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A. STATEMENT OF FACTS

The Defendant in this case, Gregg Wynn Hansen, is a sex
offender by virtue of a Sexual Assault in the Second Degree
conviction out of the State of Oregon. (1/16/14 RP, 6 Il. 20-23).
Due to that conviction, the Defendant was required to register as a
sex offender in Washington. (Id. Il. 23-25). The Defendant was
registered as transient with the Franklin County Sheriff's Office and
was required to check in weekly. (Id. at 7, Il. 4-10; Id. at 11, Il. 2-9).
During the period of time between November 28th of 2012 and
February 8th of 2013, the Defendant failed to check in weekly as
required. (Id. at 7, Il. 7-10). Because he has at least two prior
Failure to Register as a Sex Offender convictions, he was charged
with a Class B Felony Failure to Register as a Sex Offender by
Information dated September 23, 2013. (CP 33). He was
convicted after a Bench Trial before the Honorable Bruce A.
Spanner on January 16, 2014 (1/16/14 RP, 71 Il. 6-10). It is from
this decision that the Defendant now appeals. From prison, the
Defendant filed a Motion to Modify or Correct Judgment and
Sentence (CP 3-11). It has been transferred to this Court, treated
as a Personal Restraint Petition, and consolidated with this appeal.

(CP 2).



B. ISSUES FOR REVIEW

The issues for review in this case are whether the Defendant
should have been charged the $100 DNA fee, and whether his
offender score was miscalculated.

C. ARGUMENT

1. THE DEFENDANT WAIVED AN ARGUMENT
ON HIS DNA FEE AS HE FAILED TO
OBJECT AT SENTENCING. THE DNA FEE
IS A MANDATORY FINE IMPOSED IN ALL
FELONY CASES WHETHER OR NOT THE
OFFENDER HAS PREVIOUSLY SUBMITTED
A SAMPLE. IT WAS PROPERLY IMPOSED
IN THIS CASE.

As a foundational matter, the Defendant failed to object to
the imposition of the DNA fine in this case. The sentencing judge,
recognizing that the Defendant was indigent, struck most of the
fines in the Judgment and sentence. He stated “I cannot make a
finding that you have now or will in the future have the ability to pay
legal/financial obligations. So, I'll only impose the mandatory—the
legal/financial obligations, namely the $500.00 victim assessment
and the $100.00 DNA collection fee.” (2/19/14 RP 82, Il. 4-9). He
later stated “I've simply stricken that finding . . . that he has the

ability now or in the future, and I've crossed out all of the non

mandatory legal/financial obligations that were listed in the



judgment and sentence.” (1d. at 84, Il. 3-4, 6-10). The Defendant
failed to object to the imposition of the $100 DNA fee, despite two
separate opportunities, and waives the issue on appeal.

Even if this Court determines that the argument was not
waived, the $100 DNA fee is mandatory and should be imposed.
The Defendant directs the Court’s attention to RCW 43.43.754, but
that statute must be read in conjunction with RCW 43.43.7541
which states, in relevant part that:

Every sentence imposed for a crime specified in RCW

43.43.754 must include a fee of one hundred dollars.

The fee is a court-ordered legal financial obligation as

defined in RCW 9.94A.030 and other applicable law.

For a sentence imposed under chapter 9.94A RCW,

the fee is payable by the offender after payment of all

other legal financial obligations included in the

sentence has been completed. For all other

sentences, the fee is payable by the offender in the

same manner as other assessments imposed.

(Emphasis added). While RCW 43.43.7541(2) states that a
subsequent DNA submission is not required if the Washington
State Patrol crime laboratory already has a DNA sample on file, this
ignores the fact that “[tjhe DNA collection fee serves to fund the

collection of samples and the maintenance and operation of DNA

databases.” State v. Brewster, 152 Wash.App. 856, 860, 218 P.3d

249 (2009). The fee, therefore, encompasses more than the mere



collection of DNA alone. The plain language of the statute that
every sentence imposed for a crime specified in RCW 43.43.754
must include the $100 fee is unambiguous and clearly announces
the Legislature’s intent in enacting the mandatory fee. Because the
issue was waived and the fee is mandatory, the Defendant should
be required to pay his DNA fee.

2. THE DEFENDANT WAIVED AN ARGUMENT

ON HIS OFFENDER SCORE AS HE AGREED
TO ITS CORRECTNESS AT HIS
SENTENCING HEARING. IN ANY EVENT,
HIS OFFENDER SCORE WAS PROPERLY
CALCULATED. HE IS NOT ENTITLED TO
RELIEF AND HIS PRP SHOULD BE DENIED.

In his Motion to Modify his Judgment and Sentence, the
Defendant claims his offender score is improperly calculated. (CP
3). He provides no argument or basis for this assertion. Based on
the Defendant’s prior felony convictions, his offender score for this
case was calculated to be 9+. (CP 18). The State listed the
Defendant’s extensive felony criminal history in his Judgment and
Sentence. (CP 17). The box preceding the criminal history section
stating “Unless the Defendant otherwise objects, the defendant

agrees that this is [a] correct recitation of his criminal history” was

marked. |d. At his sentencing hearing, the Defendant signed his



criminal history form that was submitted to the court. (CP 30). The

following exchange took place:

THE COURT: ...I've been handed up Mr. Hansen's
criminal history that he signed. Mr. Hansen,
Did you sign this indicating this is a correct and
complete criminal history?

DEFENDANT: Yeah. As far as | know, Your Honor.
(2/19/14 RP, 76 Il. 16-21). The Defendant made no argument
whatsoever that his offender score was incorrect at his sentencing
hearing; thus, the issue is waived.

Even if this Court decides to address the issue, the offender
score was properly calculated. According to RCW 9.94A.525(18),
prior adult and juvenile sex offense convictions (excluding
convictions for Failure to Register As a Sex Offender) are scored as
3 points each. All other adult felonies count as 1 point. Starting
with the Defendant's oldest felony conviction, Robbery in the
Second Degree counts as 1 point. (See chart in Judgment and
Sentence, CP 17). RCW 9.94A.525(2)(a) denotes that Class A and
sex prior felony convictions shall always be included in the offender
score. Burglary in the First Degree, as properly included, counts as

1 point. Violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act—

Manufacturing/Delivery counts also as 1 point. The Defendant’s



Sexual Abuse in the Second Degree conviction out of Oregon is
worth 3 points since it is a sex offense. RCW 9.94A.525(18). All of
the Defendant’s other adult felonies (5 Failure to Register As a Sex
Offender convictions, 2 Unlawful Possession of a Controlled
Substance Convictions, and an Attempting to Elude a Pursuing
Police Vehicle) count as 1 point each. The Defendant was on
community custody at the time of this conviction which additionally
adds one point to his score. His raw offender score is 15, so the
finding in his Judgment and Sentence that his offender score was
9+ was correct. (CP 18).

D. CONCLUSION

Based on the foregoing, the State respectfully requests that
this Court affirm the Defendant’'s conviction for Failure to Register
As a Sex Offender (Third or Subsequent Offense) and dismiss his
PRP.

Dated this 30th day of October, 2014,
Respectfully submitted,

SHAWN P. SANT
Prosecutlng Attorney

M "

Maureen R. Lorincz
WSBA #40987
Deputy Prosecuting Attorney
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