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L INTRODUCTION

This is a workers’ compensation case under Title 51, RCW, the
Industrial Insurance Act. Under the Industrial Insurance Act, the
Department of Labor & Industries (Department) calculates an injured
worker’s time-loss compensation rate based on the worker’s wages at the
time of injury, marital status, and nurﬁber of dependents.'
RCW 51.32.090(9) imposes a cap on such benefits: in no event may they
exceed 120 percent of the average monthly wage in the state of
Washington. Once a worker’s time-loss compensation rate is set at a
given amount through a final and unappealed order, that rate remains in
effect when making payments in the future, absent a statutory basis for
adjusting them.

Under RCW 51.32.075, a worker’s time-loss rate is typically
adjusted July 1 of each year based on the change to the average monthly
wage in the state of Washington occurring that year.2 However, the
legislature amended RCW 51.32.075 in 2011 to preclude a worker from

receiving such an adjustment for July 1, 2011.

' Time-loss compensation is a wage replacement benefit that is provided to
workers who are temporarily incapable of working as a result of an injury. Energy
Northwest v. Hartje, 148 Wn. App. 454, 463, 199 P.3d 1043 (2009).

? The adjustments that are made to a worker’s time-loss benefits under
RCW 51.32.075 are frequently referred to as cost of living adjustments, or “COLAs.”
See, e.g., Messer v. Dep’t of Labor & Indus., 118 Wn. App. 635, 641-42, 77 P.3d 1184
(2003).



Joseph Crabb contended, and the superior court agreed, that even
though his benefits could not be adjusted under RCW 51.32.075 for
July 1, 2011, he was still entitled to an adjustment of his time-loss
compensation rate under RCW 51.32.090(9).

The superior court accepted Crabb’s argument, but it erred in
doing so. Although the legislature did not suspend the provisions of
RCW 51.32.090(9), it does not follow that Crabb is entitled to have his
time-loss benefits increased. RCW 51.32.090(9) does not provide a
mechanism to increase a worker’s benefits whenever the average monthly
wage in the state experiences an increase. Rather, it is only
RCW 51.32.075 that authorizes an increase to a worker’s benefits based
on a change to the average wage monthly wage. Therefore, Crabb was not
entitled to have his time-loss benefit rate increased effective July 1, 2011,
and the superior court erred when it concluded otherwise.

IL. ASSIGNMENT OF ERRORS

Assignment #1. The superior court erred in entering Conclusion of
Law No. 3, which concluded that the Department calculated Crabb’s
temporary and total disability benefits “incorrectly and unlawfully” and
that Crabb was entitled to time-loss benefits at a rate of $4,816.20 per
month. CP 172. The superior court should have concluded that the

Department calculated Crabb’s benefits correctly and lawfully, because



increasing Crabb’s benefits effective July 1, 2011, as a result of a change
in the average monthly wage, is inconsistent with RCW 51.32.075.

Assignment #2. The superior court erred in granting summary
judgment to Crabb and in reversing the decision of the Board of Industrial
Insurance Appeals (Board) (which, in turn, affirmed the decisions of the
Department), because Crabb was not entitled to judgment as a matter of
law, and because the Board’s decision was correct and it should have been
affirmed. CP 172-73.

Assignment #3. The superior court erred in granting attorney fees
and costs to Crabb, because such fees and costs are only available to a
worker who prevails on appeal and who obtains additional benefits as a
result of prevailing, and because Crabb should not have prevailed in this
appeal. CP 168, 173.

Assignment #4. The superior court erred in directing the Board to
calculate an award of interest to Crabb, because such an award may only
be made if Crabb prevails and receives additional time-loss coﬁpensation
payments, and Crabb should not have prevailed in this appeal. CP 173

III. STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

Is Crabb entitled to an increase to his time-loss compensation rate

based on the increase to the average monthly wage that occurred on July 1,

2011, when, under RCW 51.32.075, the Department may not increase



Crabb’s time-loss compensation rate based on the change to the average
monthly wage that occurred on July 1, 2011, and when RCW 51.32.090(9)
places a cap on a worker’s time-loss payments that is tied to the average
monthly wage in the state but it does not provide a mechanism to increase
a worker’s benefits? >

IV. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Joseph Crabb was injured in the course of his employment on
December 23, 2007. BR 54.* The Department allowed his claim and
provided him with benefits. See BR 54.

In January 2010, the Department calculated Crabb’s wages at the
time of injury to be $8,917.92. BR 54; BR Ex. No. 1. The Department
also determined, through that order, that Crabb was not married and that
he had no dependent children at the time of his injury. BR 54; BR Ex.
No. 1. This order was communicated to all of the necessary parties, and
no party, including Crabb, filed either a request for reconsidération or an

appeal from that order. BR 54.

> RCW 51.32.090 was amended in 2011, after Crabb’s 2007 injury. However,
none of the amendments to it is relevant to the issues raised by this appeal and therefore
the Department cites to the current version. Copies of RCW 51.32.090 and .075 are
provided in the appendix.

* The certified appeal board record is cited to as “BR”, followed by a cite to the
appropriate page number. Citations to the testimony of witnesses will be cited to as
“BR,” followed by the name of the witness and the page number of the applicable
transcript.



Under RCW 51.32.090(9), a worker’s monthly time-loss
compensation ‘rate cannot be more than 120 percent of the average
monthly wage in the state of Washington. The parties stipulated that the
following amounts have constituted the maximum rate at which time-loss
benefits may be paid under that statute, from the date of Crabb’s injury
through July 1, 2011:

Effective 7/1/07: $4,258.40
Effective 7/1/08: $4,472.10
Effective 7/1/09: $4,625.60
Effective 7/1/10: $4,715.30
Effective 7/1/11: $4,816.20

BR 55.

Crabb received time-loss benefits for the time period beginning
August 27, 2011, and up to, and including, October 21, 2011. BR 56-57,
BR Ex. 2-7. For that time period, the Department paid Crabb time-loss
benefits based on a monthly rate of $4,715.30. BR 56-57; BR Ex. 2-7.
The Department paid Crabb benefits at that rate, for that time period,
because it concluded that it could only increase Crabb’s time-loss
payments as of July 1, 2011, if it could grant him a cost of living
adjustment (COLA) effective that date. BR 56-57, BR Ex. 3.

RCW 51.32.075, as amended, precludes the Department from granting a



COLA to a worker—like Crabb—whose right to compensation was
established before July 1, 2011.

Crabb appealed the Department’s decision to the Board,
contending that his time-loss benefits should have been increased effective
July 1, 2011, even though he could not receive a COLA for thgt year,
because the legislature did not suspend the provisions of
RCW 51.32.090(9), the statute that places a cap on a worker’s time-loss
compensation rate. BR 20-30.

The Board rejected Crabb’s argument and affirmed the
Department’s decision to pay Crabb benefits based on a monthly rate of
$4,715.42. BR 2; BR 13-19. The Board’s industrial appeals judge issued
a proposed decision that concluded that the Department could not properly
increase Crabb’s time-loss compensation benefits effective July 1, 2011,
based on the change to the average monthly wage that occurred on that
date, because doing so would constitute granting him a COLA for July 1,
2011, contrary to the plain language of RCW 51.32.075. BR 13-19.

The industrial appeals judge further explained that while
RCW 51.32.090(9) was not suspended or amended, that statute does not,
in and of itself, provide a mechanism to increase a worker’s time-loss
payments effective July 1 of each year. BR 16. Rather, it simply places a

cap on such benefits. BR 16. Finally, the industrial appeal judge noted



that adopting Crabb’s argument would lead to the absurd result of
increasing the monthly benefits of highly compensated workers (who were
receiving disability benefits at high monthly rates), while not granting any
benefit increase to lower paid workers (who were receiving time-loss
compensation payments at lower rates). BR 16.

Cfabb filed a petition for review. BR 3-10. The Board denied
review, adopting the proposed decision as its own decision. BR 2.

Crabb appealed to the Pierce County Superior Court. CP 3-5. The
superior court granted Crabb’s motion for summary judgment, and
reversed the Board, expressly noting that the liberal construction doctrine
- required it to resolve all doubts in favor of the worker. CP 169-173. The
Department now appeals. CP 174-179.

V. SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Under RCW 51.32.075, a worker is generally entitled to a COLA
effective July 1 of each year based on the change to the average monthly
wage in the state of Washington that occurs on that year. However,
RCW 51.32.075 was amended in 2011 to expfessly preclude making such
an adjustment for July 1, 2011.% Despite this plain statutory language,

Crabb argued, and the superior court agreed, that he was entitled to an

% Under the 2011 amendment to RCW 51.32.075, workers who were injured
before July 1, 2011, will again receive COLAs on a yearly basis starting July 1, 2012, but
at a rate that does not take into account the increase to the average monthly wage that
occurred on July 1, 2011. See RCW 51.32.075.



adjustment to his benefits as of July 1, 2011, under RCW 51.32.090(9),
because that statute, unlike RCW 51.32.075, was not amended to exclude
an increase on July 1, 2011, from its provisions.

However, RCW 51.32.090(9) does not contain a mechanism to
increase a worker’s benefits effective July 1 of each year based on a
change to the average monthly wage in the state. Rather, it simply
imposes a cap on what a worker’s benefits can possibly be based on the
average monthly wage. But for a worker to receive an increase to his or
her current time-loss benefit rate, there must be a étatute that supports
making such an adjustment.

RCW 51.32.075 was expressly amended to preclude such an
adjustment being made for the fiscal year of 2011. Furthermore, while
other statutes authorize making various adjustments to a worker’s benefits,
none of them supports increasing a worker’s time-loss compensation rate
based on a change to the average monthly wage.

Accepting Crabb’s arguments would lead to RCW 51.32.075
having an unlikely, absurd, and strained result that could not be plausibly
ascribed to the legislature. Under Crabb’s view, workers who were
already at the time-loss compensation maximum as of June 30, 2011, were
entitled to have their benefits increased effective July 1, 2011, by an

amount that is identical to what they would have received had they



received a COLA, while workers who were receiving much lower
amounts of benefits as of June 30, 2011, would ’not be entitled to any
increase in their benefits whatsoever as of July 1, 2011. Crabb fails to
articulate any reason why the legislature would have intended to achieve
that anomalous result, and no such reason is apparent to the Department.

