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rape victims
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Dear Washington Supreme Court:

Six of you — Barbara Madsen, Mary Fairhurst, Debra Stephens, Charles Wiggins,
Sheryl Gordon McCloud, and Justice Pro-Tem Teresa Kulik — opined last month
about whose responsibility it was to prove consent in rape cases.

You said that requiring a rape defendant to prove the victim consented was a
violation of the defendant’s due process. So, with the stroke of your pens, you sent
our state’s rape laws back more than 25 years when the victim was the focus of the
rape trial and not the defendant. Shame on you.

The U.S. Justice Department reports that sexual assault is the least reported, least
indicted and least convicted crime in the United States. Non-consensual sexual
assault has reached such epidemic proportions on college campuses that the
president and U.S. Centers for Disease Control have stepped in with a task force to
examine and prevent these crimes.

One in five young women will endure sexual assault as part of her campus
experience, and fewer than 5 percent will report this crime. On campuses, two-
thirds of sexual assault victims know their assailants — a fact that makes the
victim’s work of proving non-consent that much more difficult.

Your decision virtually wiped out the Washington law that mandated some
protection for the victim in sexual assault cases. The Legislature changed the law
in 1975 to focus on the defendant’s motives and not the non-consent of the victim.
Then in the 1980s and 2000s, the State Supreme Court reaffirmed that the
defendant has to prove consent by the victim through a “preponderance of
evidence.”

Now, as a result of your decision, the victim has to prove consent did not exist.



Forcing the victim to prove non-consent assumes the court can demonstrate what
consent looks like. How does one express approval? Will consent be considered
granted when the half-awake victim opens her eyes? When she passes out? When
she doesn't fight back? When she stops screaming?

Your decision has made it the victim’s job in to prove she did not give consent to
be assaulted — focusing on the victim’s actions rather than the actions of the
attacker.

Even a fifth-grader understands the U.S. fundamental right that a defendant is
innocent until proven guilty. But this same fifth-grader also knows that victims of
other violent crimes like murder or other assaults do not have to prove they
consented to the crime.

Justice Stephens suggested that her decision was somewhat based on her concern
about wrongful convictions of defendants. She needn’t be concerned. Statistics
suggest that the myth of false reporting occurs in about 2 to 3 percent of cases —
ostensibly matching the levels of false reporting of other crimes. Now, thanks to
her decision, sexual assault cases will focus more on the victim and not the
defendant. This will likely result in less reporting, thus fewer convictions.

Forced sex is an abhorrent, criminal act. And that victim frozen in fear should have
the full protection of the state. Your decision would likely take a different turn if
you had sat and held the hand of a young person who has just been attacked by
someone she thought was her friend.

Those of us who have endured this experience with a young college-aged person
appreciate the three dissenting opinions of your colleagues — Justices Susan
Owens, Charles Johnson and Steven Gonzalez — who wrote: “The majority (six
justices) overlooks the harm that its holding will cause the victims of rape, who
will now face a trial centered around their conduct.”

Had you held that young person’s hand, you might understand why asking her if
she had chosen the right words or physical gestures to prove “non-consent” is
simply adding another assault to the one she just experienced. The shame should
not be on her.
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