 million minimum and shortfall obligations to only those who

actually hold spirits distributor licenses is consistent with the specific

language of RCW 66.24.055( 3)( c). 
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D. Initiative 1183 Explicitly Authorized The Board To Adopt A
Rule Governing The Collection Of Any Shortfall

Under RCW 34. 05. 570( 2)( c), a court may invalidate a rule only if

it " exceeds the statutory authority of the agency." A rule is valid if it is

promulgated pursuant to properly delegated authority. State v. Brown, 142

Wn.2d 57, 62, 11 P. 3d 818 ( 2000). The Court' s review is de novo. 

Armstrong v. State, 91 Wn. App. 530, 536, 958 P. 2d 1010 ( 1998). 

Here, the statute explicitly directed the Board to adopt a rule

governing the collection of any shortfall: 

If the collective payment through March 31, 2013, totals

less than one hundred fifty million dollars, the board must, 
according to rules adopted by the board for the purpose, 
collect by May 31, 2013, as additional spirits distributor
license fees the difference between one hundred fifty
million dollars and the actual receipts ... 

RCW 66.24.055( 3)( c) ( emphasis added). The rule was promulgated

pursuant to properly delegated authority. 

E. The Shortfall Rule Ts Not Arbitrary And Capricious Because It
Was Enacted With Due Consideration

A court may invalidate a rule if it is " arbitrary and capricious." 

RCW 34. 05. 570( 2)( c). A rule is arbitrary and capricious only if is " willful

and unreasoning and taken without regard to the attending facts or

circumstances." Wash. Indep. Tel. Ass 'n v. Wash. Utils. & Transp. 

Comm' n, 148 Wn.2d 887, 905, 64 P. 3d 606 ( 2003). ""[ W]here there is

room for two opinions, an action taken after due consideration is not
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arbitrary and capricious even though a reviewing court may believe it to

be erroneous. "' Rios v. Dep' t ofLabor & Indus., 145 Wn.2d 483, 501, 39

P. 3d 961 ( 2002) ( quoting Hillis v. Dep' t ofEcology, 131 Wn.2d 373, 383, 

932 P. 2d 139 ( 1997)). The arbitrary and capricious standard is very

narrow and highly deferential, and the party asserting it carries a " heavy

burden." King Cnty. Public Hosp. Dist. No. 2 v. Dep' t ofHealth, 167 Wn. 

App. 740, 749, 275 P. 3d 1141 ( 2012). 

The Distributor Association' s argument regarding arbitrary and

capricious rulemaking is essentially a recapitulation of its contention that

the rule is inconsistent with the statute. As explained above, the rule

closely follows the statute and is not inconsistent with it. Neither is the

rule arbitrary and capricious. The Board gave due consideration to the

language of I -1183, the comments and testimony it received during the

rulemaking process, and obtained the advice of counsel in determining the

content and form of the rule that is challenged here. See AR 54 -73. Even

if the Board erred in its interpretation of the statute ( an error the Board

does not concede), an error made in good faith after due consideration is

not an arbitrary and capricious action. Wash. Indep. Tel. Ass 'n, 148

Wn.2d at 905; Rios, 145 Wn.2d at 501. Nor is the rule arbitrary and

capricious based on the Distributor Association' s assertion of an

alternative interpretation of the statute, id., especially given the broad
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regulatory authority and fee - setting discretion accorded the Board. RCW

66. 08. 010, 66. 08. 030( 3) —(20). 

F. Collecting The Shortfall Assessment Only From Those Holding
Spirits Distributor Licenses Does Not Violate Washington' s

Privileges And Immunities Clause

The rule imposing the shortfall obligation only on licensed

distributors and not on other licensees with limited distribution privileges

does not violate the privileges and immunities clause of the Washington

Constitution because the provision does not confer a privilege or immunity

protected by article I, section 12. No " fundamental right of citizenship" is

implicated the Board' s rule; therefore, the Distributor Association' s claim

must fail. Even if there were a constitutional privilege involved, the Board

had reasonable grounds to distinguish between persons holding spirits

distributor licenses and persons holding other licenses. 

Constitutional challenges are questions of law subject to de novo

review. Amunrud v. Bd. ofAppeals, 158 Wn.2d 208, 215, 143 P. 3d 571

2006). A party alleging a rule is unconstitutional must prove

unconstitutionality beyond a reasonable doubt. Longview Fibre Co. v. Dep' t

of Ecology, 89 Wn. App. 627, 632 -33, 949 P.2d 851 ( 1998) ( citing City of

Spokane v. Douglass, 115 Wn.2d 171, 179, 795 P. 2d 693 ( 1990)). Thus, the

Distributor Association must prove a privileges and immunities violation

beyond a reasonable doubt. 
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1. WAC 314 -23 -025 does not violate the privileges and

immunities clause because it does not involve a

fundamental right of state citizenship. 

The Washington Constitution' s privileges and immunities clause

states, " No law shall be passed granting to any citizen, class of citizens, or

corporation other than municipal, privileges or immunities which upon the

same terms shall not equally belong to all citizens, or corporations." 

Const. art. I, § 12. A violation of article I, section 12 does not occur

unless a law or its application confers a privilege to a class of citizens.
10

Grant County Fire Prot. Dist. No. 5 v. City of Moses Lake, 150 Wn.2d

791, 812, 83 P. 3d 419 ( 2004) ( Grant County II). Although the state' s

privileges and immunities clause requires an independent constitutional

analysis from the federal Constitution' s Equal Protection Clause,
11

the

party challenging the provision must first establish that there is a

fundamental right of state citizenship at issue in the case. Grant County

II, 150 Wn.2d at 811 - 14. If no fundamental privilege or immunity is

10 The Washington Supreme Court uses the terms " privilege" and " immunity" 
interchangeably. Ockletree v. Franciscan Health Sys., 179 Wn.2d 769, 777 n. 6, 317 P.3d
1009 ( 2014). 

11 Although the U.S. Constitution also has a Privileges and Immunities Clause, 
our Supreme Court has always compared the state constitution' s privileges and

immunities clause with the federal Equal Protection Clause, because federal

jurisprudence focuses on the federal Equal Protection Clause in cases involving
differential treatment. Grant County II, 150 Wn.2d at 805 n. 10. 
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implicated by the challenged provision, the claim of a violation of article I, 

section 12 must fail.12 Id. at 814. 