As Crabb sought relief that is contrary to the plain language of
RCW 51.32.075, and as the statute Crabb relies upon does not support his
argument, the superior court erred when it reversed the decision of the
Department, and this Court should reverse the superior court’s decision
and reinstate that of the Department.

| VI. STANDARD OF REVIEW

In a workers’ compensation matter involving an appeal from a
superior court’s decision to this Court, the ordinary civil standard of
review applies. RCW 51.52.140; Malang v. Dep’t of Labor & Indus.,
139 Wn. App. 677, 683, 162 P.3d 450 (2007). On review of a summary
judgment order, the appellate court’s inquiry is the same as the superior
courts. Bennerstrom v. Dep’t of Labor & Indus., 120 Wn. App. 853, 858,
86 P.3d 826 (2004). Summary judgment is appropriate “if the pleadings,
depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together
with affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any

material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a



matter of law.” CR 56(c). In this case, the material facts were stipulated
to, and the only issue raised by this appeal is whether the Department or
Crabb is entitled to prevail as a matter of law. See BR 54-55. This, like
any other question of law, is reviewed de novo. See Ruse v. Dep’t of
Labor & Indus., 138 Wn.2d 1, 5, 977 P.2d 570 (1999).

The issues in this case turn in significant part on the proper
construction of RCW 51.32.075 and RCW 51.32.090.  Statutory
construction is a question of law, reviewed de novo. State v. Ashby,
141 Wn. App. 549, 170 P.3d 596 (2007). However, Department and
Board interpretations of the Industrial Insurance Act are entitled to great
deference, and the courts “must accord substantial weight to the
agenc[ies’] interpretation of the law.” Littlejohn Constr. Co. v. Dep’t of
Labor & Indus., 74 Wn. App. 420, 423, 873 P.2d 583 (1994).

| The provisions of Washington’s Industrial Insurance Act are
“liberally construed” to favor injured workers. RCW 51.12.010; Dennis v.
Dep’t of Labor & Indus., 109 Wn.2d 467, 470, 745 P.2d 1295 (1987).
This rule of construction, however, does not authorize an unrealistic
interpretation that produces strained or absurd results that defeat the plain
meaning and intent of the legiSIature. Bird-Johnson v. Dana Corp.,
119 Wn.2d 423, 427, 833 P.2d 375 (1992); Senate Republican Cmpn.

Comm. v. Pub. Disclosure Comm’n of State of Wash., 133 Wn.2d 229,
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243, 943 P.2d 1358 (1997). The rule of liberal construction does not
trump other rules of statutory construction. Senate Republican Cmpn.
Comm., 133 Wn.2d at 243.
VII. ARGUMENT
A. The Superior Court Erred When It Concluded That The
Department Should Have Increased Crabb’s Benefits Effective
July 1, 2011, Because No Statute Authorizes Such An Increase
The plain language of RCW 51.32.075, as amended, shows that
Crabb is not entitled to an increase to his time-loss compensation benefits
effective July 1, 2011. The statute that Crabb relies upon in claiming that
he is entitled to this relief (and that the superior court relied upon in ruling
in Crabb’s favor), RCW 51.32.090(9), does not allow for annual
adjustments to a worker’s time-loss compensation benefits, but, rather,
merely places a cap on those benefits. Furthermore, Crabb’s proposed
interpretation of RCW 51.32.090(9) and RCW 51.32.075 leads to absurd
results that the Legislature could not have intended.
1. A Worker’s Initial Time-Loss Benefit Rate Is Set At A
Figure Based On A Percentage Of The Worker’s
Monthly Wages At The Time Of Injury, Subject To A
“Cap” Based On The Average Monthly Wage In The
State
Before turning to the spéciﬁc question raised by this appeal, it is

helpful to consider the statutes that govern the initial calculation of time-

loss compensation benefits and the statutes that govern making

11



adjustments to those benefits. Time-loss compensation is a benefit that is
provided to workers who are temporarily unable to work as a result of
their industrial injuries. E.g., Hartje, 148 Wn. App. at 463.

Several statutes, including RCW 51.32.090, RCW 51.32.060,
RCW 51.08.178, and RCW 51.32.075, govern the determination of a
worker’s time-loss compensation benefit amount. As a starting point, a
worker’s initial time-loss compensation rate must be established.
RCW 51.32.090 cross-references another statute for this calculation,
stating that the “schedule of payments” within RCW 51.32.060 also
applies to the basic calculation of the worker’s time-loss compensation
benefits.® Under RCW 51.32.060, a worker’s benefits are calculated based
on a percentage of the worker’s monthly wages at the time of his or her
injury, with the percentage depending on the worker’s marital status and
number of dependents.” A worker, like Crabb, who was single with no
dependents at the time of the injury, would ordinarily receive wage
replacement benefits at an initial amount equal to 60 percent of his or her
wages at the time of injury. RCW 51.32.060; RCW 51.32.090.

However, RCW 51.32.090(9) imposes a cap on the time-loss

benefit amount, and provides that, for injuries occurring after 1996, “in no

8 RCW 51.32.060 governs total and permanent disability benefits, which are also
referred to as “pension” benefits. E.g., Clauson v. Dep’t of Labor & Indus., 130 Wn.2d
580, 584, 925 P.2d 624 (1996).

7 The amount of wages is determined by RCW 51.08.178.

12



event” shall a worker’s time-loss benefits exceed 120 percent of the
average monthly wage in the state, RCW 51.08.018. RCW 51.08.018, in
turn, provides that the “average monthly wage” is one-twelfth of the
average annual wage as defined by RCW 50.04.355. The parties
stipulated that,' as of July 1, 2010, the maximum time-loss compensation
rate was $4,715.30, and that, as of July 1, 2011, the maximum time-loss
compensation rate was $4,816.20. BR 55.

Therefore, when calculating a worker’s’ initial time-loss
compensation rate (which would be effective as of the date of the worker’s
injury), one must first determine the worker’s wages, marital status, and
number of dependents. Next, the worker’s monthly wage figure is
multiplied by the appropriate percentage. If that figure is above the time-
loss compensation cap, then the worker’s benefits are paid at the cap.

Here, the parties stipulated both that the Department had
determined that Crabb’s monthly wages at the time of his injury were
$8,917.92 and that his monthly wages at the time of injury were, in fact,
$8,917.92. BR 54-55. Sixty percent of $8,917.92 is $5,350.75, which is a
figure that exceeds the time-loss cap that was in place from the date that
Crabb was injured through July 1, 2011. BR 55. This means that, at all
times relevant to this appeal, Crabb could not receive 60 percent of his

wages at the time of injury in time-loss compensation, since this would



exceed the statutory cap on those benefits. CP 54-55; RCW 51.32.090(9).
Thus, in Crabb’s case, his time-loss benefit rate, as of the date of his
injury, December 2007, would properly be set at 120 percent of the
average monthly wage as of July 1, 2007, or $4,258.40. BR 55.
2. Once A Worker’s Initial Time-Loss Compensation Rate
Is Established, The Worker Will, Generally, Receive A
. COLA Effective July 1 Of Each Year, Based On The
Change To The Average Monthly Wage In The State
In general, once a worker’s time-loss compensation rate is
established through a final order that provides the factual information
needed to establish that rate, the worker continues receiving benefits at
amounts consistent with that rate unless a statute provides a basis for
making an adjustment to the rate. See Hyatt v. Dep’t of Labor & Indus.,
132 Wn. App. 387, 394-97, 132 P.3d 148 (2006) (concluding that a
worker could not receive increase to her time-loss rate because the time-
loss rate was determined through a final and unappealed order that
established the factual basis for the time-loss calculation, and because no
statute supported making an increase to the time-loss rate); Lynn v. Dep’t
of Labor & Indus., 130 Wn. App. 829, 834-37, 125 P.3d 202 (2005)
(concluding same).

There are several statutes that could, potentially, support making

an adjustment to a worker’s initial time-loss compensation rate, but the

14



only one that is relevant here is RCW 51.32.075. RCW 51.32.075
provides for yearly adjustments to worker’s time-loss compensation
benefits based on changes to the average monthly wage in the state.
Under that statute, workers whose right to compensation was established
on or after 1971 normally receive adjustments to their time-loss
compensation rates effective July 1 of each year following the year of their
injury, with the exception of July 1, 2011. RCW 51.32.075. Where an
adjustment is made, it is made by multiplying the worker’s current
entitlement amount by a fraction, the denominator of which is the average
monthly wage in the state for the fiscal year for which the worker’s right
to compensation was established, while the numerator is the average
monthly wage in the state for the fiscal year for which the adjustment is
being made. RCW 51.32.075. As noted, these adjustments.are generally
referred to as COLAs. See Messer, 118 Wn. App. at 641-42

Workers who are subject to the time-loss benefit cap, like all other
workers, are generally eligible for yearly COLAs. See RCW 51.32.075
(providing for adjustrﬁents to time-loss benefits and not providing any
exception for workers who are at the maximum time-loss compensation
rate). If a worker who is subject to the time-loss compensation cap

receives a COLA, this effectively increases the worker’s time-loss rate to

15



an amount équal to the cap that applies as of that fiscal year. See
RCW 51.32.075; RCW 51.32.090(9).

That granting a worker who was already at the time-loss
compensation maximum a COLA (under RCW 51.32.075) will result in
the worker’s benefit being increased from the prior time-loss
compensation maximum to the new time-loss compensation maximum can
be seen from the following mathematical equations. For any injured
worker, whether the worker is at or above the time-loss cap or not, a
COLA increases a worker’s benefits effective July 1 of each year as
follows:

current average monthly wage
initial average monthly wage

current benefit amount X

A worker who is at the time-loss benefit cap can only receive a
time-loss benefit equal to 120 percent of the current, applicable, fiscal
year. In other words, the worker’s benefits are equal to:

1.2 x current average monthly wage

Therefore, a worker who is at the time-loss benefit cap, and who
receives a COLA, would, effective July 1 of the next year, receive a
COLA equal to:

current average monthly wage
initial average monthly wage

1.2 X initial average monthly wage x
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The above equation has the same value as the following:

1.2 x the current average monthly wage

Thus, as noted, if a worker is currently at the time-loss
compensation cap, and the worker’s time-loss rate is adjusted in
accordance with the formula contained in RCW 51.32.075, the worker’s
new time-loss rate will end up being a sum that is equivalent to the cap
that applies to that fiscal year.

For example, the maximum time-loss compensation rate effective
July 1, 2009 was $4,625.60. BR 55. The maximum time-loss
compensation rate effective Juiy 1, 2010, was $4,715.30. BR 55. Thus,
on July 1, 2010, Crabb, like all other injured workers whose right to
compensation was established after 1971, was eligible for a COLA under
RCW 51.32.075. Since the proper time-loss compensation rate for Crabb,
as of July 1, 2009, was $4,625.60 (the maximum in effect as of July 1,
2009) Crabb’s new time-loss rate effective July 1, 2010, after receiving a
COLA under RCW 51.32.075, was $4,715.30 (the maximum in effect as
of July 1, 2010). BR 55.

