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THE SUPREME COURT OF WASHINGTON

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION OF THE

) ORDER
AMENDMENT TO IRLJ 6.2 )

)

)

NO. 257004 {0 3

The Judicial Information System Committee (JISC), having recommended the adoption
of the proposed amendment to IRLJ 6.2 and the raising of the assessment authorized by RCW
2.68.040(1)(a), and JISC, local governments, and the Office of Public Defense (OPD) having
recommended an inflation adjustment to the base penalty schedule, as authorized by RCW
46.63.110(3), with support from the Superior-Court Judges’ Association, District and Municipal
Court Judges’ Association, Association of Washington Cities, and the Washington State
Association of Counties, and the Court having determined that the proposed increases will aid in
the prompt and orderly administration of justice, and further determined that an emergency exists

which necessitates an early adoption;
Now, therefore, it is hereby

ORDERED:

(a)  That the assessment, as authorized by RCW 2.68.020(1)(a), is increased from $17
to $23;

(b)  That the infraction base penalty schedule is increased by $6 for inflation, as
authorized by RCW 46.63.110(3);

(¢)  That the amendment as attached hercto is adopted,;

(d)  That pursuant to the emergency provisions of GR 9(i), the amendment and
assessment increase will be published expeditiously and become effective July 1,
2015.

DATED at Olympia, Washington this of May, 2015.
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IRLJ 6.2

MONETARY PENALTY SCHEDULE FOR
INFRACTIONS

(a) Effect of Schedule. The penalty for any infraction listed in this rule may
not be changed by local court rule. The court may impose on a defendant a
lesser penalty in an individual case. Provided that, whenever the base penalty
plus statutory assessments results in a total payment that is not an even dollar
amount, the base penalty is. deemed to be amended to a higher amount which
produces the next greatest even dollar total.

(b) Unschedﬁled Infractions. The penalty for any infraction not listed in this

rule shall be $42 $48, not including statutory assessments. A court may, by local
court rule, provide for a different penalty.

(c) Infractions Not Covered. This schedule does not apply to penalties for
parking, standing, stopping, or pedestrian infractions established by municipal or
county statute. Penalties for those infractions are established by statute -or local
court rule, but shall be consistent with the philosophy of these rules.

(d) Penalty Schedule. The following infractions shall have the penalty listed,
not including statutory assessments.

Base
Penalty

(1) Traffic Infractions
Second Degree Negligent Driving (RCW_46.61,525) $250
Wrong way on freeway (RCW 46.61.150) $182 $188
Wrong way on freeway access (RCW 46.61.155) $87 $93
Backing o‘n limited access highway (RCW 46.61.605) $87 $93
Spilling or failure to secure load (RCW 46.61.655) $87 $93

Throwing or depositing debris on highway (RCW 46.61.645) -  $87 $93



Disobeying school patrol (RCW 46.61.385) $87 $93 -

Passing stopped school bus (with red lights flashing) $87 $93
(RCW 46.61.370)

Violation of posted road restriction (RCW 46.44.080; $182 $188
| RCW 46.44.105(4))

Switching license plates, loan of license or use of another's $87 $93
| (RCW 46.16A.240) |

| Altering or using altered license 'plates (RCW 46.16A.240200) $87 $93
Operator's Licenses (RCW 46.20)
7Nio VialridiDiriﬂ/eir's Liicein;e (With Ide;ntifircatircim)i 7 $250
All other RCW 46.20 infractions | $42 $48
| Vehicle Licenses ROW 46160
| Expired Vehicle License (RCW 46,16A.010030).
Two months or less $42 $48
Over 2 months o $87 $93

~ Speeding (RCW 46.61'.400) if speed limit is over 40 m.p.h.