The Distributor Association argues that requiring persons holding a

spirits distributor license to pay their pro -rata share of the shortfall in

collection of the $ 150 million minimum in distributor license fees required

in 1 - 1183, without also requiring a contribution from persons licensed as

distillers or holding a certificate of approval, confers an unconstitutional

privilege on licensed distillers and certificate holders. Opening Br. of

Appellant at 25. It argues this requirement infringes on its " right `to carry

on business therein. ' Id. at 24. But simply because a provision exempts

a class of persons from an obligation does not mean the provision involves

a " privilege" subject to article I, section 12. See Grant County II, 150

Wn.2d at 812 ( "[ N] ot every statute authorizing a particular class to do or

obtain something involves a ` privilege' subject to article I, section 12. ") 

Instead, the terms " privileges and immunities" 

pertain alone to those fundamental rights which belong to
the citizens of the state by reason of such citizenship. 
These terms ... secure in each state ... the right to remove

to and carry on business therein; the right, by usual modes, 
to acquire and hold property, and to protect and defend the
same in the law; the rights to the usual remedies to collect

12 Rational basis review applies under both the federal Equal Protection Clause

and article I, section 12 " as long as the statute does not infringe on a fundamental right or
create a suspect classification." McDevitt v. Harborview Med. Ctr., 179 Wn.2d 59, 316

P. 3d 469, 474 ( 2013); accord United Parcel Service, Inc. v. Dep' t ofRevenue, 102 Wn.2d
355, 369, 687 P.2d 186 ( 1984) ( applying rational basis review to taxation classification). 
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debts, and to enforce other personal rights; and the right to

be exempt, in property or persons, from taxes or burdens
which the property or persons of citizens of some other
state are exempt from." 

Id. at 812 - 13 ( quoting State v. Vance, 29 Wash. 435, 458, 70 P. 34

1902)). The Distributor Association asserts that the fundamental right

involved here is the right " to carry on business" in the state. Opening Br. 

of Appellant at 24. It is mistaken. 

In American Legion Post # 149 v. Dep' t ofHealth, 164 Wn.2d 570, 

608, 192 P. 3d 306 ( 2008), the Post challenged a law that prohibited

smoking " in a public place or in any place of employment" but excepted

from the prohibition " smoking in private facilities which are occasionally

open to the public except upon the occasions when the facility is open to

the public." Id. at 586 ( quoting RCW 70. 160. 030, . 020( 2)). The Post, a

private facility that was also a " place of employment," wanted to permit

its patrons to smoke; it argued that allowing smoking in one facility but

banning it in another created a privilege at the expense of its " fundamental

right `to remove to and carry on business therein. ' Id. at 607. The court

disagreed that the law implicated any fundamental right of citizenship

because it did not " prevent any entity from engaging in business." Id. at

608. It merely prohibited smoking in places of employment, which is not
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a fundamental right. Id. Because no privilege was involved, there was no

article I, section 12 violation. Id. 

Like the court in American Legion, this Court should reject the

Distributor Association' s attempt, in order to manufacture a fundamental

right, to frame the right involved more broadly than the Supreme Court

has already done. The Supreme Court has already held that "[ t]here is no

natural or constitutional right to sell or engage in the business of selling or

dispensing intoxicating liquor." Randles v. Liquor Control Bd., 33 Wn.2d

688, 694, 206 P. 2d 1209 ( 1949). Because the Legislature, as an exercise

of its police power, can regulate the sale and distribution of liquor —to the

point of prohibiting it entirely, id. —a spirits distributor cannot claim a

right to distribute liquor on equal footing with all others. Cf. Grant Cy. II, 

150 Wn.2d at 813 ( the Legislature has plenary power to adjust municipal

boundaries and authorize annexation); Ventenbergs v. City of Seattle, 

163 Wn. 2d 92, 104, 178 P. 3d 960 ( 2008) ( no fundamental right to provide

Seattle' s garbage service because the duty to collect and dispose of solid

waste rests solely with Legislature as an exercise of its police power, 

which Legislature can delegate to local government). In other words, 

when considering claims of disparate treatment of businesses, " the

distinction between a lawful business which a citizen has the right to
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engage in and one in which he may engage only as a matter of grace of the

state" must be considered. Randles, 33 Wn.2d at 694. 

The challenged rule does not prevent persons from obtaining

spirits distributor licenses, nor does it prevent persons holding spirits

distributor licenses from engaging in the business of distributing spirits. 

See Ralph v. City of Wenatchee, 34 Wn.2d 638, 641 - 42, 209 P. 2d 270

1949) ( municipal ordinance requiring licenses for nonresident

photographers, but not residents, and prohibiting public solicitation for

photographic work violated article I, section 12 because it prevented

nonresidents from engaging in the photography business). To the

contrary, in the short time since I -1183 was approved by the voters, 

persons holding spirits distributor licenses now control 97 percent of the

spirits distribution market. CP 23, Guadnola Decl., Ex. B. 

The Distributor Association relies on cases that pre -date Grant

County II to illustrate violations of article I, section 12. See Opening Br. 

of Appellant at 24 -26 ( citing State v. Robinson Co., 84 Wash. 246, 

249 -50, 146 P. 628 ( 1915) ( invalidating statute that exempted cereal and

flour mills from act imposing onerous conditions on similar businesses); 

In re Camp, 38 Wash. 393, 397, 80 P. 547 ( 1905) ( ordinance prohibiting

fruit and vegetable peddling within city, but exempting farmers, violated

privileges and immunities clause); City of Seattle v. Dencker, 58 Wash. 
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501, 504, 108 P. 1086 ( 1910) ( ordinance that imposed license fee on

businesses selling products by vending machine but not on businesses

selling the same products by hand violated privileges and immunities

clause)). The Distributor Association' s reliance is misplaced. Those cases

did not first determine whether the right at issue was a fundamental right

of state citizenship because they did not engage in an independent analysis

of the state privileges and immunities clause. In fact, since the

Washington Supreme Court announced in Grant County II that an

independent interpretation of article I, section 12 is required, it has not

found a law to violate the privileges and immunities clause. Ockletree, 

179 Wn.2d at 778 n.7 ( citing Am. Legion, 164 Wn.2d at 606 - 07; 

Ventenbergs, 163 Wn.2d at 103; Madison, 161 Wn.2d at 96 - 97 ( plurality

opinion); Andersen v. King County, 158 Wn.2d 1, 16, 138 P. 3d 963 ( 2006) 

plurality opinion); Grant County II, 150 Wn.2d at 816). No fundamental

right is at issue here, and the Court again should decline to find a violation

of article I, section 12. 

2. Even if the rule did involve a constitutional privilege, 

the Board had reasonable grounds to distinguish

between persons holding spirits distributor licenses and
persons holding other licenses or certificates. 