3. The Legislature Froze The COLA Statute Effective

July 1, 2011, Which Precludes Crabb From Receiving A
COLA For That Year

In 2011, the legislature passed EHB 2123, which amended

RCW 51.32.075 to provide that a worker whose right to compensation was
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established after 1971, but before July 1, 2011, shall ﬁot receive a COLA
for‘ July 1,2011.% Laws of 2011, 1st Spec. Sess., ch. 37 § 202. Crabb’s
right to compensation was established after 1971 and before July 1, 2011.
See BR 54. Therefore, Crabb could not receive a COLA effective July 1,
2011, and cannot receive another COLA until July 1, 2012.°

Since Crabb could not receive a COLA effective July 1, 2011, the
proper rate for his benefits for the period from July 1, 2011, through
June 30, 2012, remained the same as what it had been from July 1, 2010,

through June 30, 2011: a monthly rate of $4,715.30. RCW 51.32.075.

% Those injured on or after July 1, 2011, do not receive a COLA for the first
July 1 that occurs after their industrial injuries, and receive their first COLA on the
second July 1 that occurs after their injuries.

’ In general, an amendment to a workers’ compensation statute is presumed to
apply prospectively only, unless the legislature has indicated that it intends for the statute
to apply retroactively. See Cenav. Dep’t of Labor & Indus., 121 Wn. App. 915, 921, 91
P.3d 903 (2004) (stating that, absent clear evidence of a contrary legislative intent, an
amendment to a statute is presumed to apply prospectively). Here, however, the
legislature has plainly indicated that the amendment to RCW 51.32.075 was intended to
apply retroactively, and, therefore, it is properly given retroactive effect. See Harris v.
Dep't of Labor & Indus., 120 Wn.2d 461, 473, 843 P.2d 1056 (1993) (concluding that
presumption that statute does not have retroactive effect should not be followed when it is
clear that the legislature did intend for a statute to be given such effect). On its face,
RCW 51.32.075, as amended, states that workers whose right to compensation was
established after July 1, 1971, but before July 1, 2011, shall receive a COLA effective
each July 1 except for July 1, 2011. By definition, this means that the denial of a COLA
for July 1, 2011, applies to workers whose right to compensation was established before
the amendment itself was passed (in 2011). RCW 51.32.075. In any event, Crabb has
never contended that the amendment to RCW 51.32.075 should not be applied
retroactively, and the superior court did not grant him relief on that basis. See CP 7-18.



4. Although The Legislature Did Not Amend
RCW 51.32.090(9), Crabb Could Not Receive An
Adjustment To His Time-Loss Compensation Rate
Under RCW 51.32.090(9), Because That Statute Does
Not Provide Authority To Increase A Worker’s Benefits

The plain language of RCW 51.32.090(9) does not provide a basis
for increasing the benefits of any injured worker on any given year.
RCW 51.32.090(9)(a) provides that:

(9) In no event shall the monthly payments provided in this
section:

(a) Exceed the applicable percentage of the average
monthly wage in the state as computed under the
provisions of RCW 51.08.018 as follows:

AFTER PERCENTAGE
June 30, 1993 105%
June 30, 1994 110%
June 30, 1995 115%

June 30, 1996 120%

Thus, RCW 51.32.090(9)(a), by its terms, prevents the Department from
paying any amount of time loss that is in excess of the applicable time-loss
cap. It does not, however, either state or imply that a worker’s time-loss
benefits shall be increased in the event that the cap becomes higher in a
later year than it was previously. RCW 51.32.090(9).

The Department’s legal authority to increase an injured worker’s
wages based on changes to the average monthly wage can be found c;nly

in RCW 51.32.075. Since that statute, as amended, plainly does not allow
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for COLAs for July 1, 2011, Crabb’s time-loss rate could not be increased
effective July 1, 2011, based on the change to the average monthly wage
that occurred on that date. See RCW 51.32.075.
5. No Statute Other Than RCW 51.32.075 Supports
Increasing A Worker’s Time-Loss Compensation Based
On A Change To The Average Monthly Wage
Although there are statutes other than RCW 51.32.075 that allow
for various adjustments to be made to a worker’s time-loss compensation
rate, none of them supports increasing Crabb’s time-loss compensation
rate based on a change to the average monthly wage in the state.
See RCW 51.28.040 (stating that, upon application, a worker’s benefits
may be adjusted if this is warranted “by change of circumstances™);
RCW 51.32.025 (stating that payments of benefits, including time-loss
compensation, that are made “to or on behalf of” the children of an injured
worker “shall terminate” when child becomes 18, uhless exception
applies); RCW 51.32.072 (providing for adjustments to benefits provided
to workers who were placed on the pension rolls prior to July 1, 1971);
RCW 51.32.220 (providing for reduction in time-loss compensation and
total permanent disability payments if worker receives payments under
“federal old age, survivors, and disability insurance act™).
In particular, while a worker’s time-loss benefit rate can be

adjusted under RCW 51.28.040 if the worker experienced a change to his
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or her personal circumstances that occurred after the wage order had
become final, that statute does not apply here, because Crabb experienced
no change in his circumstances that was personal to him. See Hyatt,
132 Wn. App. at 396-97; Lynn, 130 Wn. App. at 834-36. As Lynn and
Hyatt show, a change only qualifies as a change of circumstances under
RCW 51.28.040, if it is a factual change that is personal to the injured
worker. See Hyatt, 132 Wn. App. at 396-97; Lynn, 130 Wn. App.
at 834-36. Crabb has never contended that any change in his factual
circumstances that is personal to him occurred. See CP 7-18 (contending
that he is entitled to have his time-loss compensation increased effective
July 1, 2011, but not mentioning RCW 51.28.040). In any event, such a
claim would be insupportable, as a change in the average monthly wage in
.the state of Washington is plainly not a factual change that is personal to
Crabb.

The plain language of RCW 51.32.090(9) does not authorize the
Department to increase a worker’s time-loss benefits. Furthermore, when
RCW 51.32.090(9) is read in the conjunction with the related statutes, it
becomes even more apparent that it does not authorize the Department to
increase a worker’s time-loss compensation rate. When deciding what
effect should be given to a statute under a “plain language” analysis, a

Court should not analyze the language of a statute in isolation, but
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construe it in conjunction with other, related provisions. State v. Coombs,
149 Wn. App. 556, 204 P.3d 264 (2009) (citing State v. Jacobs,
154 Wn.2d 596, 600, 115 P.3d 281 (2005)). Furthermore, related statutes
should be construed in ways that avoids conflict between those provisions
and that give some legal effect to each of them. Gorman v. Garlock,
155 Wn.2d 198, 210-11, 118 P.‘3d 311 (2005).

Here, RCW 51.32.090(9) and RCW 51.32.075 deal with a
common, related subject: the effect that the average monthly wage in the
state of Washington has on the calculation of any given injured worker’s
time-loss compensation benefits. Under the Department’s interpretation
of the two statutes, RCW 51.32.090(9) places a cap on an injured worker’s
time-loss benefits based on a percentage of the average monthly wage in
the state, while RCW 51.32.075 allows a worker——whethe{ he or she is at
the “cap” or not—to receive an adjustment to the timé-lc;ss benefit rate
based on a subsequent change to the average monthly wage in the state
(with the exception of July 1, 2011). The Department’s interpretation is
consistent with the plain language of both statutes, and it gives full legal

effect to each of them.
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6. Accepting Crabb’s Argument Would Lead To Unlikely,
Absurd, And Strained Results

Finally, this Court should not accept Crabb’s interpretation of the
interplay between RCW 51.32.075 and RCW 51.32.090 because accepting
it would, as the Board suggested, lead to strained, unlikely, or unrealistic
results that the legislature could not have intended when it amended
RCW 51.32.075. See BR 16. The courts do not adopt interpretations of
statutes that result in strained, unlikely, or unrealistic results. Bour v.
Johnson, 122 Wn.2d 829, 835, 8§64 P.2d 380 (1993).

Under Crabb’s interpretation of RCW 51.32.075 and
RCW 51.32.090, an injured worker receiving a comparatively modest
time-loss benefit rate as of June 30, 2011, would not be entitled to any
adjustment to his or her time-loss rate as of July 1, 2011, but a worker like
Crabb, who was receiving the highest benefit rate that is possible under
the statute as of June 30, 2011, would be entitled to an increase. to that
time-loss benefit rate as of July 1, 2011.'% Crabb.offers no explanation as
to why the legislature would have intended to increase the benefit rates of
workers who were receiving the maximum benefit amount that is available

under the statute, while declining to grant a comparable adjustment to

' For example, suppose an injured worker was receiving $800 a month in time
loss as of June 30, 2011. (Crabb was receiving $4,715.30 a month as of that time.)
Under Crabb’s interpretation of the two statutes, this hypothetical injured worker would
continue receiving $800 a month in time loss effective July 1, 2011, while Crabb’s time-
loss benefits would be increased from $4,715.30 a month to $4,816.20.

23



workers receiving comparatively modest benefit amounts. Furthermore,

no reasonable explanation for such a discrepancy is apparent to the

Department. Since accepting Crabb’s interpretation of the statute would

lead to strained, unlikely, and unrealistic results, the superior court erred

when it accepted Crabb’s argument, and this Court should not follow its

lead. See Bour, 122 Wn.2d at 835.

B. Crabb’s Contention, And The Superior Court’s Decision, Is
Not Supported By Either The Plain Language Of The Relevant
Statutes Nor By The Doctrine Of Liberal Construction
At superior court, Crabb offered two primary arguments in support

of his interpretation of the statute. CP 7-18. First, Crabb argued that the

“plain language” of EHB 2123 shows it did not amend RCW 51.32.090(9)

nor suspend its provisions, and that, since he is seeking an adjustment to

his time-loss benefits rate under RCW 51.32.090(9), it follows that the
amendment is irrelevant to whether his time-loss benefits can be increased
effective July 1, 2011. CP 7-13. Second, Crabb argued that his
interpretation should be accepted under the “liberal construction” doctrine.

CP 13-14. The superior court concluded that Crabb was entitled to the

relief he Aseeks, and it expressly based its decision on the liberal

construction standard. CP 170-71. It erred in doing so, as neither of

Crabb’s arguments has merit.
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First, Crabb’s argument (at CP 13) that the “plain language” of the
relevant statutes supports him ignores that RCW 51.32.090(9) merely
places a cap on time-loss benefits but does not provide the Department
with a legal basis to increase a given worker’s time-loss rates effective
July I of a given year based on a change to the average monthly wage in
the state. Rather, it is RCW 51.32.075 that provides the Department with
the legal authority to do so. Since EHB 2123 did unambiguously amend
RCW 51.32.075 by precluding the Department from granting a COLA for
July 1, 2011, the amendment precludes Crabb from receiving the relief he
seeks.

Second, the liberal construction standard also fails to support
Crabb, because the liberal: construction doctrine cannot be used to
overcome the plain language of the statute. See Harris v. Dep’t of Labor
& Indus., 120 Wn.2d 461, 474, 843 P.2d 1056 (1993). Here, as noted, the
plain language of RCW 51.32.075 and RCW 51.32.090 do not support

Crabb.