1-5 m.p.h. oVer limit ’ | $27 $33
6-10 mp.h. over limit $37 $43
11-15 m.p.h. over limit | $52 $58
16-20 m.p.h. over limit $67 $73

21-25 m.p.h. over limit $82 $88



26-30 m.p.h. over limit $102 $108

31-35 mp.h. over limit $127 $133
3,6—40 m.p.h. over limit | $152 $158
Over 40 m.p.h. over limit $182 $188

Speeding if speed limit is 40 m.p.h. or less

1-5 m.p.h. over limit $37 $43
6-10 m.p.h. over limit , $42 $48
11-15 m.p.h. over limit $57 $63
16-20 m.p.h. over limﬁ $77 $83
2i~25 m.p.h. over limit $102 $108
26-30 m.p.h. over limit $127 $133
31-35 m.p.h. over limit | | $152 $158
Over 35 m.p.h. over limit $182 $188
Speed Too Fas’t for Conditions (RCW 46.61.400(1)) $42 $48

Rules of the Road

Failure to stop (RCW 46.61.050.) $42 $48
Failure to stop on approach of emergency vehicle (RCW  $500
46.61.210)

"Failure to yield the right of way $42 $48

(RCW 46.61.180, 185, .190, .205, .235, .300, .365)



Failure to yield the right of way on approach of
emergency vehicle (RCW 46.61.210)

Following too close (RCW 46.61,145, .635)

Failure to signal (RCW 46.61.310)

Improper lane usage or travel (RCW 46.61.140)

Impeding traffic (RCW 46.61.425)

Improper paésing (RCW 46.61.110, .115, .120, .125, .130)
Prohibited and improper turn (RCW 46.61.290, .295, .305)

Crossing double yellow line left of center line
(RCW 46.61.100, .130, .140)

Operating with obstructed vision (RCW 46.61.615)
Wrong way on one-way street (RCW 46.61.135)
Failure to comply with restrictive signs (RCW 46.61.050)
Accident
- If an accident occurs in conjunction with any of the listed
rules-of-the-road infractions or speed too fast for conditions,
the penalty for the infraction shall be:
Equipment (RCW 46.37)
lllegal use of emergency equipment (RCW 46.37.190)
Defective or modified exhaust systems, mufflers,
prevention of noise and smoke (RCW 46.37.390(1)
and (3)

First offense (the penalty may be waived upon proof to

$500

$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48

$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48

$67 $73

$47-$53



the court of compliance)

Second offense within 1 year of first offense

Third and subsequent offenses within 1 year of first
offense

Any other equipment infraction (RCW 46.37.010)
Motorcycles

Any infraction relating specifically to motorcycles
(including no valid endorsement, RCW 46.20.500)

Parking
lllegal parking on roadway (RCW 46.61.560)

Any other parking infraction (not defined by city or
county ordinance)

Pedestrians

Any infraction regarding pedestrians (not defined by city
or county ordinance)

Bicycles
Any infraction regarding bicycles
Load Violations

(all under RCW 46.44, except over license capacity)
(see RCW 46.16A)

Over legal--tires, wheelbase (RCW 46.44,105(1))

(First offense)

$67 $73
$87 $93

$42 $48

$42 $48

$30

$20

$72 $78



(Second offense)
(Third offense)

In-addition-to-the-above (RCW-46.44.105(2))
3--cents-per-excess-pound

(First -offense)

(Second offense)

(Third offense)
Violation of special permit
Failure to obtain special permit

Failure to submit to being weighed

llegal vehicle combination (RCW 46.44.036)

lllegally transporting mobile home

Any other infraction defined in RCW 46.44

Violation of Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
- (RCW 46.32.010)

Logbook/Medical Certificate

Equipment/All Others

Private Carrier (RCW 46.73)

Failure to display valid medical exam

Violation of daily log book

$102 $108

$117 $123

$57 $63
$102 $108
$117 $123
$67 $73
$67 $73-
$67 $73
$67 $73
$72 $78

- $52 $58

$42 $48

$69 $75



Driver not out of service

Driver out of service

Off-Road Vehicles (ATVs) (RCW 46. 09)
Any RCW -46.09 infraction

Snowmobiles (RCW 46.10)
Any RCW 46.10 infraction

E&Wtwmn@&&%@%%ﬁew@i&%rﬁmy
penalty(RCW-46.63.1.103)