Even if the rule involved a fundamental right of citizenship, the

Court still must uphold the rule if the Board had a " reasonable ground" for
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granting the privilege. Ockletree, 179 Wn.2d at 776. To meet the

reasonable ground" test, " distinctions must rest on ` real and substantial

differences bearing a natural, reasonable, and just relation to the subject

matter of the act. ' Id. at 783 ( quoting State ex rel. Bacich v. Huse, 187

Wash. 75, 84, 59 P.2d 1101 ( 1936)). The differences "` need not be great ' 

to allow differential treatment under the privileges and immunities clause. 

United Parcel Service, Inc. v. Dep' t ofRevenue, 102 Wn.2d 355, 368, 687

P. 2d 186 ( 1984) ( quoting Texas Co. v. Cohn, 8 Wn.2d 360, 386, 112 P. 2d

522 ( 1941)). " The test is merely whether any state of facts can reasonably

be conceived that would sustain the classification." Id. at 369. The party

challenging a revenue provision bears the burden of showing there was no

reasonable basis for the questioned classification. Id. 

First, the privileges and immunities clause is not violated just

because a statute or rule treats similarly situated businesses differently. 

Ockletree, 179 Wn.2d at 781. Second, persons holding spirits distributor

licenses are not similarly situated to persons who hold other licenses

conferring limited distribution privileges. As explained above, a person

holding a spirits distributor license is authorized to purchase spirits from

manufacturers, distillers, and suppliers located anywhere in the world, and

to sell them to any spirits retailer or distributor anywhere in the world

subject, of course, to applicable laws of other jurisdictions). 
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RCW 66.24. 055( 1). In contrast, persons holding a distillers license or a

certificate of approval holder have very limited distribution rights. A

distiller may distribute only the spirits its produces and only to licensed

spirits retailers in the state of Washington; a certificate holder may

distribute only the spirits it imports into the state and only to spirits

distributors or importers licensed in Washington. RCW 66.24.640; WAC

314 -28- 030( 1), 314- 28- 050( 1)( d), 314- 23- 030( 2)( a). 

Under I -1183, persons holding spirits distributor licenses obtained

virtually complete control of the distribution of spirits that formerly was

undertaken by the state;
13

thus, it is reasonable that spirits distributor

licensees should pay the one -time $ 150 million revenue replacement

required by I- 1183. Their primary business activity is the distribution of

liquor, and they distribute far larger quantities of spirits than other

licensees who may obtain limited distribution privileges. 14 There is a real

and substantial difference between businesses operating under a spirits

distributor license and businesses operating under a distillers license or a

13
See CP 18 - 21 ( showing monthly distributor fees paid by craft distillers, 

distillers, distributors, and spirits certificate of approval holders); CP 23, Guadnola Decl., 

Ex. B ( persons holding spirits distributor licenses control 97 percent of the spirits
distribution market). 

14 The Distributor Association' s reliance on Dencker is misplaced. Unlike the
cigar shops in Dencker, the businesses at issue here do not operate " similar and identical" 
businesses. Dencker, 58 Wash. at 609. 
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certificate of approval, and thus there is a reasonable ground to treat them

differently. 

The Distributor Association' s privileges and immunities argument

also appears to be based on its arguments about alleged arbitrary and

capricious rulemaking See Opening Br. of Appellant at 27. Those

arguments should be rejected for the reasons stated above. 

The Distributor Association has not met its burden of showing that

the challenged rule violates article I, section 12, of the Washington

Constitution. 

VI. CONCLUSION

The Board properly exercised its broad regulatory authority when

it imposed an additional fee on licensed distillers and certificate of

approval holders for exercising distribution privileges but declined to

impose the first -year $ 150 million distributor license issuance fee

requirement on them. The rule is consistent with the language of the

statute it implements. Because the rule does not implicate a fundamental

right of state citizenship and reasonably distinguishes spirits distributor

license holders from other licensees and certificate holders, it does not
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violate the privileges and immunities clause of the Washington

Constitution. The Board respectfully asks the Court to affirm the superior

court' s order of dismissal. 
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WAC 314 -23 -025

Collection of shortfall of spirits distributor license

fees from spirits distributor license holders. 
1) RCW 66.24.055 requires that all persons holding a spirits distributor license on or before March

31, 2013, must have collectively paid a total of one hundred fifty million dollars in spirits distributor
license fees by March 31, 2013. If the spirits distributor license fees collected by March 31, 2013, total
less than one hundred fifty million dollars, the board is required to assess those persons holding a
spirits distributor license on or before March 31, 2013, in order to collect a total of one hundred fifty
million dollars. The board will calculate the additional amount owed by each spirits distributor licensee
as follows: 

a) The amount of additional fees owed will be calculated using the total spirits sales made by each
spirits distributor licensee during calendar year 2012. If a spirits distributor licensee had no spirits sales
during calendar year 2012, no additional fees will be due; 

b) Each licensee will be assessed and required to pay their proportionate share of the remaining
liability between one hundred fifty million dollars and actual collections. The proportionate share of fees
due will be calculated by dividing the total dollar amount of sales made by each spirits distributor
licensee by the total spirits sales made by all spirits distributor licensees combined. If the total amount
of payments exceeds one hundred fifty million dollars, each licensee will be credited a proportionate
amount of the overpayment to their future license issuance fee obligations. 

2) The board will notify all spirits distributor licensees no later than April 30, 2013, of the amount
they are required to pay in additional license fees. Spirits distributor licensees must pay the additional
license fees to the board by May 31, 2013. 

3) The board may suspend or revoke any spirits distributor license if the required additional license
fees are not paid by May 31, 2013. If suspended, the suspension will remain in effect until the additional
license fees are paid. 

4) The board may also initiate collection proceedings for any amount of additional fees not paid to
the board by May 31, 2013. 

Statutory Authority: RCW 66. 24.055 and 66. 08.030. WSR 12 -21 -057, § 314 -23 -025, filed 10/ 15/ 12, 

effective 11/ 15/ 12.] 
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RCW 66.24.055

Spirits distributor license. 

1) There is a license for spirits distributors to ( a) sell spirits purchased from manufacturers, distillers, or

suppliers including, without limitation, licensed Washington distilleries, licensed spirits importers, other
Washington spirits distributors, or suppliers of foreign spirits located outside of the United States, to

spirits retailers including, without limitation, spirits retail licensees, special occasion license holders, 
interstate common carrier license holders, restaurant spirits retailer license holders, spirits, beer, and

wine private club license holders, hotel license holders, sports entertainment facility license holders, 
and spirits, beer, and wine nightclub license holders, and to other spirits distributors; and ( b) export the

same from the state. 

2) By January 1, 2012, the board must issue spirits distributor licenses to all applicants who, upon
December 8, 2011, have the right to purchase spirits from a spirits manufacturer, spirits distiller, or
other spirits supplier for resale in the state, or are agents of such supplier authorized to sell to licensees
in the state, unless the board determines that issuance of a license to such applicant is not in the public

interest. 