Moreover, Crabb’s proposed interpretation of the two statutes is
strained, unreasonable, and would lead to absurd results that the legislature
could not have intended when it enacted EHB 2123. The liberal

construction standard does not trump the other rules of statutory
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construction, nor does it support a court adopted a strained or unrealistic
interpretation of a statute. See Senate Republican Cmpn. Comm.,
133 Wn.2d at 241-43. As Crabb’s proposed interpretation is strained and
unrealistic, the liberal construction doctrine does not aid him. Id.
C. Because Crabb Should Not Have Prevailed At Superior Court,

He Should Not Have Received An Award Of Attorney’s Fees

And Costs

Upon receiving judgment in his favor, Crabb soughf, and was
granted, an award of his reasonable attorney’s fees and expenses under
RCW 51.52.130. CP 173. 1t is true that RCW 51.52.130 authorizes an
award of reasonable attorney’s fees and expenses to an injured worker
who appeals a decision of the Board to a superior court, if the decision of
the Board is reversed and the accident funds managed by the Department
are thereby affected. However, the superior court erred in granting
summary judgment to Crabb, and its decision to do so should be reversed,
for the reasons explained above. Therefore, this Court should reverse the

superior court’s award of attorney’s fees and litigation expenses as well.

See RCW 51.52.130.
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D. Because Crabb Should Not Have Prevailed At Superior Court

Or Obtained Additional Time-Loss Compensation On Appeal,

The Board Should Not Be Directed To Calculate Interest On

An Award Of Additional Time-Loss Compensation -

Finally, the superior court, upon granting judgment to Crabb,
directed the Board to calculate the interest to which Crabb was due for the
award of additional time-loss compensation it granted him. CP 173.
RCW 51.52.135(2) provides that a worker who prevails on an appeal to
the Board or to superior court “in a claim involving time loss
compensation,” the worker shall receive an award of interest on the
“unpaid amount of the award.”"!

However, for the reasons explained above, the superior court erred
when it granted Crabb’s motion for summary judgment and when it
concluded that Crabb was entitled to receive an additional award of time-
loss compensation since he should have received time-loss compensation

at a higher rate effective July 1, 2011. Therefore, the superior court’s

award of interest should be reversed as well. See RCW 51.52.135.

"' RCW 51.52.135(3) provides that the award of interest may be calculated by
either the Board or a court.
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VIII. CONCLUSION
For the reasons discussed above, the Department asks that this
Court reverse the decision of the superior court, and affirm the decision of
the Department.
RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED this ;(l day of February,
2013.

ROBERT W. FERGUSON
Attorney General

STEVE V ARD, %W SBA # 29737
Assistant Attorney General

Labor and Industries Division

‘7141 Cleanwater Drive SW

PO Box 40121

Olympia, Washington 98504

(360) 586-7715
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Westlaw,
West's RCWA 51.32.075 Page 1

C
Effective: June 15, 2011

West's Revised Code of Washington Annotated Currentness
Title 51. Industrial Insurance (Refs & Annos)
~& Chapter 51.32. Compensation--Right to and Amount (Refs & Annos)
== 51.32.075. Adjustments in compensation or death benefits

The compensation or death benefits payable pursuant to the provisions of this chapter for temporary total disab-
ility, permanent total disability, or death arising out of injuries or occupational diseases shall be adjusted as fol-
lows:

(1) On July 1, 1982, there shall be an adjustment for those whose right to compensation was established on or
after July 1, 1971, and before July 1, 1982. The adjustment shall be determined by multiplying the amount of
compensation to which they are entitled by a fraction, the denominator of which shall be the average monthly
wage in the state under RCW 51.08.018 for the fiscal year in which such person's right to compensation was es-
tablished, and the numerator of which shall be the average monthly wage in the state under RCW 51.08.018 on

July 1, 1982.

(2) In addition to the adjustment established by subsection (1) of this section, there shall be another adjustment
on July 1, 1983, for those whose right to compensation was established on or after July 1, 1971, and before July
1983, which shall be determined by multiplying the amount of compensation to which they are entitled by a
fraction, the denominator of which shall be the average monthly wage in the state under RCW 51.08.018 for the
fiscal year in which such person's right to compensation was established, and the numerator of which shall be

the average monthly wage in the state under RCW 51.08.018 on July 1, 1983.

(3) In addition to the adjustments under subsections (1) and (2) of this section, further adjustments shall be made
beginning on July 1, 1984, and on each July Ist thereafter through July 1, 2010, for those whose right to com-
pensation was established on or after July 1, 1971. The adjustment shall be determined by multiplying the
amount of compensation to which they are entitled by a fraction, the denominator of which shall be the average
monthly wage in the state under RCW 51.08.018 for the fiscal year in which such person's right to compensation
was established, and the numerator of which shall be the average monthly wage in the state under RCW
51.08.018 on July 1st of the year in which the adjustment is being made. The department or self-insurer shall ad-
Just the resulting compensation rate to the nearest whole cent, not to exceed the average monthly wage in the

state as computed under RCW 51.08.018.

(4) In addition to the adjustments under subsections (1), (2), and (3) of this section, further adjustments shall be
made beginning July 1, 2012, and on each July Ist thereafter for those whose right to compensation was estab-
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West's RCWA 51.32.075 Page 2

lished on or after July 1, 1971. The adjustment shall be the percentage change in the average monthly wage in
the state under RCW 51.08.018 for the preceding calendar year, rounded to the nearest whole cent. For claims
whose right to compensation was established on or after July 1, 2011, no adjustment shall be made under this
subsection until the second July 1st following the date of injury or occupational disease manifestation.

CREDIT(S)

[2011 1st sp.s. ¢ 37 § 202, eff. June 15, 2011; 1988 c 161 § 7; 1983 ¢ 203 § 1; 1982 Istex.s. ¢ 20 § 1; 1979 ¢
108 § 1; 1977 ex.s. ¢ 202 § 2; 1975 1st ex.s. ¢ 286 § 2.]

HISTORICAL AND STATUTORY NOTES

Finding--Effective date--2011 1st sp.s. ¢ 37: See notes following RCW 51.32.090.

Effective date--1982 1st ex.s. ¢ 20: “This act is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace,
health, and safety, the support of the state government and its existing public institutions, and shall take effect

July 1, 1982.” {1982 1stex.s. ¢ 20 § 4.]

Laws 1977, Ex.Sess., ch. 202, § 2, in subsec. (1), deleted reference to subsequent adjustments; and added sub-
sec. (2) pertaining to those whose compensation rights were established on or after July 1, 1975, and before July

1, 1977.
:Laws 1979, ch. 108, § 1, changed the effective daFes for adjustments to compensation.
Laws 1982, 1st Ex.Sess., ch. 20, § 1, changed the effective dates and methods of computation.
Laws 1983, ch. 203, § 1, added subsec. (3).
Laws 1988, ch. 161, § 7, in subsec. (3), added the third sentence.
2011 Legislation
Laws 2011, 1st sp.s. ch. 37, § 202, in subsec. (3), inserted “through July 1, 2010,”; and added subsec. (4).
LIBRARY REFERENCES
Workers' Compensation€= 835.5, 911.

Westlaw Topic No. 413.
C.J.S. Workmen's Compensation §§ 521, 526, 528 to 529.

© 2013 Thomson Reuters. No Claim to Orig. US Gov. Works.



West's RCWA 51.32.075 Page 3

NOTES OF DECISIONS

Cost-of-living increases 2
Crime victims' compensation 1

1. Crime victims' compensation

Pursuant to § 7.68.070, the cost of living increases authorized in this section for recipients of workers' compens-
ation are also applicable to eligible crime victims under the state Crime Victims' Compensation Act, § 7.68.010

et seq. Op.Atty.Gen. 1983, No. 22.

2. Cost-of-living increases
Annual cost of living adjustment (COLA) on workers' compensation claimant's permanent total disability pen-
sion was required to be calculated after the reduction in the amount of the pension by a lump sum claimant pre-

viously received for a permanent partial disability. Rhoades v. Department of Labor and Industries (2008) 143
Wash.App. 832, 181 P.3d 843. Workers' Compensation €= 835.5; Workers' Compensation €~ 934.4

Under this section governing cost-of-living adjustments to monthly disability pensions for permanently and
totally disabled workers, claimants were entitled to periodic cost-of-living adjustments computed on amount
owed to claimants after reduction for prior receipt of any lump-sum permanent partial disability awards. Depart-
ment of Labor and Industries of State of Wash. v. Auman (1988) 110 Wash.2d 917, 756 P.2d 1311. Workers'

Compensation €~ 835.5; Workers' Compensation €~ 934.4
West's RCWA 51.32.075, WA ST 51.32.075

Current with all 2012 Legislation and Chapters 1, 2, and 3 from the 2013 Regular Session

© 2015 Thomson Reuters.

END OF DOCUMENT
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Westlaw, |
West's RCWA 51.32.090 Page 1

P
Effective: June 15, 2011

West's Revised Code of Washington Annotated Currentness
Title 51. Industrial Insurance (Refs & Annos)
~g Chapter 51.32. Compensation--Right to and Amount (Refs & Annos)
== 51.32.090. Temporary total disability--Partial restoration of earning power--Return to available work-
-When employer continues wages--Limitations-—-Finding--Rules

(1) When the total disability is only temporary, the schedule of payments contained in RCW 51.32.060 (1) and (2) shall
apply, so long as the total disability continues.

(2) Any compensation payable under this section for children not in the custody of the injured worker as of the date of in-
jury shall be payable only to such person as actually is providing the support for such child or children pursuant to the or-
der of a court of record providing for support of such child or children.

(3)(a) As soon as recovery is so complete that the present earning power of the worker, at any kind of work, is restored to
that existing at the time of the occurrence of the injury, the payments shall cease. If and so long as the present earning
power is only partially restored, the payments shall: '

(i) For claims for injuries that occurred before May 7, 1993, continue in the proportion which the new earning power
shall bear to the old; or

(i) For claims for injuries occurring on or after May 7, 1993, equal eighty percent of the actual difference between the
worker's present wages and earning power at the time of injury, but: (A) The total of these payments and the worker's
present wages may not exceed one hundred fifty percent of the average monthly wage in the state as computed under
RCW 51.08.018; (B) the payments may not exceed one hundred percent of the entitlement as computed under subsection
(1) of this section; and (C) the payments may not be less than the worker would have received if (a)(i) of this subsection

had been applicable to the worker's claim.
(b) No compensation shall be payable under this subsection (3) unless the loss of earning power shall exceed five per- cent.

(c) The prior closure of the claim or the receipt of permanent partial disability benefits shall not affect the rate at which
loss of earning power benefits are calculated upon reopening the claim.

(4)(a) The legislature finds that long-term disability and the cost of injuries is significantly reduced when injured workers
remain at work following their injury. To encourage employers at the time of injury to provide light duty or transitional
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work for their workers, wage subsidies and other incentives are made available to employers insured with the depart- ment.

