LCRLJ 5. SERVICE AND FILING OF PLEADINGS AND OTHER PAPERS (d) Filing. (5) Motions. No motion for any order shall be heard unless the papers pertaining to it have been properly filed with the Clerk. (6) Documents not to be filed: (i) Interrogatories and depositions without written permission of Court, unless necessary for the disposition of a motion or objection; (ii) Unanswered requests for admissions unless necessary for the disposition of a motion or objection; (iii) Photocopies of reported cases, statutes, or texts, whether appended to a brief or other pleading, shall not be filed but may be furnished directly to the Judge hearing the matter; (iv) Documents or copies thereof which should be received and/or admitted as an exhibit rather than included in the court file. (v) Requests for discovery and/or answers unless necessary for the disposition of a motion or objection. (7) Offers of Settlement. An offer of settlement made pursuant to Chapter 4.84 of the Revised Code of Washington shall not be filed or communicated to the trier of fact in violation of Section 4.84.280 of the Revised Code of Washington prior to the completion of trial. A violation of this order shall result in the denial of attorney's fees. (See LCRLJ 68) (j) Service by Facsimile; see GR 17. Service by facsimile shall be allowed only under the following conditions: (1) The party or attorney of record to whom service is delivered has a publicly available fax number or has given written consent to receive fax service to the sending party or attorney; (2) The attorney or party sending the document via fax shall retain the original signed document until 60 days after completion of the case. Documents to be transmitted by fax shall bear the notation: "SENT on (DATE) VIA FAX FOR FILING IN COURT. (3) Documents transmitted by fax shall be letter size (8-1/2 by 11 inches). Documents over 10 pages in length may not be served by fax without prior approval of the receiving party. (4) Any document transmitted by fax must be accompanied by a fax transmittal sheet in a form that includes the case number (if any), case caption, number of pages, the sender's name, and the senders voice and facsimile telephone numbers. Transmittal sheets are not considered legal filings. (5) A document transmitted directly to the receiving party shall be deemed received at the time the receiving party's fax machine electronically registers the transmission of the first page, regardless of when final printing of the document occurs, except that a document received after the close of normal business hours shall be considered received the next judicial day. If a document is not completely transmitted, it will not be considered received. A document transmitted to another for filing with the clerk of the court will be deemed filed when presented to the clerk in the same manner as an original document. (k) Fees for Facsimile Filing. The standard fee for faxing to or from the clerk shall be $3.00 for the first page and $l.00 for each page thereafter (l) Service by Email. See GR 30.2 (d)
Click here to view in a PDF.
|Courts | Organizations | News | Opinions | Rules | Forms | Directory | Library|
|Back to Top | Privacy and Disclaimer Notices|