3)( a) As limited by ( b) of this subsection and subject to ( c) of this subsection, each spirits distributor
licensee must pay to the board, for deposit into the liquor revolving fund, a license issuance fee
calculated as follows: 

i) In each of the first twenty -seven months of licensure, ten percent of the total revenue from all the
licensee' s sales of spirits made during the month for which the fee is due, respectively; and

ii) In the twenty- eighth month of licensure and each month thereafter, five percent of the total
revenue from all the licensee' s sales of spirits made during the month for which the fee is due, 
respectively. 

b) The fee required under this subsection (3) is calculated only on sales of items which the licensee
was the first spirits distributor in the state to have received: 

i) In the case of spirits manufactured in the state, from the distiller; or

ii) In the case of spirits manufactured outside the state, from an authorized out -of -state supplier. 

c) By March 31, 2013, all persons holding spirits distributor licenses on or before March 31, 2013, 
must have paid collectively one hundred fifty million dollars or more in spirits distributor license fees. If
the collective payment through March 31, 2013, totals less than one hundred fifty million dollars, the
board must, according to rules adopted by the board for the purpose, collect by May 31, 2013, as
additional spirits distributor license fees the difference between one hundred fifty million dollars and the
actual receipts, allocated among persons holding spirits distributor licenses at any time on or before
March 31, 2013, ratably according to their spirits sales made during calendar year 2012. Any amount
by which such payments exceed one hundred fifty million dollars by March 31, 2013, must be credited
to future license issuance fee obligations of spirits distributor licensees according to rules adopted by
the board. 

d) A retail licensee selling for resale must pay a distributor license fee under the terms and
conditions in this section on resales of spirits the licensee has purchased on which no other distributor

license fee has been paid. The board must establish rules setting forth the frequency and timing of such
payments and reporting of sales dollar volume by the licensee, with payments due quarterly in arrears. 

e) No spirits inventory may be subject to calculation of more than a single spirits distributor license
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issuance fee. 

4) In addition to the payment set forth in subsection ( 3) of this section, each spirits distributor

licensee renewing its annual license must pay an annual license renewal fee of one thousand three
hundred twenty dollars for each licensed location. 

5) There is no minimum facility size or capacity for spirits distributor licenses, and no limit on the
number of such licenses issued to qualified applicants. License applicants must provide physical

security of the product that is substantially as effective as the physical security of the distribution
facilities currently operated by the board with respect to preventing pilferage. License issuances and
renewals are subject to RCW 66.24.010 and the regulations promulgated thereunder, including without
limitation rights of cities, towns, county legislative authorities, the public, churches, schools, and public
institutions to object to or prevent issuance of local liquor licenses. However, existing distributor
premises licensed to sell beer and /or wine are deemed to be premises " now licensed" under RCW

66.24.010( 9)( a) for the purpose of processing applications for spirits distributor licenses. 

2013 2nd sp.s. c 12 § 1; 2012 c 2 § 105 ( Initiative Measure No. 1183, approved

November 8, 2011).] 

Notes: 
Application -- 2013 2nd sp.s. c 12 § 1: " The changes made in section 1 of this act apply to

spirits distributors licensed on or after January 1, 2012." [2013 2nd sp.s. c 12 § 2.] 

Effective date -- 2013 2nd sp.s. c 12: See note following RCW 66.24.632. 

Finding -- Application -- Rules -- Effective date -- Contingent effective date -- 2012 c 2

Initiative Measure No, 1183): See notes following RCW 66.24.620. 
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WSR 12 -12 -065

PERMANENT RULES

LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD

Filed June 5, 2012, 12:49 p.m. , effective July 6, 2012 ] 

Effective Date of Rule: Thirty -one days after filing. 

Purpose: New permanent rules are needed to implement Initiative 1183
that passed on November 8, 2011. Parts of the initiative became effective on

December 8, 201 L New license types were created and the state of

Washington changed from a controlled liquor system to a privatized liquor
system. Emergency rules were adopted on December 7, 2011, and on April 4, 
2012, to clarify the language in the new laws created in Initiative 1183. 
Permanent rules are needed to replace the emergency rules and further clarify
the new laws. 

Citation of Existing Rules Affected by this Order: Amending WAC 314- 
28 -010, 314 -28 -050, 314 -28 -060, 314 -28 -070, 314 -28 -080, and 314 -28 -090. 

Statutory Authority for Adoption: RCW 66. 08. 030, 66. 24.055, 66.24. 160, 
66.24.630, 66.24.640. 

Adopted under notice filed as WSR 12 -09 -088 on April 18, 2012. 

Number of Sections Adopted in Order to Comply with Federal Statute: 
New 0, Amended 0, Repealed 0; Federal Rules or Standards: New 0, 

Amended 0, Repealed 0; or Recently Enacted State Statutes: New 16, 
Amended 6, Repealed 0. 

Number of Sections Adopted at Request of a Nongovernmental Entity: 
New 0, Amended 0, Repealed 0. 

Number of Sections Adopted on the Agency's Own Initiative: New 16, 
Amended 6, Repealed 0. 

Number of Sections Adopted in Order to Clarify, Streamline, or Reform
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Agency Procedures: New 16, Amended 6, Repealed 0. 

Number of Sections Adopted Using Negotiated Rule Making: New 0, 
Amended 0, Repealed 0; Pilot Rule Making: New 0, Amended 0, Repealed
0; or Other Alternative Rule Making: New 0, Amended 0, Repealed 0. 

Date Adopted: May 30, 2012. 

Sharon Foster

Chairman

OTS- 4509. 11

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -02 -103 What is a wine retailer reselier endorsement? ( 1) A

wine retailer reselier endorsement is issued to the holder of a grocery store
liquor license to allow the sale ofwine at retail to on- premises liquor
licensees. 

2) No single sale to an on- premises liquor licensee may exceed twenty - 
four liters. Single sales to an on- premises licensee are limited to one per day. 

3) A grocery store licensee with a wine retailer reselier endorsement may
accept delivery at its licensed premises or at one or more warehouse facilities
registered with the board. 

4) The holder of a wine retailer reselier endorsement may also deliver
wine to its own licensed premises from the registered warehouse; may deliver
wine to on- premises licensees, or to other warehouse facilities registered with

the board. A grocery store licensee wishing to obtain a wine retailer reselier
endorsement that permits sales to another retailer must possess and submit a

copy of their federal basic permit to purchase wine at wholesale for resale
under the Federal Alcohol Administration Act. A federal basic permit is

required for each location from which the grocery store licensee holding a
wine retailer reselier endorsement plans to sell wine to another retailer. 