(b) Whenever the employer of injury requests that a worker who is entitled to temporary total disability under this
chapter be certified by a physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner as able to perform available work
other than his or her usual work, the employer shall furnish to the physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practi-
tioner, with a copy to the worker, a statement describing the work available with the employer of injury in terms that will
enable the physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner to relate the physical activities of the job to the
worker's disability. The physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner shall then determine whether the
worker is physically able to perform the work described. The worker's temporary total disability payments shall continue
until the worker is released by his or her physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner for the work, and
begins the work with the employer of injury. If the work thereafter comes to an end before the worker's recovery is suffi-
cient in the judgment of his or her physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner to permit him or her to re-
turn to his or her usual job, or to perform other available work offered by the employer of injury, the worker's temporary
total disability payments shall be resumed. Should the available work described, once undertaken by the worker, impede
his or her recovery to the extent that in the judgment of his or her physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practi-
tioner he or she should not continue to work, the worker's temporary total disability payments shall be resumed when the
worker ceases such work.

(c) To further encourage employers to maintain the employment of their injured workers, an employer insured with the
department and that offers work to a worker pursuant to this subsection (4) shall be eligible for reimbursement of the in-
jured worker's wages for light duty or transitional work equal to fifty percent of the basic, gross wages paid for that
work, for a maximum of sixty-six work days within a consecutive twenty-four month period. In no event may the wage -
subsidies paid to an employer on a claim exceed ten thousand dollars. Wage subsidies shall be calculated using the work-
er's basic hourly wages or basic salary, and no subsidy shall be paid for any other form of compensation or payment to
the worker such as tips, commissions, bonuses, board, housing, fuel, health care, dental care, vision care, per diem, reim-
bursements for work-related expenses, or any other payments. An employer may not, under any circumstances, receive a
wage subsidy for a day in which the worker did not actually perform any work, regardless of whether or not the employer
paid the worker wages for that day.

(d) If an employer insured with the department offers a worker work pursuant to this subsection (4) and the worker must
be provided with training or instruction to be qualified to perform the offered work, the employer shall be eligible for a
reimbursement from the department for any tuition, books, fees, and materials required for that training or instruction, up
to a maximum of one thousand dollars. Reimbursing an employer for the costs of such training or instruction does not
constitute a determination by the department that the worker is eligible for vocational services authorized by RCW

51.32.095 and 51.32.099.

(e) If an employer insured with the department offers a worker work pursuant to this subsection (4), and the employer
provides the worker with clothing that is necessary to allow the worker to perform the offered work, the employer shall
be eligible for reimbursement for such clothing from the department, up to a maximum of four hundred dollars.
However an employer shall not receive relmbursement for any clothing it provided to the worker that it normally
provides to its workers. The clothing purchased for the worker shall become the worker's property once the work comes

to an end.
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(f) If an employer insured with the department offers a worker work pursuant to this subsection (4) and the worker must
be provided with tools or equipment to perform the offered work, the employer shall be eligible for a reimbursement
from the department for such tools and equipment and related costs as determined by department rule, up to a maximum
of two thousand five hundred dollars. An employer shall not be reimbursed for any tools or equipment purchased prior to
offering the work to the worker pursuant to this subsection (4). An employer shall not be reimbursed for any tools or
equipment that it normally provides to its workers. The tools and equipment shall be the property of the employer.

(g) An employer may offer work to a worker pursuant to this subsection (4) more than once, but in no event may the em-
ployer receive wage subsidies for more than sixty-six days of work in a consecutive twenty-four month period under one
claim. An employer may continue to offer work pursuant to this subsection (4) after the worker has performed sixty-six
days of work, but the employer shall not be eligible to receive wage subsidies for such work.

(h) An employer shall not receive any wage subsidies or reimbursement of any expenses pursuant to this subsection (4)
unless the employer has completed and submitted the reimbursement request on forms developed by the department,
along with all related information required by department rules. No wage subsidy or reimbursement shall be paid to an
employer who fails to submit a form for such payment within one year of the date the work was performed. In no event
shall an employer receive wage subsidy payments or reimbursements of any expenses pursuant to this subsection (4) un-
less the worker's physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner has restricted him or her from performing
his or her usual work and the worker's physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner has released him or

her to perform the work offered.

(i) Payments made under (b) through (g) of this subsection are subject to penalties under RCW 51.32.240(5) in cases
where the funds were obtained through willful misrepresentation.

(i) Once the worker returns to work under the terms of this subsection (4), he or she shall not be assigned by the employ-
er to work other than the available work described without the worker's written consent, or without prior review and ap-
proval by the worker's physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner. An employer who directs a claimant
to perform work other than that approved by the attending physician and without the approval of the worker's physician
or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner shall not receive any wage subsidy or other reimbursements for such work.

(k) If the worker returns to work under this subsection (4), any employee health and welfare benefits that the worker was
receiving at the time of injury shall continue or be resumed at the level provided at the time of injury. Such benefits shall
not be continued or resumed if to do so is inconsistent with the terms of the benefit program, or with the terms of the col-

lective bargaining agreement currently in force.

(1) In the event of any dispute as to the validity of the work offered or as to the worker's ability to perform the available
work offered by the employer, the department shall make the final determination pursuant to an order that contains the
notice required by RCW 51.52.060 and that is subject to appeal subject to RCW 51.52.050.

(5) An employer's experience rating shall not be affected by the employer's request for or receipt of wage subsidies.
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(6) The department shall create a Washington stay-at-work account which-shall be funded by assessments of employers
insured through the state fund for the costs of the payments authorized by subsection (4) of this section and for the cost
of creating a reserve for anticipated liabilities. Employers may collect up to one-half the fund assessment from workers.

(7) No worker shall receive compensation for or during the day on which injury was received or the three days following
the same, unless his or her disability shall continue for a period of fourteen consecutive calendar days from date of in-
jury: PROVIDED, That attempts to return to work in the first fourteen days following the injury shall not serve to break
the continuity of the period of disability if the disability continues fourteen days after the injury occurs.

(8) Should a worker suffer a temporary total disability and should his or her employer at the time of the injury continue
to pay him or her the wages which he or she was earning at the time of such injury, such injured worker shall not receive
any payment provided in subsection (1) of this section during the period his or her employer shall so pay such wages:
PROVIDED, That holiday pay, vacation pay, sick leave, or other similar benefits shall not be deemed to be payments by

the employer for the purposes of this subsection.
(9) In no event shall the monthly payments provided in this section:

(a) Exceed the applicable percentage of the average monthly wage in the state as computed under the provisions of RCW
51.08.018 as follows:

AFTER PERCENTAGE
June 30, 1993 105%
June 30, 1994 110%
June 30, 1995 115%

June 30, 1996 120%

(b) For dates of injury or disease manifestation after July 1, 2008, be less than fifteen percent of the average monthly
wage in the state as computed under RCW 51.08.018 plus an additional ten dollars per month if the worker is married
and an additional ten dollars per month for each child of the worker up to a maximum of five children. However, if the
monthly payment computed under this subsection (9)(b) is greater than one hundred percent of the wages of the worker
as determined under RCW 51.08. 178, the monthly payment due to the worker shall be equal to the greater of the
monthly wages of the worker or the minimum benefit set forth in this section on June 30, 2008.

(10) If the supervisor of industrial insurance determines that the worker is voluntarily retired and is no longer attached to
the workforce, benefits shall not be paid under this section.

(11) The department shall adopt rules as necessary to implement this section.

CREDIT(S)
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[2011 Ist sp.s. ¢ 37 § 101, eff. June 15, 2011. Prior: 2007 ¢ 284 § 3, eff. July 1, 2008; 2007 ¢ 190 § 1, eff. July 22, 2007;
2004 ¢ 65 § 9; prior: 1993 ¢ 521 § 3; 1993 ¢ 299 § 1; 1993 ¢ 271 § 1; 1988 ¢ 161 § 4; prior: 1988 ¢ 161 § 3; 1986 ¢ 59 §
3; (1986 ¢ 59 § 2 expired June 30, 1989); prior: 1985 ¢ 462 § 6; 1980 ¢ 129 § 1; 1977 ex.s. ¢ 350 § 47; 1975 Ist exss. ¢
235§ 1; 1972 ex.s. ¢ 43 § 22; 1971 ex.s. ¢ 289 § 11; 1965 ex.s. ¢ 122 § 3; 1961 ¢ 274 § 4; 1961 ¢ 23 § 51.32.090; prior:
1957 ¢ 70 § 33; 1955 ¢ 74 § 8; prior: 1951 ¢ 115 § 3; 1949 ¢ 219 § 1, part; 1947 ¢ 246 § 1, part; 1929 ¢ 132 § 2, part;
1927 ¢ 310 § 4, part; 1923 ¢ 136 § 2, part; 1919 ¢ 131 § 4, part; 1917 ¢ 28 § 1, part; 1913 ¢ 148 § 1, part; 1911 ¢ 74 § 5,
part; Rem. Supp. 1949 § 7679, part.] '

HISTORICAL AND STATUTORY NOTES

Finding--2011 1st sp.s. ¢ 37: “The legislature finds that Washington state's workers' compensation system should be de-
signed to focus on achieving the best outcomes for injured workers. The state must ensure that the workers' compensation
system remains financially healthy in order to provide needed resources for injured workers. Further, the legislature re-
cognizes that reducing the number and cost of long-term disability and pension claims, while strengthening safety pro-
grams; addressing workers' compensation system fraud by employers, workers, and providers; finding ways to improve
claims management processes; studying occupational disease claims in the workers' compensation system; and establish-
ing a fund for purposes of maintaining low, stable, and predictable premium rate increases are all key to ensuring pro-
ductive worker outcomes and a financially sound system for Washington workers and employers.” [2011 Ist sp.s. ¢ 37 § 1.]

.Effective date--2011 1st sp.s. ¢ 37: “This act is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or
safety, or support of the state government and its existing public institutions, and takes effect immediately [June 15,

2011].” {2011 Istsp.s.c 37 § 1101.]

Effective date=-2007 ¢ 284: See note following RCW 51.32.050.

Report to legislature-Effective date-Severability-2004 ¢ 65: See notes follov.ving RCW 51.04.030.
Effective date--1993 ¢ 521: See note following RCW 51.32.050.

Effective date--1993 ¢ 299: “This act is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety,
or support of the state government and its existing public institutions, and shall take effect July 1, 1993.” [1993 ¢ 299 § 2.]

Effective date--1993 ¢ 271: “This act is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety,
or support of the state government and its existing public institutions, and shall take effect immediately [May 7, 1993].”
[1993 ¢ 271 §2.] 4 :

Benefit increases--Application to certain retrospective rating agreements-—-Effective dates--1988 c¢ 161: See notes
following RCW 51.32.050.
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Expiration date--1986 ¢ 59 § 2; Effective dates--1986 ¢ 59 §§ 3, 5: “Section 2 of this act shall expire on June 30, 1989.
Section 3 of this act shall take effect on June 30, 1989. Section 5 of this act shall take effect on July 1, 1986.” [1986 ¢ 59 § 6.]