Failure to provide proof of motor vehicle insurance
(RCW 46.30.020)

(2)  Commercial Vehicle Infractions_(WAC 480)

Defective Equipment/Driver Safety (auto transp.)-
(WAC-480-30-095)

Commercial Vehicle License (auto transp.)-(WAC-480-30-095(1))

Defective Equipment/Driver Safety (charter/excursion bus)
(WAC-480-40-075)

Commercial Vehicle License (charter/excursion bus)
CWAC-480-40-075(1)

Defective Equipment/Driver Safety (solid waste transp.)
(WAC-480-70-400)

Commercial Vehicle License (solid waste transp.)
WAC-480-70-400(1)

Failure To Have Proof of Insurance (RCW 81.80.190)

Defective Equipment/Driver Safety-(WAC-480-12-180)

$69 $75
$95 $101

$47 $53

$47 $53

$250

$42 $48

$42 $48
$42 $48

$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48

$250

$42 $48



Defective Equipment/Driver Safety (limousine) (MAC
480-35-090) |

Commercial Vehicle License (limousine)-(WAC-480-35-090(1))
(3)  Parks and Recreation Infractions

Display of Snowmobile Registration Number, Decals, and
Validation Tabs (WAC 308-94-070050)

Off-Road Vehicle Traffic Prohibited (WAC 332-52-030(4))
Travel Off-Road or Off-Trail (WAC 332-52-030(4)(c))
Spark-Arresting Muffler Required (WAC 332-52-030(4)(h))
Yield Right of Way to:

Log Hauling and Gravel Trucks (WAC 332-52-030()()

Animal-Drawn Vehicles/Persons Riding Animals

(WAC 332-52-030(hD)
Following - Closer Than 150 Feet (WAC 332-52-030(4)m)

Moving Through Livestock Herd Without Direction
(WAC 332-52-030(4)0))

Parking on the Traveled Portion of the Roadway
(WAC 332-52-030(4)q))

Excessively Rev Vehicle Engine (WAC 332-52-030(4)(r))

Driving/Parking Vehicles (WAC 332-52-050(1))

Bicycles/Motorbikes/Motorcycles on Posted Trails

$42 $48
$42 $48

$42 $48

$55 $61

$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48

$42 $48
$42 $48

$42 $48 .
$42 $48

$30

$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48



(WAC 332-52-050(3))

Driving Motor Vehicle in Camp (WAC 332-52-050(4))

Moorage and Use of Marine Facilities (WAC 352-12-010)

Moorage Fees (WAC 352-12-020)

Seasonal Permits (WAC 352-12-030)

Use of Onshore Campsites (WAC 352-12-040)
Self-Registration (WAC 352-12-050)

Parking (WAC 352-20-010)

Motor Vehicles on Roads and Trails (WAC 352-20-020)
Speed Limits (WAC 352-20-030)

Vehicles in Snow Areas (WAC 352-20-040)

Trucks and Commercial Vehicles (WAC 352-20-050)
Cambing (WAC 352-32-030)

Campsite Reservation (WAC 352-32-035)

Picnicking (WAC 352-32-040)

Park Periods (Unlawful Entry) (WAC 352-32-050)
Park Capacities (WAC 352-32-053)

Peace and Quiet (WAC 352-32-056)

Pets (WAC 352-32-060)

Horseback Riding (WAC 352-32-070)

$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 348

867 573

$24

$67 $73
$42 $48
$67 $73
$42 $48
$67 $73
$42 $48
$42 $48
$67 $73
$42 $48
$67 $73
$42 $48
$42 548