5) The annual fee for the wine retailer reselier endorsement is one hundred

sixty -six dollars. 
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NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -02 -104 Central warehousing. ( 1) Each retail liquor licensee

having a warehouse facility where they intend to receive wine and/or spirits
must register their warehouse facility with the board and include the following
information: 

a) Documentation that shows the licensee has a right to the warehouse

property; 

b) If a warehouse facility is to be shared by more than one licensee, each
licensee must demonstrate to the board that a recordkeeping system is utilized
that will account for all wine and /or spirits entering and leaving the warehouse
for each license holder. The system must also account for product loss; 

c) Licensees in a shared warehouse may consolidate their commitment for
the amount of product they plan to order, but their orders must be placed
separately and paid for by each licensee; and

d) Alternatively, if the warehouse does not have a recordkeeping system
that provides the required information, wine and /or spirits for each licensee in

a shared warehouse must be separated by a physical barrier. Where physical
separation is utilized, a sketch of the interior of the warehouse facility must be
submitted indicating the designated area the licensee will be storing product. 
Example: IfABC Grocery and My Grocery, each licensed to a different

ownership entity, both lease space in a warehouse facility, the wine and/or
spirits must be in separate areas separated by a physical barrier.) 

2) Upon the request of the board, the licensee must provide any of the
required records for review. Retail liquor licensees must keep the following
records for three years: 

a) Purchase invoices and supporting documents for wine and/ or spirits
purchased; 

b) Invoices showing incoming and outgoing wine and/ or spirits (product
transfers); 
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c) Documentation of the recordkeeping system in a shared warehouse as
referenced in subsection ( 1)( b) of this section; and

d) A copy of records for liquor stored in the shared warehouse. 

3) Each licensee must allow the board access to the warehouse for audit
and review of records. 

4) If the wine and /or spirits for each licensee in a shared warehouse is not
kept separate, and a violation is found, each licensee that has registered the

warehouse with the board, may be held accountable for the violation. 

1

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -02 -106 What is a spirits retailer license? ( 1) A spirits retailer

licensee may not sell spirits under this license until June 1, 2012. A spirits
retailer is a retail license. The holder of a spirits retailer license is allowed to: 

a) Sell spirits in original containers to consumers for off - premises
consumption; 

b) Sell spirits in original containers to permit holders ( see chapter 66.20
RCW); 

c) Sell spirits in original containers to on- premises liquor retailers, for

resale at their licensed premises, although no single sale may exceed twenty - 
four liters, and single sales to an on- premises licensee are limited to one per

day; and

d) Export spirits in original containers. 

2) A spirits retailer licensee that intends to sell to another retailer must

possess a basic permit under the Federal Alcohol Administration Act. This

permit must provide for purchasing distilled spirits for resale at wholesale. A
copy of the federal basic permit must be submitted to the board. A federal
basic permit is required for each location from which the spirits retailer

licensee plans to sell to another retailer. 

3) A sale by a spirits retailer licensee is a retail sale only if not for resale
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to an on- premises spirits retailer. On- premises retail licensees that purchase

spirits from a spirits retail licensee must abide by RCW 66. 24.630. 

4) A spirits retail licensee must pay to the board seventeen percent of all
spirits sales. The first payment is due to the board October 1, 2012, for sales

from June 1, 2012, to June 30, 2012 ( see WAC 314 -02 -109 for quarterly
reporting requirements). 

Reporting of spirits sales and payment of fees must be submitted on forms
provided by the board. 

5) The annual fee for a spirits retail license is one hundred sixty -six
dollars. 

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -02 -107 What are the requirements for a spirits retail license? 

1) The requirements for a spirits retail license are as follows: 

a) Submit a signed acknowledgment form indicating the square footage of
the premises. The premises must be at least ten thousand square feet of fully
enclosed retail space within a single structure,, including store rooms and other
interior areas. This does not include any area encumbered by a lease or rental
agreement ( floor plans one - eighth inch to one foot scale may be required by
the board); and

b) Submit a signed acknowledgment form indicating the licensee has a
security plan which addresses: 

i) Inventory management; 

ii) Employee training and supervision; and

iii) Physical security of spirits product with respect to preventing sales to
underage or apparently intoxicated persons and theft of product. 

2) A grocery store licensee or a specialty shop licensee may add a spirits
retail liquor license to their current license if they meet the requirements for
the spirits retail license. 
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3) The board may not deny a spirits retail license to qualified applicants
where the premises is less than ten thousand square feet if: 

a) The application is for a former contract liquor store location; 

b) The application is for the holder of a former state liquor store operating
rights sold at auction; or

c) There is no spirits retail license holder in the trade area that the
applicant proposes to serve; and

i) The applicant meets the operational requirements in WAC 314 -02 -107

1)( b); and

ii) If a current liquor licensee, has not committed more than one public

safety violation within the last three years. 

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -02 -109 What are the quarterly reporting and payment
requirements for a spirits retailer license? ( 1) A spirits retailer must

submit quarterly reports and payments to the board: 

The required reports must be: 

a) On a form furnished by the board; 

b) Filed every quarter, including quarters with no activity or payment due; 

c) Submitted, with payment due, to the board on or before the twenty -fifth
day following the tax quarter ( e. g., Quarter 1 ( Jan., Feb., Mar.) report is due

April 25th). When the twenty -fifth day of the month falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or a legal holiday, the filing must be postmarked by the U.S. postal
service no later than the next postal business day; and

d) Filed separately for each Liquor license held. 

2) What if a spirits retailer licensee fails to report or pay, or reports
or pays late? If a spirits retailer licensee does not submit its quarterly reports
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and payment to the board as required in subsection ( 1) of this section, the

licensee is subject to penalties. 

A penalty of two percent per month will be assessed on any payments
postmarked after the twenty -fifth day quarterly report is due. When the
twenty -fifth day of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, 
the filing must be postmarked by the U.S. postal service no later than the next
postal business day. 

n

OTS- 4510.8

Chapter 314 -23 WAC

SPIRITS DISTRIBUTORS, SPIRITS CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL
LICENSES, AND SPIRITS IMPORTERS

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -23 -001 What does a spirits distributor license allow? ( 1) A

spirits distributor licensee may not commence sales until March 1, 2012. A
spirits distributor licensee is allowed to: 

a) Sell spirits purchased from manufacturers, distillers, importers, or
spirits certificate of approval holders; 

b) Sell spirits to any liquor licensee allowed to sell spirits; 

c) Sell spirits to other spirits distributors; and

d) Export spirits from the state of Washington. 

2) The price of spirits sold to retailers may not be below acquisition cost. 