Program and fiscal review--1985 ¢ 462: See note following RCW 41.04.500.

Laws 1965, Ex.Sess., ch. 122, § 3, increased the amounts of compensation.

Laws 1971, Ex.Sess., ch. 289, § 11, in subsec. (5), substituted “fourteen” for “thirty”’; added subsec. (7) pertaining to lim-
its on monthly payments; and rewrote the first paragraph of subsec. (2), which prior thereto read:

“But if the injured workman has a wife or husband and has no child or, being a widow or widower, with one or more

children, the compensation for the case during such period of time as the total temporary disability continues, shall be per
month as follows, to wit: (a) Injured workman with wife or invalid husband and no child, two hundred fifteen dollars; in-
jured workman with able-bodied husband, but no child, one hundred seventy-five dollars; injured workman with wife or
invalid husband and one child, or being a widow or widower and having one child, two hundred fifty-two dollars; (b) in-
jured workman with able-bodied husband and one child, two hundred twelve dollars; (c) injured workman with wife or
invalid husband and two children, or being a widow or widower and having two children, two hundred eighty-three dol-
lars; (d) injured workman with able-bodied husband and two children, two hundred forty-three dollars; and twenty-three
dollars for each additional child, but the total monthly payments shall not exceed three hundred fifty-two dollars to an in-
jured workman with a wife or invalid husband, or being a widow or widower, and having children, and shall not exceed
three hundred twelve dollars to an injured workman with children and having an able-bodied husband and any deficit
shall be deducted proportionately among the beneficiaries.”

Laws 1972, Ex.Sess., ch. 43, § 22, deleted references to the accident fund.

Laws 1975, 1st Ex.Sess., ch. 235, § 1, inserted subsec. (4) and renumbered the subsequent subsectiéns.
Laws 1977, Ex.Sess., ch. 350, § 47, throughout the section, made gender related changes.

Laws 1980, ch. 129, § 1, in subsec. (5), inserted the proviso.

Laws 1985, ch. 462, § 6, in subsec. (3), added a former last sentence to read: “However, during the period a worker re-
_turns to light-duty work, receives disability leave supplement payments pursuant to RCW 41.04.500 through 41.04.530,
and is otherwise eligible for compensation under this section, the worker shall continue to receive such compensation at
the rate provided under RCW 51.32.060 (1) through (13).”; and, in subsec. (6), added a former last sentence to read:
“This limitation does not apply to disability leave supplement payments made pursuant to RCW 41.04.500 through

41.04.530.”

Laws 1986, ch. 59, §§ 2 and 3, added subsec. (8).
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Laws 1988, ch. 161, § 3, effective until June 30, 1989, updated statutory references; and, in subsec. (7), substituted 100%
for 75%. .

Laws 1988, ch. 161, § 4, effective June 30, 1989, updated statutory references; in subsecs. (3) and (6), deleted the last
sentences added by Laws 1985, ch. 462, § 6; and, in subsec. (7), substituted 100% for 75%.

Laws 1993, ch. 271, § 1, in subsec. (3), designated subd. (a); then, in subd. (a), designated par. (i); then, in par. (i), at the
beginning, added “For claims for injuries that occurred before May 7, 1993,”; inserted par. (ii); and designated subd. (b).

Laws 1993, ch. 299, § 1, divided subsec. (4) into subdivisions; then, in subd. (a), in the first sentence, substituted
“Whenever the employer of injury requests” for “Whenever an employer requests”; substituted “a statement describing
the work available with the employer of injury” for “a statement describing the available work”; divided and rewrote the
former third sentence into the current third and fourth sentences; the former third sentence read: “If the worker is re-
leased by his or her physician for said work, and the work thereafter comes to an end before the worker's recovery is suf-
ficient in the judgment of his or her physician to permit him or her to retumn to his or her usual job, or to perform other
available work, the worker's temporary total disability payments shall be resumed.”; in subd. (b), following “of this sub-

section” inserted “(4)”; and inserted subd. (c).
Laws 1993, ch. 521, § 3, rewrote subsec. (7).
Laws 2004, ch. 65, § 9, in subsec. (4), inserted references to licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner.

Laws 2004, ch. 65, § 19, which provided for the repeal of “this act” on June 30, 2007, was itself repealed by Laws 2007,
ch. 275, § 1, eff. May 2, 2007.

Laws 2007, ch. 190, § 1 inserted-subsec. (3)(c); and, in subsec. (6), added the proviso.
Laws 2007, ch. 284, § 3 designated subsec. (7)(a) and inserted subsec. (7)(b).

2011 Legislation

Laws 2011, 1st sp.s. ch. 37, § 101, réwrote the section, which formerly read:

“(1) When the total disability is only temporary, the scﬁedule of payments contained in RCW 51.32.060 (1) and (2) shall
apply, so long as the total disability continues.

“(2) Any compensation payable under this section for children not in the custody of the injured worker as of the date of
injury shall be payable only to such person as actually is providing the support for such child or children pursuant to the
order of a court of record providing for support of such child or children.
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“(3)(a) As soon as recovery is so complete that the present earning power of the worker, at any kind of work, is restored
to that existing at the time of the occurrence of the injury, the payments shall cease. If and so long as the present earning
power is only partially restored, the payments shall:

“@i) For claims for injuries that occurred before May 7, 1993, continue in the proportion which the new earning power
shall bear to the old; or :

“(ii) For claims for injuries occurring on or after May 7, 1993, equal eighty percent of the actual difference between the
worker's present wages and earning power at the time of injury, but: (A) The total of these payments and the worker's
present wages may not exceed one hundred fifty percent of the average monthly wage in the state as computed under
RCW 51.08.018; (B) the payments may not exceed one hundred percent of the entitlement as computed under subsection
(1) of this section; and (C) the payments may not be less than the worker would have received if (a)(i) of this subsection
had been applicable to the worker's claim.

“(b) No compensation shall be payable under this subsection (3) unless the loss of earning power shall exceed five per- cent.

“(c) The prior closure of the claim or the receipt of permanent partial disability benefits shall not affect the rate at which
loss of earning power benefits are calculated upon reopening the claim.

“(4)(a) Whenever the employer of injury requests that a worker who is entitled to temporary total disability under this
chapter be certified by a physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner as able to perform available work
other than his or her usual work, the employer shall furnish to the physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practi-
tioner, with a copy to the worker, a statement describing the work available with the employer of injury in terms that will
enable the physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner to relate the physical activities of the job to the
worker's disability. The physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner shall then determine whether the
worker is physically able to perform the work described. The worker's temporary total disability payments shall continue
until the worker is released by his or her physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner for the work, and
begins the work with the employer of injury. If the work thereafter comes to an end before the worker's recovery is suffi-
cient in the judgment of his or her physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner to permit him or her to re-
turn to his or her usual job, or to perform other available work offered by the employer of injury, the worker's temporary
total disability payments shall be resumed. Should the available work described, once undertaken by the worker, impede
his or her recovery to the extent that in the judgment of his or her physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practi-
tioner he or she should not continue to work, the worker's temporary total disability payments shall be resumed when the

worker ceases such work.

“(b) Once the worker returns to work under the terms of this subsection (4), he or she shall not be assigned by the em-
ployer to work other than the available work described without the worker's written consent, or without prior review and
approval by the worker's physician or licensed advanced registered nurse practitioner. :

“(c) If the worker returns to work under this subsection (4), any employee health and welfare benefits that the worker
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was receiving at the time of injury shall continue or be resumed at the level provided at the time of injury. Such benefits
shall not be continued or resumed if to do so is inconsistent with the terms of the benefit program, or with the terms of

the collective bargaining agreement currently in force.

“(d) In the event of any dispute as to the worker's ability to perform the available work offered by the employer, the de-
partment shall make the final determination.

“(5) No worker shall receive compensation for or during the day on which injury was received or the three days follow-
ing the same, unless his or her disability shall continue for a period of fourteen consecutive calendar days from date of
injury: PROVIDED, That attempts to return to work in the first fourteen days following the injury shall not serve to
break the continuity of the period of disability if the disability continues fourteen days after the injury occurs.

“(6) Should a worker suffer a temporary total disability and should his or her employer at the time of the injury continue
to pay him or her the wages which he or she was earning at the time of such injury, such injured worker shall not receive
any payment provided in subsection (1) of this section during the period his or her employer shall so pay such wages:
PROVIDED, That holiday pay, vacation pay, sick leave, or other similar benefits shall not be deemed to be payments by

the employer for the purposes of this subsection.
“(7) In no event shall the monthly payments provided in this section:

“(a) Exceed the applicable percentage of the average monthly wage in the state as computed under the provisions of
RCW 51.08.018 as follows:

“ AFTER PERCENTAGE
«“ June 30, 1993 105%
“ June 30, 1994 110%
¢ June 30, 1995 115%
“ June 30, 1996 120%

“(b) For dates of injury or disease manifestation after July 1, 2008, be less than fifteen percent of the average monthly
wage in the state as computed under RCW 51.08.018 plus an additional ten dollars per month if the worker is married
and an additional ten dollars per month for each child of the worker up to a maximum.of five children. However, if the
monthly payment computed under this subsection (7)(b) is greater than one hundred percent of the wages of the worker
as determined under RCW 51.08.178, the monthly payment due to the worker shall be equal to the greater of the monthly
wages of the worker or the minimum benefit set forth in this section on June 30, 2008.

“(8) If the supervisor of industrial insurance determines that the worker is voluntarily retired and is no longer attached to

the workforce, benefits shall not be paid under this section.”

Source:
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Laws 1911, ch. 74, § 5.

Laws 1913, ch. 148, § 1.
Laws 1917,¢ch. 28, § 1.
Laws 1919, ;h. 131, § 4.
Laws 1923, ch. 136, § 2.
Laws 1927, ch. 310, § 4.
Laws 1929, ch. 132, § 2.
Laws 1941, ch. 209, § 1.
Laws 1947, ch. 246, § 1.

Laws 1949, ch. 219, § 1.

RRS § 7679.

Laws 1951, ch. 115, § 3.

Laws 1955, ch. 74, § 8.

Laws 1957, ch. 70, § 33.

CROSS REFERENCES

Disability leave supplement for law enforcement officers and firefighters, see § 41.04.500 et seq.

Page 10

Inmates employed in correctional industries and honor camps, industrial insurance eligibility, see §§ 72.60.102,

72.64.065.

Jail inmates working in free venture industries, eligibility for benefits, see § 36.110.120.
Juvenile forest camp inmates, eligibility for industrial insurance benefits, see § 72.05.154.

Public assistance for child support, reimbursement of department of social and health services from payments

made under this section, see § 74.20A.260.