Use of Nonmotorized Cycles or Similar Devices in State Parks
(WAC 352-32-075) '

Swimming (WAC 352-3.24080)

Games (WAC 352-32-090)

Disrobing (WAC 352-32-100)

Tents, etc., on Beaches (WAC 352-32-110)

Lakes Located Who,lly' Within State Park Boundaries--Internal
Combustion Engines Prohibited (WAC 352-32-155)

Lakes located Partially Within State Park Boundaries--internal
Combustion Engines Prohibited (WAC 352-32-157)

Solicitation (WAC 352-32-195)
Intoxication in State Park Areas (WAC 352-32-220)

Food and Beverage Containers on Swimming Beaches (WAC
352-32-230)

Use of Metal Detectors in State Parks (WAC 352-32-235)

Self-Registration (WAC 352-32-255)

Sno-Park Permit (WAC 352-32-260)

Sno-Park Permit Display (WAC 352-32-265)

Vehicular Traffic--Where Permitted--Generally (WAC 352-37-030)
Equestrian Traffic (WAC 352-37-080)

Pedestrians To Be Granted Right of Way (WAC 352-37-090)

$42 $48

$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48

- $42 $48

$67 $73

$142 $148

$42 $48

$42$4§.
$67 $73
$42 $48
$42 $48
$67 $73
$42 $48
$42 $48



Overnight Parking or Camping Prohibited (WAC 352-37-110)
Speed Limits (WAC 352-37-130)

(4)  Boating Infractions

Operating Vessel in Negligent Manner (RCW 79A.60.030)

No Personal Flotation Device (PFD) on Vessel for Each Person

(RCW 79A.60.160(1))

Personal Flotation Device Not the Appropriate Size
(RCW 79A.60.160(1))

Personal Flotation Device Not Readily Accessible
(RCW 79A.60.160(1)) ‘

Observer Required on Board Vessel (RCW 79A.60.170(2)>
Observer To Confinuously Observe (RCW 79A.60.170(2))
Failure To Display Skier Down Flag (RCW 79A.60.170(2))
Flag/Pole Not to Specifications (RCW 79A.60.170(2))

Observer. Does Not Meet Minimum Qualifications (RCW
79A.60.170(3))

Water Skier Not Wearing Personal Flotation Device
(RCW 79A.60.170(4))

Overloading of Vessel Beyond Safe Carrying Ability
- (RCW 79A.60.180(1))

Carrying Passengers in Unsafe Manner (RCW 79A.60.180(1))

Overpowering of Vessel Beyond Vessel's Ability To Operate
Safely (RCW 79A.60.180(2))

$67 $73
$42 $48

$167 $173
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48

$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$67 $73

$67 $73
$117 $123

$67 $73
$117 $123



Person Not Wearing Personal Flotation Device (PFD) on
Personal Watercraft (RCW 79A.60.190(1))

Failure To Give Accident Information to Law Enforcement
(RCW 79A.60.200(1)

Motor Propelled Vessels Without Effective Muffler in Good
Working Order and Constant Use (RCW 79A.60.130(1))

Sound Level in Excess of 90 Decibels for Engines Made Before

1/1/94 Using Stationary Test (RCW 79A.60.130(1))

Sound Level in Excess of 88 Decibels for Engines Made on or

After 1/1/94 Using Stationary Test (RCW 79A.60.130(1))

Sound Level in Excess of 75 Decibels Using Shoreline Test
(RCW 79A.60.130(3))

Removing, Altering or Modifying Muffler or Muffler System
(RCW 79A.60.130(7))

Manufacturing, Selling, or Offering for Sale Any Vessel
Equipped With Noncomplying Muffler or Muffler System RCW
79A.60.130(8))

Vessel Exemption/Exception for Competing in Racing Events
Carried on Board Operating Vessel (RCW 79A.60.130(8))

Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs) (WAC 352-60-030)
Visual Distress Signals (WAC 352-60-040) |

