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A. SUPPLEMENTAL ANSWER 
 

Under State v. Goss, this Court may reverse and remand 
with instructions to impose a sentence for child molestation 
in the second degree. 
 
Appellant Daren Morales reiterates his position that the sentence 

for child molestation in the first degree imposed against him cannot 

stand because it is not supported by a jury verdict. “The right of trial by 

jury shall remain inviolate....” Art. I, Sec. 21. “In all criminal 

prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public 

trial, by an impartial jury.” U.S. Const. VI. “The term ‘inviolate’ 

connotes deserving of the highest protection.” Davis v. Cox, 183 

Wn.2d 269, 288-89, 351 P.3d 862 (2015) quoting Sofie v. Fibreboard 

Corp., 112 Wn.2d 636, 656, 771 P.2d 711, 780 P.2d 260 (1989).  

 “[U]nder both the Sixth Amendment to the United States 

Constitution and article I, sections 21 and 22 of the Washington 

Constitution, the jury trial right requires that a sentence be authorized 

by the jury’s verdict.” State v. Williams-Walker, 167 Wn.2d 889, 896, 

225 P.3d 913 (2010). The trial court should not have relied on CrR 7.8 

to change the verdict. The sentence for child molestation in the first 

degree was illegal and must be vacated. 



 2 

This supplemental filing addresses the Court’s request that Mr. 

Morales answer whether in light of State v. Goss, No. 93374-8, slip op. 

at 5 (Wash. Aug. 18, 2016), there is insufficient evidence to convict 

him of child molestation in the second degree.  

Child molestation in the second degree is defined as sexual 

contact with another who is under 14 years old but more than 12 years 

old by someone who is at least three years older than that child. RCW 

9A.44.086. Previously, Mr. Morales argued that because complainant 

G.C. was just less than twelve years old even at the conclusion of the 

charging period, there was insufficient evidence to sustain a violation 

of RCW 9A.44.086. AOB at 25-26. 

State v. Goss undoubtedly impacts this analysis. Goss argued 

that the charging document [in his case] was fatally defective 
because it did not allege the victim was at least 12 years old as 
required… by the second degree child molestation statute, RCW 
9A.44.086; due process; the Sixth Amendment to the United 
States Constitution; and Alleyne v. United States, ––– U.S. –––, 
133 S.Ct. 2151, 2161, 186 L.Ed.2d 314 (2013). 

 

Goss at 2. 

Goss further argued “that the low end of the age range is an 

essential element of the crime that must be charged and proved and that 

the three degrees of child molestation are analytically separate crimes, 
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not greater or lesser degrees of each other.” Id. at 3. Taking a position 

analogous to what Mr. Morales has argued to date in his appeal, at oral 

argument, Goss contended that “a defendant charged with second 

degree child molestation would be necessarily acquitted if the victim 

testified at trial she was less than 12.” Id. at 3. However, the Supreme 

Court found that position “untenable both as a matter of statutory 

construction and constitutional law.” Id.  

Goss lost. The unanimous Supreme Court “agree[d] with the 

State that the lower limit of the age range is not an element of child 

molestation under either Washington law or the federal constitution.” 

Id. at 2. The Supreme Court explained that the “lower age limit (unlike 

the highest) is not a fact whose specification is necessary to establish 

the very illegality of the behavior charged.” Id. at 4 (emphasis added) 

(internal citations omitted). In this respect, the Supreme Court favored 

this Court’s reasoning: “That E.F. may have been younger than the 

lower age specified in the second degree child molestation statute does 

not mean that Goss did not commit sexual molestation.” State v. Goss, 

189 Wn. App. 571, 577–78, 358 P.3d 436 (2015), review granted in 

part, 185 Wn.2d 1001, 366 P.3d 1243 (2016), and aff'd, 92274-8, 2016 

WL 4401905 (Wash. Aug. 18, 2016). 
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Likewise, the Supreme Court found that “the lower age limit 

does not need to be treated as an element under the [Sixth Amendment] 

line of cases,” because it “is not a fact that will increase the penalty the 

defendant faces.” Id. at 5.  

Mr. Morales accepts that under the new authority of State v. 

Goss, this Court may reverse and remand with instructions to sentence 

him for child molestation in the second degree. However, he maintains 

that the error with respect to the expert witness requires reversal for a 

new trial. No matter how the Court resolves this appeal, the conviction 

and sentence for child molestation in the first degree must be vacated. 
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B.  CONCLUSION 

For the reasons stated herein and in prior briefing, Mr. Morales 

requests this Court reverse and remand for a new trial, reverse and 

dismiss his conviction, or grant any other remedy it sees fit, including 

the entry of a standard range sentence on child molestation in the 

second degree pursuant to State v. Goss. 

DATED this 8th day of September, 2016. 

  Respectfully submitted, 
 
  /s/ Mick Woynarowski 
  ________________________________________ 
  MICK WOYNAROWSKI (WSBA 32801) 
  mick@washapp.org 
  Washington Appellate Project – 91052 
  Attorneys for Appellant  
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