Public assistance recipients, subrogation of department of social and health services to industrial insurance com-
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pensation, see § 43.20B.720 et seq.
LAW REVIEW AND JOURNAL COMMENTARIES
Amendments of 1961. 36 Wash.L.Rev. 333 (1961).
LIBRARY REFERENCES

Workers' Compensation&~ 840.1 to 840.5, 880.1 to 880.19, 934.6.
Westlaw Topic No. 413.

RESEARCH REFERENCES

ALR Library

63 ALR 1241, Workmen's Compensation: Right to Compensation as Affected by Refusal to Accept, or Failure to Seek,
Other Employment, or by Entering Into Business for Oneself After Injury.

98 ALR 729, What Amounts to Total Incapacity Within Workmen's Compensation Acts.

122 ALR 550, Res Judicata as Regards Decisions or Awards Under Workmen's Compensation Acts.

95 ALR 254, Survival of Right to Compensation Under Workmen's Compensation Act Upon the Death of the Person En-
titled to the Award.

88 ALR 385, Workmen's Compensation: Right to Compensation for Temporary Total Disability in Addition to Compens-
ation for Permanent Partial Disability. )

82 ALR 889, Deduction for Lost Time in Computing Wages as Basis for Workmen's Compensation.

Treatises and Practice Aids

Modern Workers' Compensation § 202:3, Nondisabling Injuries.

Modern Workers' Compensation § 200:26, End of Disz'ibility.

Modern Workers' Compensation § 200:39, No-Fault Discharge or Layoff.
Modern Workers' Compensation § 200:41, Retirement.

Modemn Workers' Compensation § 200:45, Waiting Period.
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Modemn Workers' Compensation § 321:10, Temporary Total Disability and Benefits.
Modern Workers' Compensation § 321:11, Temporary Partial Disability and Benefits.
Modern Workers' Compensation § 321:17, Rehabilitation Benefits.

NOTES OF DECISIONS

Able to perform available work 4
Amount of compensation 8

Change of disability status 7
Construction and application 1
Construction with other laws 2
Decrease or elimination of payments 10
Loss of earning power benefits 9
Temporary total disability, generally 3
Three-day period 11

Time loss compensation 5

Voluntary retirement 6

1. Construction and application

Statute allowing an employer may stop paying time-loss benefits only after the employee “begins the work with the em-
ployer of injury” did not allow employer to cease paying time-loss benefits to injured workers' compensation claimant,
whom employer had terminated for cause due to accident which resulted in claimant's injuries and whom employer had
no intention of re-hiring; statute required claimant to begin the modified work before time-loss benefits could cease but
employer never rehired claimant, and employer had other remedies available to it to ensure that its payments reflected
claimant's ability to work, including attempting to force claimant to find modified work elsewhere by requesting voca-
tional rehabilitation services from the Department of Labor and Industries. Glacier Northwest, Inc. v. Walker (2009) 151
Wash.App. 389, 212 P.3d 587. Workers' Compensation €<= 2003

Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals (BIIA) did not go beyond parties' stipulation, on employee's appeal from order de-
termining his time loss compensation rate, when it ruled that employer had no obligation to pay employee his full wages
based on employer's initially marking “yes” on self-insurer accident report form (SIF-2) to question whether it would pay
full wages, though parties had stipulated that issue was jurisdictional, i.e., whether BIIA had jurisdiction to determine
merits of employee's claim for full wages, where parties also agreed that order on appeal was correct as to adjudication of
benefits, and parties stipulated that they rested their cases. Rushing v. ALCOA, Inc. (2005) 125 Wash.App. 837, 105
P.3d 996. Workers' Compensation €~ 1814

Monthly compensation rate for injured worker's benefits was tied to statute in effect at date of the injury, rather than to
amended statute removing statutory percentage-based caps for benefits; nothing in amended statute expressed legislative
intent that amended statute apply retrospectively, and worker's right to compensation vested at time of injury. Cena v.
Department of Labor and Industries (2004) 121 Wash.App. 915, 91 P.3d 903, review denied 153 Wash.2d 1015, 111 P.3d
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1190. Workers' Compensation €= 60

2. Construction with other laws

Under § 74.04.530 (recodified as § 43.20B.720), governing right of department of social and health services to be sub-
rogated to right of injured worker to recover time loss payments from department of labor and industries, where public
assistance has been furnished to one or more children to whom workman owes a duty of support, subrogation rights of
department of social and health services with respect to time loss payments allocated to children is calculated with re-
spect to children to whom public assistance has been furnished and to whom workman owes a duty of support, and is not
limited only to children in workman's custody. Medrano v. Department of Social and Health Services (1980) 93 Wash.2d
75, 605 P.2d 783. Public Assistance€=~> 131

Neither § 41.26.130(4) nor anything contained in the state Industrial Insurance Act preclude a plan I LEOFF member
who is on disability leave because of injuries sustained in the performance of some other employment from simultan-
eously receiving a disability leave allowance under § 41.26.120 and workers' compensation benefits in accordance with

Title 51. Op.Atty.Gen.1980, L.O. No. 32.

3. Temporary total disability, generally

“Temporary total disability” is a condition that temporarily incapacitates a worker from, performing any work at any
gainful employment. Energy Northwest v. Hartje (2009) 148 Wash.App. 454, 199 P.3d 1043. Workers' Compensation
€= 840.3; Workers' Compensation €= 880.15

Injured employee who began receiving temporary total disability (TTD), returned to a modified job with his employer,
and then was fired for disciplinary reasons, was not entitled to have his TTD payments resumed; TTD payments would
have resumed pursuant to statute if the modified work had “come to an end” before injured employee had sufficiently re-
covered to resume his previous work, but in this case, the modified work remained available but for his disciplinary
problems. O'Keefe v. State, Dept. of Labor & Industries (2005) 126 Wash.App. 760, 109 P.3d 484, review denied 156 .
Wash.2d 1003, 128 P.3d 1239. Workers' Compensation €~ 2003

“Temporary total disability” is a condition that temporarily incapacitates a worker from performing any work at any
gainful employment and differs from permanent total disability only in duration of disability, and not in its character.
Hubbard v. Department of Labor & Industries of State of Washington (2000) 140 Wash.2d 35, 992 P.2d 1002. Workers'
Compensation €= 840.3; Workers' Compensation €= 880.15

A claimant's right to temporary total disability benefits (TTD) terminates when the claimant's earning power, at any kind
of work, is restored to that existing at the time of the occurrence of the injury, when the claimant's claim is closed, or
when the claimant is able to earn a wage at any kind of reasonably continuous and generally available employment. Hub-
bard v. Department of Labor & Industries of State of Washington (2000) 140 Wash.2d 35, 992 P.2d 1002. Workers'

Compensation €= 880.5

Temporary total disability compensates for lost income until extent of disability is fixed; once condition is fixed, per-

© 2013 Thomson Reuters. No Claim to Orig. US Gov. Works.



West's RCWA 51.32.090 Page 14

manent partial disability compensates workers' compensation claimant for future lost eamning capacity measured by a per-
centage loss of bodily function. Davis v. Bendix Corp. (1996) 82 Wash.App. 267, 917 P.2d 586, review denied 130

Wash.2d 1004, 925 P.2d 989. Workers' Compensation €= 870.2

Only difference between permanent tota] disability and temporary total disability is duration. Herr v. Department of
Labor and Industries (1994) 74 Wash.App. 632, 875 P.2d 11. Workers' Compensation €~ 840.1

“Temporary total disability” is defined as condition temporarily incapacitating workers' compensation claimant from per-
- forming any work at any gainful occupation. Oien v. Department of Labor and Industries (1994) 74 Wash.App. 566, 874
P.2d 876, reconsideration denied, review denied 125 Wash.2d 1021, 890 P.2d 463. Workers' Compensation €= 880.15

Phrase “temporary total disability” means claimant is temporarily incapable of performing generally available work of
any kind on a reasonably continuous basis. Hunter v. Bethel School Dist. and Educational Service Dist. No. 121 Worker's
Compensation Trust (1993) 71 Wash.App. 501, 859 P.2d 652, review denied 123 Wash.2d 1031, 877 P.2d 695. Workers'

Compensation €= 880.10

“Temporary total disability” terminates as soon as claimant's condition has become fixed and stable or as soon as
claimant is able to perform any kind of work. Hunter v. Bethel School Dist. and Educational Service Dist. No. 121 Work-
er's Compensation Trust (1993) 71 Wash.App. 501, 859 P:2d 652, review denied 123 Wash.2d 1031, 877 P.2d 695.
Workers' Compensation €~ 870.4

Temporary total disability differs from permanent total disability only in duration of dlsablhty, and not in its character.
Bonko v. Department of Labor and Industries (1970) 2 Wash.App. 22, 466 P.2d 526.

Claim for time loss for temporary total disability is inconsistent with claim for permanent partial disability award, for
temporary total disability contemplates that eventually there will be either complete recovery or impaired bodily condi-
tion which is static, whereas permanent partial disability contemplates situation where condition has reached fixed state
from which full recovery is not expected. Franks v. Department of Labor & Industries (1950) 35 Wash.2d 763, 215 P.2d
416. Workers' Compensation €= 840.3; Workers' Compensation €= 850.8

Evidence supported denial of employer's motion for judgment as matter of law regarding finding that workers' compensa-
tion claimant was totally and temporarily disabled after work injury, and thus, entitled to time loss compensation, in spite
of evidence that claimant's inability to find light duty work was the result of a poor labor market; employer presented no
evidence that it was the job market that prevented claimant from obtaining gainful employment, and expert testimony re-
garding whether claimant could engage in light duty work following her injury was conflicting. Simpson Inv. Co. v.
Reams (2006) 132 Wash.App. 1040, 2006 WL 1075478, Unreported. Workers' Compensation €~ 1688

4. Able to perform available work

Temporary disability classification contemplates that workers' compensation claimant will reach an eventual complete re-
covery or a static impaired condition; thus, temporary disability terminates as soon as claimant's condition stabilizes or as
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soon as claimant can perform any sort of work. Davis v. Bendix Corp. (1996) 82 Wash.App. 267, 917 P.2d 586, review
denied 130 Wash.2d 1004, 925 P.2d 989. Workers' Compensation €=> 870.4

Statute permitting employer to request that worker entitled to temporary total disability be certified by physician as able
to perform available work other than his or her usual work, could be invoked by employer only if worker was first en-
titled to temporary total disability; employee did not thereby become disabled if section was invoked. Herr v. Department
of Labor and Industries (1994) 74 Wash.App. 632, 875 P.2d 11. Workers' Compensation €= 880.19

Ability to perform light or sedentary work of general nature precludes finding of total disability. Herr v. Department of
Labor and Industries (1994) 74 Wash.App. 632, 875 P.2d 11. Workers' Compensation €= 880.16