Ventilation (WAC 352-60-050)

Navigation Lights and Sound Signals (WAC 352-60-060)
Steering and Sailing (WAC 352-60-070)

Fire Extinguishing Equipment (WAC 352-60-080)

$67 $73

$117 $123

$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48

$67 $73

$42 $48

$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
$42 $48
#42 348

$42 $48



Backfire Flame Control (WAC 352-60-090)
Liquefied Petroleum Gas (WAC 352-60-100)
~ Canadian Vessels (WAC 352-60-110)

(5)  Fish and Wildlife Infractions

- Fish for Personal Use - Barbed Hooks (RCW 77.15.160(1)(a))

Fail to Immediately Record Fish/Shellfish Catch (RCW
77.15.160(1)(b))

Fail to Return Catch Record Card (RCW 77.15.160(1)c))

Recreational Fishing - License not with Person (no fish/shellfish
possession) (RCW 77.15.160(1X(d){))

Recreatiorqal Fishing - Rule Violation (no fish/shellfish
possession) (RCW 77.15,160(1)(d)(ii))

Seaweed - License not with Person (<2x daily limit) (RCW
77.15.160(1)(e))) '

Seaweed - Rule violation (<2x daily limit) (RCW 77.15.160(1)(e)
(ii))

Unclassified Fish/Shellfish (not game fish, food fish, shellfish,
Or endangered/protected fish) (RCW 77.15.160(1)(f)

Wasting Fish/Shellfish (<$250) (RCW 77.15.160(1)(g))

Harm Bird Eggs/Nests (not endangered/protected wild birds)
(RCW 77.15.160(2)(a))

Unclassified Wildlife (not big game, game animals, game birds,

or endangered/protected wildlife) (RCW 77.15.160(2)(b))

$42 $48

$42 $48

$42 $48

$48

$48

$39

$73

$73

$48

$48

$73

$48

$97

$73



Wasting Wildlife (not big game) - (<$250) (RCW 77.15.160(2)(c)) $73

Hunting Wild Animals (not big game) License not with Person
(no wild animal possession) (RCW 77.15.160(2)(d) $73

Hunting Wild Birds - License not with Person (no wild bird
" Possession) (RCW 77.15.160(2)(e)()) $73

Hunting Wild Birds - Rule Violation (no. wild bird possession)
(RCW 77.15.160(2)(e)ii) $73

Taxidermist/Fur Dealer/Wildlife Meat Cutter -~ Fail to Mamtam
Records (RCW 77.15.160(3)(@)(i)) $122

Taxidermist/Fur Dealer/Wildlife Meat Cutter - Fail to Report
Information (RCW 77.15.160(3)a)ii)) $73

Trapper ~ Fail to Report Trapping Activity (RCW 77.15.160(3)(b))  $73

Contest Violation (RCW 77.15.160(4)a)) : $146
Violate Other Infraction Rules (RCW 77.15.160(4)(b)) $73
Posting Signs -(RCW 77.15.160(4)(c)) ‘ - %122

Scientific Permit Violation (not big game/big game parts) -
Violate Permit Terms or Conditions (RCW 77.15.160(4)d)(i)) $122

Scientific Permit Violation ‘(not big game/big game parts) -
Violate Rule re: Permit Issuance or Use (RCW 77.15.160(4(d)Gi)) ~$122

Transporting Aquatic Plants (RCW 77.15.160(4)(e)) $73

Violate Distance/Feeding Prohibitions for Southern Resident
Orca Whales (RCW 77.15.740) , $500

Negligently Feed/Attempt to Feed Large wild Carnivores (RCW
77.15.790) $7_3



[Adopted effective September 1, 1992; amended effective June 25, 1993; May 1,

1994; August 15, 1995; June 5, 1996; December 28, 1999; July 22, 2001; April
30, 2007; December 10, 2013.]