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -23 -005 What are the fees for a spirits distributor license? ( 1) 

The holder of a spirits distributor license must pay to the board a monthly
license fee as follows: 

APPENDIX B

Page 7 of 21



a) Ten percent of the total revenue from all sales of spirits to retail

licensees made during the month for which the fee is due for the first two
years of licensure; and

b) Five percent of the total revenue from all sales of spirits to retail

licensees made during the month for which the fee is due for the third year of
licensure and every year thereafter. 

c) The license fee is only calculated on sales of items which the licensee
was the first spirits distributor in the state to have received: 

i) In the case of spirits manufactured in the state, from the distiller; or

ii) In the case of spirits manufactured outside the state, from a spirits
certificate of approval holder. 

d) Reporting of sales and payment must be submitted on forms provided
by the board. 

2) The annual fee for a spirits distributor license is one thousand three

hundred twenty dollars. 

1

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -23 -020 What are the requirements for a spirits distributor

license? ( 1) In addition to any application requirements in chapter 314 -07
WAC, applicants applying for a spirits distributor license must submit: 

a) A copy of all permits required by the federal government; 

b) Documentation showing the applicant has the right to the property; 

c) An acknowledgment form certifying the applicant has a security plan
which addresses: 

i) Inventory management; and

ii) Physical security of spirits product with respect to preventing theft. 
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2) Spirits distributors must sell and deliver product from their licensed
premises. 

1

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -23 -021 What are the monthly reporting and payment
requirements for a spirits distributor license? ( 1) A spirits distributor

must submit monthly reports and payments to the board. 

2) The required monthly reports must be: 

a) On a form furnished by the board; 

b) Filed every month, including months with no activity or payment due; 

c) Submitted, with payment due, to the board on or before the twentieth

day of each month, for the previous month. (For example, a report listing
transactions for the month of January is due by February 20th.) When the

twentieth day of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the
filing must be postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service no later than the next
postal business day; and

d) Filed separately for each liquor license held. 

1

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -23 -022 What if a distributor licensee fails to report or pay, or
reports or pays late? ( 1) If a spirits distributor licensee does not submit its

monthly reports and payment to the board as required in WAC 314 -23- 021( 1), 
the licensee is subject to penalties. 

2) A penalty of two percent per month will be assessed on any payments
postmarked after the twentieth day of the month following the month of sale. 
When the twentieth day of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal
holiday, the filing must be postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service no later than
the next postal business day. 
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NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -23 -030 What does a spirits certificate of approval license

allow? ( 1) A spirits certificate of approval licensee may not commence sales
until March 1, 2012. A spirits certificate of approval license may be issued to
spirits manufacturers located outside of the state of Washington but within the

United States. 

2) A holder of a spirits certificate of approval may act as a distributor of
spirits they are entitled to import into the state by selling directly to
distributors or importers licensed in Washington state. The fee for a certificate

of approval is two hundred dollars per year. 

3) A certificate of approval holder must obtain an endorsement to the

certificate of approval that allows the shipment of spirits the holder is entitled

to import into the state directly to licensed liquor retailers. The fee for this
endorsement is one hundred dollars per year and is in addition to the fee for
the certificate of approval license. The holder of a certificate of approval

license that sells directly to licensed liquor retailers must: 

a) Report to the board monthly, on forms provided by the board, the
amount of all sales of spirits to licensed retailers. 

b) Pay to the board a fee of ten percent of the total revenue from all sales
of spirits to retail licensees made during the month for which the fee is due for
the first two years of licensure. 

c) Pay to the board five percent of the total revenue from all sales of
spirits to retail licensees made during the month for which the fee is due for
the third year of licensure and every year thereafter. 

4) An authorized representative out -of -state spirits importer or brand
owner for spirits produced in the United States but outside of Washington

state may obtain an authorized representative certificate of approval license
which allows the holder to ship spirits to spirits distributors, or spirits
importers located in Washington state. The fee for an authorized

representative certificate of approval for spirits is two hundred dollars per

year. 
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5) An authorized representative out -of -state spirits importer or brand

owner for spirits produced outside of the United States may ship spirits to
licensed spirits distributors, or spirits importers located in Washington state. 

The fee for an authorized representative certificate of approval for foreign

spirits is two hundred dollars per year. 

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -23 -040 What are the requirements for a certificate of

approval license? The following documents are required to obtain a
certificate of approval license: 

1) Copies of all petmits required by the federal government; 

2) Copies of all state licenses and permits required by the state in which
your operation is located; and

3) Licensing documents as determined by the board. 

11

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -23 -041 What are the monthly reporting and payment
requirements for a spirits certificate of approval licensee? ( 1) A spirits

certificate of approval licensee must submit monthly reports and payments to
the board. 

2) The required monthly reports must be: 

a) On a form furnished by the board; 

b) Filed every month, including months with no activity or payment due; 

c) Submitted, with payment due, to the board on or before the twentieth

day of each month, for the previous month. (For example, a report listing
transactions for the month of January is due by February 20th.) When the

twentieth day of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the
filing must be postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service no later than the next
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postal business day; and

d) Filed separately for each liquor license held. 

1

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -23 -042 What if a certificate of approval licensee fails to report

or pay, or reports or pays late? ( 1) If a spirits certificate of approval

licensee does not submit its monthly reports and payment to the board as
required by this subsection ( 1), the licensee is subject to penalties. 

2) A penalty of two percent per month will be assessed on any payments
postmarked after the twentieth day of the month following the month of sale. 
When the twentieth day of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal
holiday, the filing must be postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service no later than
the next postal business day. 

1

NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -23 -050 What does a spirits importer license allow? ( 1) A

spirits importer license is issued to an in -state spirits importer. A spirits

importer is allowed to: 

a) Import spirits into the state of Washington; 

b) Store spirits in the state of Washington; 

c) Sell spirits to spirits distributors; and

d) Export spirits in original containers. 

2) An out -of -state spirits importer is required to obtain an authorized

representative certificate of approval license as referenced in WAC 314 -23- 

030. 
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OTS- 4517.5

AMENDATORY SECTION(Amending WSR 10 -19 -066, filed 9/ 15/ 10, 
effective 10/ 16/ 10) 

WAC 314 -28 -010 Records. ( 1) All distilleries licensed under RCW

66.24A 40 and 66.24. 145, including craft, fruit, and laboratory distillers must: 

a) (( Mictst)) Keep records (( concerning)) regarding any spirits, whether
produced or purchased, for three years after each sale. A distiller ((may bc)) is

required to report on forms approved by the board; 

b) (( Must,)) In the case of spirits exported or sold, preserve all bills of

lading and other evidence of shipment; (( and)) 

c) (( ibi-nst)) Submit duplicate copies of transcripts, notices, or other data

that (( arc)) is required by the federal government to the board if requested, 
within thirty days of the notice of such request. A distiller shall also furnish
copies of the bills of lading, covering all shipments of the products of the
licensee, to the board within thirty days of notice of such request;. 

d) Preserve all sales records to spirits retail licensees, sales to spirits

distributors, and exports from the state; and

e) Submit copies of its monthly records to the board upon request. 