Evidence, including evaluation of treating physician, that claimant was capable of light clerical work was sufficient to es-
tablish that claimant's earning power had been restored and she was not “temporarily totally disabled” within meaning of
statute; moreover, finding that she was in need of further medical treatment did not preclude finding that her earning
power had been restored. Hunter v. Bethel School Dist. and Educational Service Dist. No. 121 Worker's Compensation
Trust (1993) 71 Wash.App. 501, 859 P.2d 652, review denied 123 Wash.2d 1031, 877 P.2d 695. Workers' Compensation

&= 1627.17(7)

5. Time loss compensation

" Under industrial insurance statute, workers' compensation claimant with a temporary total disability was entitled to time
loss compensation until her present earning power was restored to that existing at the time of the occurrence of the in-
jury, not until the industrial injury had been restored to pre-injury status. Chunyk & Conley/Quad-C v. Bray (2010) 156
Wash.App. 246, 232 P.3d 564, as amended , review denied 169 Wash.2d 1031, 241 P.3d 786. Workers' Compensation

€= 880.6

When an injured employee becomes able to work any job, temporary total disability benefits terminate and are replaced
by reduced time-loss compensation. Glacier Northwest, Inc. v. Walker (2009) 151 Wash.App. 389, 212 P.3d 587. Work-
ers' Compensation €= 880.10

Findings by Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals that workers' compensation claimant was permanently partially dis-
abled, and thus capable of obtaining gainful employment, prior to the reopening of her claim, was res judicata as to her
condition at that time, in subsequent proceedings to reopen her claim seeking time loss benefits for aggravation of her in-
jury. Energy Northwest v. Hartje (2009) 148 Wash.App. 454, 199 P.3d 1043. Workers' Compensation €= 2001

A worker not actively engaged in the work force due to retirement lacks the requisite adverse economic impact, i.e., lost
wages-or income, to warrant the award of time loss benefits. Energy Northwest v. Hartje (2009) 148 Wash.App. 454, 199

P.3d 1043. Workers' Compensation €= 880.24

The ultimate goal of time loss compensation is to provide temporary financial support until the injured worker is able to
return to work. Energy Northwest v. Hartje (2009) 148 Wash.App. 454, 199 P.3d 1043. Workers' Compensation €~
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“Time loss” is workers' compensation parlance for temporary total disability compensation, a wage replacement benefit.
Energy Northwest v. Hartje (2009) 148 Wash.App. 454, 199 P.3d 1043. Workers' Compensation €= 840.3; Workers'
Compensation €= 850.8

Only time injured worker is entitled to time loss compensation is during a period worker is classified as temporarily
totally disabled. Davis v. Bendix Corp. (1996) 82 Wash.App. 267, 917 P.2d 586, review denied 130 Wash.2d 1004, 925

P.2d 989. Workers' Compensation €=> 840.4; Workers' Compensation €= 850.9

Once workers' compensation claimant has been classified as permanently partially disabled, he or she is not entitled to
time loss compensation unless claimant needs further treatment and is thus returned to temporary totally disabled status.
Davis v. Bendix Corp. (1996) 82 Wash.App. 267, 917 P.2d 586, review denied 130 Wash.2d 1004, 925 P.2d 989. Work-
ers' Compensation €= 870.4

Evidence was sufficient to support finding that workers' compensation claimant was gainfully employed or capable of
gainful employment, and thus was not entltled to time loss benefits; claimant regularly engaged in services for taxi ser-
vice including dispatching, driving, and repairing cabs. Layrite Products Co. v. Degenstein (1994) 74 Wash.App. 881,
880.P.2d 535, review denied 125 Wash.2d 1011, 889 P.2d 499. Workers' Compensation €~ 1627.17(3)

Time loss compensation resulting from compensable injury is that temporary compensation which workman is entitled fo
receive under this statute while totally incapacitated to perform work for his employer, and before his disability has been
fixed or determined. Lightle v. Department of Labor and Industries (1966) 68 Wash.2d 507, 413 P.2d 814. Workers'

Compensation €= 840.3; Workers' Compensation €= 850.8

Where status of injured workman was determined as of specified date to be that of permanent partial disability and he
was awarded and accepted a lump sum payment pursuant to such determination, time-loss payments made to him while
his status was that of temporary partial disability were properly terminated as of such date; since act contemplates two
separate and distinct classifications, that is, temporary disability status, and permanent disability status, and payment of
compensation in connection with temporary disability status would not be authorized and would be inconsistent with any -
simultaneous classification within permanent disability status and payment and acceptance of permanent disability
award. Hunter v. Department of Labor & Industries (1953) 43 Wash.2d 696, 263 P.2d 586.

6. Voluntary retirement

Workers' compensation claimant voluntarily retired prior to the reopening of her claim based upon aggravation of her in-
dustrial injury, and thus claimant was not entitled to time loss compensation, since her injury did not cause her failure to
return to work force; claimant had been found prior to reopening to be capable of obtaining gainful employment, and
claimant made no showing that she had made a bona fide attempt to return to workforce. Energy Northwest v. Hartje
(2009) 148 Wash.App. 454, 199 P.3d 1043. Workers' Compensation €<= 1994
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Under workers' compensation statute, temporary disability benefits are not available to voluntarily retired worker. Wey-
erhaeuser Co. v. Farr (1993) 70 Wash.App. 759, 855 P.2d 711, reconsideration denied, review denied 123 Wash.2d 1017,

871 P.2d 600. Workers' Compensation €= 880.24

Fact that workers' compensation claimant's partial injury may have played indirect role in his decision to retire was irrel-
evant to legal question at issue, whether claimant's retirement constituted voluntary withdrawal from general work force,

such that he was not entitled to permanent total disability benefits. Weyerhaeuser Co. v. Farr (1993) 70 Wash.App. 759,
855 P.2d 711, reconsideration denied, review denied 123 Wash.2d 1017, 871 P.2d 600. Workers' Compensation €~ 880.24

Voluntarily retired worker, collecting retirement benefits, could not simultaneously qualify for time loss payments for in-
dustrial injury sustained prior to retirement. Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp. v. Overdorff (1990) 57 Wash.App. 291,

788 P.2d 8. Workers' Compensation €~ 880.24

7. Change of disability status

Once award is made to claimant and no appeal within time allowed is taken from order establishing extent of his disabil-
ity, such determination becomes res judicata as to his condition on that date; and if disability established on that date is
less than total, some aggravation must be shown to warrant subsequent determmatlon of total dlsablhty Dinnis v. De-
partment of Labor and Industries (1965) 67 Wash.2d 654, 409 P.2d 477.

Where claimant presented claim for compensation for permanent partial disability and was awarded and accepted pay-
ments for permanent partial disability, and on appeal to superior court jury found that claimant was temporarily totally
disabled and in need of further treatment, claimant could not be denied compensation for temporary total disability on
ground that such award was inconsistent with his claim and acceptance of award for permanent partial disability. Otter v.
Department of Labor and Industries (1941) 11 Wash.2d 51, 118 P.2d 413. Workers' Compensation €= 1844

8. Amount of compensation

Workers' compensation claimant's loss of earning power was to be measured by comparing earning capacity during ag-
gravation period with earning capacity at date of claim closure, rather than at time of original injury, for purposes of de-
termining entitlement to loss of eamning power benefits. Davis v. Bendix Corp. (1996) 82 Wash.App. 267, 917 P.2d 586,
review denied 130 Wash.2d 1004, 925 P.2d 989. Workers' Compensation €~ 880.7

Section 51.32.090 is not intended to preclude the simultaneous receipt of “wages” and industrial insurance benefits in all
cases; instead, it acts only to preclude the simultaneous receipt of wages and benefits to the extent that the combination
of the two would exceed the employee's normal income from his or her employment. Op.Atty.Gen.1981, L.O. No. 17.

Provision of a school district collective bargaining agreement, which obligates the district to pay an absent employee the
difference between any industrial insurance entitlement and the amount normally earned, the amount paid by the district
being deducted from the employee's accumulated sick leave, is permissible if the collective bargaining agreement gives
the employee the option of claiming and receiving accumulated sick leave benefits before claiming and receiving any in-
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dustrial insurance payments. Op.Atty.Gen.1981, L.O. No. 17.
Effect of deduction of compensation from wages paid during disability. Op.Atty.Gen. 1931-32, p. 103.
Increased payment for temporary total disability. Op.Atty.Gen. 1911-1912 p. 176.

9. Loss of earning power benefits

Injured worker upon reopening of industrial insurance claim based upon objective worsening of prior injury is not en-
titled to loss of earning power (LEP) benefits if worker continued to be employed at same earning level throughout ag-
gravanon period; worker must make threshold showing that he or she suffered temporary total loss of wages and/or de-
crease in earning power proximately resulting from injury's aggravation. Hubbard v. Department of Labor & Industries
of State of Washington (2000) 140 Wash.2d 35, 992 P.2d 1002. Workers' Compensation €= 2012

Upon termination of temporary total disability benefits, temporarily disabled claimant becomes eligible for reduced time
loss compensation or loss of earning power (LEP) benefits. Hubbard v. Department of Labor & Industries of State of

Washington (2000) 140 Wash.2d 35, 992 P.2d 1002. Workers' Compensation €= 860.1

Loss of earning power (LEP) benefits were intended to follow temporary total disability and to be continuous, but only
until earning power is fully restored or, alternatively, claim is closed. Hubbard v. Department of Labor & Industries of
State of Washington (2000) 140 Wash.2d 35, 992 P.2d 1002. Workers' Compensation €= 880.3

10. Decrease or elimination of payments

Letter from workers' compensation claimant's physician to employer stating that claimant should attempt light duty work
on trial basis constituted release of claimant to perform screw sorter's job, which was flexible position designed for recu-
perating workers, and thus, time-loss compensation of claimant, who did not accept offered position, was properly ter-
minated; if claimant had taken position and was unable to continue work, however, she would have been entitled to re-
sumption of compensation. Bayliner Marine Corp. v. Perrigoue (1985) 40 Wash.App. 110, 697 P.2d 277. Workers' Com-

pensation €=> 880.20(2)

Under subd.(3) of this statute directing reduction or elimination of time loss compensation when workman with tempor-
ary total disability has regained his earning ability, regained earning power of workman need not be at his former type of
employment, but may be at any kind of work Bonko v. Department of Labor and Industries (1970) 2 Wash.App. 22, 466

P.2d 526.

Under former law, providing that, in case of recovery and partial restoration of eaming power by injured workman, pay-
ments should continue in proportion which new earning power should bear to old, remittitur on appeal and judgment
. therein, under decision quoting statute and directing insurance department to make such order for compensation as would
reasonably cover difference in wage-earning power, meant no more than that award was to be in proportion which new
earning power should bear to old. Parker v. Industrial Ins. Dept. (1919) 108 Wash. 235, 183 P. 82.
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11. Three-day period

Significance of three-day period; authority of county to pay employees for first three days following injury while en-
gaced in county work. Op.Atty.Gen. 1954 53-55 No. 287.
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