In the Matter of the Adoption of
The Amendment to IRLJ 6.2
(Gordon McCloud, J., Dissenting)

No. 25700-4- 1105

GORDON McCLOUD, J. (dissentingy—We have been asked to
choose between funding a desperately needed district court computer system
by increasing fees charged to the users of those courts who are least able to
pay, and not funding that system at all. We understand the majority’s valid
reasons for choosing to fund that critical computer project. But the project’s
significant benefits are outweighed by the substantial harm that its funding
source would cause. We cannot agree to fund that new computer system by
increasing court fees for those least able to pay. We therefore respectfully
dissent.

This district court computer system is critically necessary. Our
district courts are the hardworking courts at the base of our justice system in
Washington. They are the courts that have the heaviest dockets and that
handle some of the most pressing legal needs faced by Washington residents
every day: domestic violence protection orders, assaults, DUI’s, and other
criminal charges. The district courts keep our society safe and functioning,
They provide a main avenue for Washington residents to access justice by

handling numerous cases involving critical issues and many litigants who



In the Matter of the Adoption of
The Amendment to IRLJ 6.2
(Gordon McCloud, J., Dissenting)

cannot afford lawyers. And those courts are starved for funds. The fact that
our district courts function so well and handle such huge caseloads despite
severe financial restrictions is a testament to our hardworking judges and
their very limited suppoft staff. Of note to the court’s order issued today, the
district courts have to rely on a severely outdated computer system that is
basically obsolete. A new computer system that can properly track district
court cases statewide, and that can provide access to a party’s record in other
cases including other prior convictions, protection orders, or prohibitions, is
not a luxury - it is a necessity for public safety.

But the governing statute says that to fund this project, we have to
increase the fees charged to those who commit infractions - or suffer without
funding for the project at all. The majority has therefore entered an order
that increases the Judicial Information System assessment on traffic
infractions from $17.00 to $23.00 and also increases the corresponding base
penalty on such traffic infractions by $6.00, making the total increase per
infraction $12.00 - an amount that was adopted as necessary to keep pace

with inflation.



In the Matter of the Adoption of
The Amendment to IRLJ 6.2
(Gordon McCloud, J., Dissenting)

The sad reality is that courts across the country are pressured to obtain
funds by imposing and increasing fees that disproportionately burden the
people who are least able to pay. Funding our district courts is absolutely
necessary but obtaining funds by increasing fees does more harm than good.
It creates—or perpetuates—all of the following problems.

First, this increase to the base fee cannot be waived by the judge. The
law says that it is mandatory and cannot be changed, even if the person can’t
pay. That’s not fair.

In fact, our court condemned exactly that sort of unfairness just a few
months ago in State v. Blazina, _ Wn.2d __, 344 P.3d 680, 681 (2015). In
that case, we said that “a trial court has a statutory obligation to make an
individualized inquiry into a defendant’s current and future ability to pay
before the court imposes LFOs [legal financial obligations].” Id. While
Blazina dealt with a different type of fee than Infraction Rules for Courts of
Limited Jurisdiction (IRLJ) 6.2, the subject of the majority’s order here,
does, the same principle should apply. Unfortunately, the majority abandons

that principle by increasing traffic infraction fees regardless of ability to pay
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and our IRLJs do not require that a determination be made regarding a
driver’s ability to pay such fees.!

Second, this type of fee system adversely affects poor populations
specifically. As we recognized in Blazina, “indigent offenders owe higher
LFO sums than their wealthier counterparts because they cannot afford to
pay, which allows interest to accumulate and to increase the total amount
that they owe.”>? We rightly cendemned that result in Blazina. We
recognize that we are dealing with a different type of fee today. But the
effect is the same. The data shows that the majority of fees generated from
infractions comes not from the base infraction fee or even from the several
additional, mandatory fees that the governing statutes tack on. Instead, the
majority of those fees comes from penalties imposed when a payment is

missed, for whatever reason. In other words, the people who are least able

I Courts may waive or reduce penalties for drivers who request a mitigation
hearing, but a hearing is not required. IRLJ 2.4, 3.4,