2) In addition to the above, a craft distiller must: 

a) Preserve all sales records((, in the case)) of retail sales to consumers; 

and

b) Submit (( 

board upon request. 

uei its monthly ((returns)) records to the

Statutory Authority: RCW 66.24. 145 and 66. 08. 030. 10 -19 -066, § 314 -28 -010, filed

9/ 15/ 10, effective 10/ 16/ 10; 09 -02 -011, § 314 -28 -010, filed 12/ 29/ 08, effective 1/ 29/09. 

Statutory Authority: RCW 66. 08. 030. 86 -07 -022 ( Order 172, Resolution No. 181), § 314- 

28 -010, filed 3/ 13/ 86; Order 14, § 314 -28 -010, filed 12/ 1/ 70, effective 1/ 1/ 71; Rule 84, 

filed 6/ 13/ 63.] 
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NEW SECTION

WAC 314 -28 -030 Changes to the distiller and craft distiller license. ( 1) 

Beginning March 1, 2012, all distilleries licensed under RCW 66.24. 140 and
66.24. 145 may sell spirits of their own production directly to a licensed spirits
distributor in the state of Washington and to a licensed spirits . retailer in the

state of Washington. 

2) Beginning June 1, 2012, a distiller may sell spirits of its own
production to a customer for off - premises consumption, provided that the sale

occurs when the customer is physically present at the licensed premises. 

1

AMENDATORY SECTION(Amending WSR 10 -19 -066, filed 9/ 15/ 10, 
effective 10/ 16/ 10) 

WAC 314 -28 -050 What does a craft distillery license allow? ( 1) A craft

distillery license allows a licensee to: 

a) Produce sixty thousand proof gallons or less of spirits per calendar year. 
A "proof gallon" is one liquid gallon of spirits that is fifty percent alcohol at
sixty degrees Fahrenheit; 

b) Sell spirits of its own production directly to a customer for off - premises
consumption, provided that the sale occurs when the customer is physically
present on the licensed premises. A licensee may sell no more than two liters
per customer per day. A craft distiller may not sell liquor products of someone
else' s production; 

c) (( piududiuii l

product is " listed" by the board, or is special - ordered by an individual
Washington state liquor store)) For sales on or after March 1, 2012, sell spirits

of its own production to a licensed spirits distributor; 

d) For sales on or after March 1, 2012, sell spirits of its own production to
a licensed spirits retailer in the state of Washington; 

d))) ( e) Sell to out -of -state entities; 

p' u 1 11• 1 5
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e})) (f) Provide, free of charge, samples of spirits of its own production

to persons on the distillery premises. Each sample must be one -half ounce or
less, with no more than two ounces of samples provided per person per day. 
Samples must be unaltered, and anyone involved in the serving of such
samples must have a valid Class 12 alcohol server permit. Samples must be in

compliance with RCW 66.28. 040; 

g) Provide, free of charge, samples of spirits of its own production
to retailers. Samples must be unaltered, and in compliance with RCW
66.28. 040, 66.24.310 and WAC 314 -64- 08001. Samples are considered sales

and are subject to taxes; 

fg))) (h) Contract (( produced)) produce spirits for holders of a distiller or

manufacturer license. 

2) A craft distillery licensee may not sell directly to in -state retailers or in- 
state distributors until March 1, 2012. 

Statutory Authority: RCW 66. 24. 145 and 66. 08. 030. 10 -19 -066, § 314 -28 -050, filed

9/ 15/ 10, effective 10/ 16/ 10; 09 -02 -011, § 314 -28 -050, filed 12/ 29/ 08, effective 1/ 29/ 09.] 

AMENDATORY SECTION(Amending WSR 10 -19 -066, filed 9/ 15/ 10, 
effective 10/ 16/ 10) 

WAC 314 -28 -060 What are the general requirements for a craft

distillery license? Per RCW 66. 24. 140 and 66.24. 145, a craft distillery
licensee is required to: 

1) Submit copies of all permits required by the federal government; 

2) Submit other licensing documents as determined by the board; 

3) Ensure a minimum of fifty percent of all raw materials ( including any
neutral grain spirits and the raw materials that go into making mash, wort or
wash) used in the production of the spirits product are grown in the state of

Washington. Water is not considered a raw material grown in the state of
Washington((; 

4) Purchasc any spirits sold at the distillcry premix for off- prcmiscs
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5) Purchase any spirits used for sampling at thc distillery premises from
thc board; and

6) Purchase any spirits used for samples provided to retailers from the
berard)). 

Statutory Authority: RCW 66.24. 145 and 66. 08. 030. 10 -19 -066, § 314 -28 -060, filed

9/ 15/ 10, effective 10/ 16/ 10; 09 -02 -011, § 314 -28 -060, filed 12/29/ 08, effective 1/ 29/ 09.] 

AMENDATORY SECTION(Amending WSR 10 -19 -066, filed 9/ 15/ 10, 
effective 10/ 16/ 10) 

WAC 314 -28 -070 What are the monthly reporting and payment
requirements for a distillery and craft distillery license? ( 1) A distiller or

craft distiller must submit monthly reports and payments to the board. 

The required monthly reports must be: 

a) On a form furnished by the board (( or in a format approved by the
btrard)); 

b) Filed every month, including months with no activity or payment due; 

c) Submitted, with payment due, to the board on or before the twentieth

day of each month, for the previous month. (For example, a report listing
transactions for the month of January is due by February 20th.) When the

twentieth day of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the
filing must be postmarked by the U.S. postal service no later than the next
postal business day; and

d) Filed separately for each liquor license held. 

2) For reporting purposes, production is the distillation of spirits from
mash, wort, wash or any other distilling material. After the production process
is completed, a production gauge shall be made to establish the quantity and
proof of the spirits produced. The designation as to the kind of spirits shall

also be made at the time of the production gauge. A record of the production
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gauge shall be maintained by the distiller. The completion of the production
process is when the product is packaged for distribution. Production quantities

are reportable within thirty days of the completion of the production process. 

On sales on or

after March 1, 2012, a distillery or craft distillery must pay ten percent of their
gross spirits revenue to the board on sales to a licensee allowed to sell spirits

for on- or off - premises consumption during the first two years of licensure and
five percent of their gross spirits revenues to the board in year three and

thereafter. 

O((- ' - 
a sale rcportablc to thc board.)) On sales after June 1, 2012, a distillery or craft

distillery must pay seventeen percent of their gross spirits revenue to the board
on sales to customers for off - premises consumption. - 

b) (( Samplcs providcd to rctailcrs arc considcrcd salcs rcportablc to thc

boaed. 

0)) Payments must be submitted, with monthly reports, to the board on or
before the twentieth day of each month, for the previous month. (For example, 

payment for a report listing transactions for the month of January is due by
February 20th.) When the twentieth day of the month falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or a legal holiday, payment must be postmarked by the U.S. postal
service no later than the next postal business day. 

Statutory Authority: RCW 66.24. 145 and 66. 08. 030. 10 -19 -066, § 314 -28 -070, filed

9/ 15/ 10, effective 10/ 16/ 10; 09 -02 -011, § 314 -28 -070, filed 12/29/ 08, effective 1/ 29/ 09. 1

AMENDATORY SECTION(Arnending WSR 09 -02 -011, filed 12/ 29/ 08, 
effective 1/ 29/ 09) 

WAC 31428 -080 What if a distillery or craft distillery licensee fails to
report or pay, or reports or pays late? If a distillery or craft distiller ((fails

tom)) does not submit its monthly reports ((ter)) and payment to the board((-,--err

suLiiiitb late, tlien)) as required in WAC 314 -28- 070( 1), the licensee is subject
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to penalties (( and surety bonds)). 

1))) Penalties. A penalty of two percent per month will be assessed on
any payments postmarked after the twentieth day of the month following the
month of sale. When the twentieth day of the month falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or a legal holiday, the filing must be postmarked by the U.S. postal
service no later than the next postal business day. 

2) Surety bonds. A "surety bond" is a type of insurance policy that
guarantees payment to the state, and is executed by a surety company
authorized to do business in thc state ofWashington. Surety bond

a) Must be on a surety bond form and in an amount acceptable to thc
board; 

b) Payable to the " Washington state liquor control board "; and

c) Conditioned that the liccnscc will pay the t
C:47 C,(,]. 28. 0-40 and by all applicable WACs. 

3). Thc board may require a craft distillery to obtain a surety bond or
assignment of savings account, within twenty -one days after a notification by
iiiail, if ally of the following ukAiut. 

a) A report or payment is missing more than thirty days past thc required
filing datc, for two or more consecutive months; 

b) A report or payment is missing more than thirty days past the required
filing datc, for two or more times within a two -year period; or

c) Return of payment for nonsufficicnt funds. 

4) As an option to obtaining a surety bond, a liccnscc may create an

for a surety bond. Requests for this option must bc submitted in writing to the
board's financial division. 

5) The amount of a surety bond or savings account rcquircd by this
chapter must bc either three thousand dollars, or thc total of the highest four
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ii

greater. The liccnscc must maintain the bond for at least two ycars. 

6) Surety bond and savings account amounts may be reviewed annually

amount o1 amount 011 cicposlt wltlnln twenty -one days. 

7) If a liccnscc holds a surety bond or savings account, thc board will
immediately start thc process to collcct overdue payments from thc surety

s: "• G : — i; -11

1S11O W11 bcl.auJG Uf 1111Jsnig lepoit6, t11G UUc ld Vvill cs lItTayrITCIThitte

bascd on previous production, receipts, and/or sales.)) 

Statutory Authority: RCW 66.08. 030, 66.24. 145. 09 -02 -011, § 314 -28 -080, filed

12/ 29/ 08, effective 1/ 29/ 09.] 

AMENDATORY SECTION(Amending WSR 10 -19 -066, filed 9/ 15/ 10, 
effective 10/ 16/ 10) 

WAC 314 -28 -090 Distilleries or craft distilleries(( -- Selling in- state, 
etail p1 icing aid pit) uLt, Selling out -of- state(( -- Special

orders)). ((( 1) What steps must a craft distillery licensee talk to sell a
spirits product in the state of Washington? 

a) Thcrc arc two ways to sell a spirits product at a state liquor store: 

i) Through thc special order process; and

ii) Through product listing. 

b) If a craft distillery liccnscc wants thc board to regularly stock its

list its product. If the board agrees to list the product, a liccnscc must thcn sell

its product to the board and transport its product to thc board's distribution

c) Bcforc a craft distillery liccnscc may sell its- prods et to a customer
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i) Obtain a retail pricc from thc board; 

ii) Scll its product to thc board; and

iii) Purchase its product back from thc board_ Product that a liccnscc

produces and sells at its distillcry premises is not transported to thc board's
distribution ccntcr. 

d) Listing a product. A craft distillcry liccnscc must submit a formal
rcqucst to thc board to have thc board rcgularly stock its product at a statc
liquor store. The board's purchasing division administers thc listing process. 

i) A liccnscc must submit thc following documents and information: A
Lolnp1eted standaid price quo latlull Foam, a listing request knufilc, i oti.1e

i i s i I; i 1 11 1 : " ill • I

federal ccrtificatc of label approval, and a signcd " tied house" statement. 

iii) A craft distillcry liccnscc is not rcquircd to submit a formal rcqucst for
i 1 • IF 11 111 1

chapter 314 -74 WAC). 

c) Obtaining a retail price. A craft distillcry liccnscc must submit a

i) Pricing may not be changed within a calendar month. 

ii) A craft distillcry licensee is rcquircd to sell to its on- premises

sell its product at thc reduced pricc, but only during that same period of time. 

2))) What are the requirements for a craft distillery licensee to sell its
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spirits product outside the state of Washington? 

a))) ( 1) A distillery or craft distillery licensee shall include, in its

monthly report to the board, information on the product it produces in -state
and sells out -of -state Information includes, but is not limited to, the amount

ofproof gallons sold, and for a craft distillery, the composition of raw
materials used in production of the product. 

6,-))) (2) Product produced in -state and sold out -of -state counts toward a

craft distillery licensee' s sixty thousand proof gallons per calendar year
production limit (see WAC 314 -28 -050). 

e))) ( 3) Product produced in -state and sold out -of -state is subject to the

fifty percent Washington grown raw materials requirement for a craft
distillery. 

i • 

c))) ( 4) A distillery or craft distillery licensee is not subject to Washington
state liquor taxes on any product the licensee sells out -of- state. 

Statutory Authority: RCW 66.24. 145 and. 66. 08. 030. 10 -19 -066, § 314 -28 -090, filed

9/ 15/ 10, effective 10/ 16/ 10; 09 -02 -011, § 314 -28 -090, filed 12/29/ 08, effective 1/ 29/ 09.] 

Washington State Code Reviser' s Office
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