2 Blazina, 344 P.3d at 684 (citing KATHERINE A. BECKETT, ALEXES
M. HARRIS & HEATHER EVANS, WASH. STATE MINORITY & JUSTICE
COMMN, THE ASSESSMENT AND CONSEQUENCES OF LEGAL
FINANCIAL OBLIGATIONS IN WASHINGTON STATE (2008) 21-22
(WASH. STATE MINORITY & JUSTICE COMMN), available at
http://www.courts.wa.gov/committee/pdf/2008LFO_report.pdf).
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to pay up front, all at once, afe the ones who end up paying the most. That
was not fair in Blazina, and it’s still not fair here.

Third, the law governing this fee increase states that its purpose must
be to compensate for the effects of inflation. But infraction payments are
not necessarily down because of inflation. Instead, the data shows that they
are down at least in part because the number of “committed” infractions are
down. Why is the number of "committed" infractions down? We suspect
that it is due in part to innovative court programs designed to assist low-
income people with retaining their licenses. The majority’s Order will make
up the revenue shortfall caused by these programs - programs that all the
Justices support - by burdening the remaining, smaller, group of people
receiving infractions with the revenue shortfall that these positive progra;ms
cause, That’s helping one group of court users at the expense of another.
That’s not fair, either,

Fourth, increasing fees to pay for court services is inefficient at best.
As we noted in Blazina, if we are imposing fees to help fund the court
system, “doubtful recoupment of money by the government” is a big

problem. The reason was obvious to us in Blazina: “the state cannot collect
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money from defendants who cannot pay.” Id at 684. That’s not sound
fiscal policy.

Finally and critically, recent studies.in Washington show that the
burden of both traffic stops and infraction payments has a racially
disproportionate impact. In Blazina, we recognized that “[s]ignificant
disparities also exist in the administration of LFOs in Washington.”
Blazina; 344 P.3d at 684. That was not fair in Blazina, and it’s still not fair
here.

All this hints at the bigger issue: whether we should be funding our
courts, which are designed to serve all the people, through user fees that
disproportionately burden those who can least afford it. The clearest and
most recent explanation of why this is such a bad policy appears in the
Department of Justice’s recent report exploring the relationship between
legal fees and court revenue in Ferguson, Missouri. That report explains that
when court fees are based on revenue needs, rather than on legitimate
penological goals, unfairness results. The majority, however, states no
penological justification for the increase in any of the infraction schedule,

only a revenue need. As the DOJ report says, that’s not fair, either.
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The majority has made a policy decision to fund a desperately needed
district court program with court user fees that burden those who are least
able to pay. The majority’s position is consistent with past practice and the
national standard. But that system is broken. We totally agree that our
district courts deserve the revenue for this program. We dissent, however,
from the decision to achieve this goal by increasing mandatory,
nonwaivable, infraction fees, that disproportionately burden the court users

who are least able to pay. The end does not justify the means.
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YU, J. (dissenting)—I concur in the dissent but write separately as co-chair of
the Supreme Court’s Minority and Justice Commission to express my
disappointment with the Court’s decision to continue funding our trial courts through
fines and fees. The Commission has carefully examined and documented the
practices and policies that contribute to bias within our court and to the growing lack
of confidence in our system of justice. One of those identified policies that has
contributed to the erosion of confidence has been placing the burden on municipal
and district courts to generate revenue to sustain court operations. The idea of “cash
register” justice or requiring judges to impose fines in order to fund the court’s
infrastructure is anathema to the idea of a free and independent judiciary that is
accessible to all. The increase in the infraction rate may seem insignificant to some
on this Court, but to the working class or poor, it is not trivial or inconsequential.

I respectfully disagree with the policy choice of this Court to continue funding

our courts in this manner and dissent from the decision to do so.
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