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LOCAL RULES 

 

 

AMCLR 1.7 

Adoption of Local Rules 

These rules are adopted pursuant to GR7, CrRLJ 1.7 and IRLJ 1.3 of the Washington Court Rules.  These 

rules govern the procedure in Aberdeen Municipal Court and are supplemental to the rules enacted by 

the Washington State Supreme Court for the Courts of Limited Jurisdiction.  The court may modify or 

suspend any of these local Court rules in any given case upon good cause being shown or upon the 

Court’s own motion in the interest of justice and/or the efficient operation of the Court.  [Adopted 

September 2, 2014] 

AMCLR 1.8 

Title of Rules 

These rules shall be known as the Aberdeen Municipal Court Local Rules and shall be cited as AMCLR, 

and the Aberdeen Municipal Court Local Infraction Rules and shall be cited as AMCLIR.  [Adopted 

September 2, 2014] 

AMCLR 3.2 

Release of Accused 

(a) Bail Schedule.  Pursuant to CrRLJ 3.2 (b) (7), the court shall periodically publish a bail schedule, 

which will include any bail schedule and penalty schedule promulgated by the Supreme Court of 

the State of Washington.  The bail schedule shall be intended as a guideline and shall not be 

construed as limiting the authority of the court in individual cases to set bail in a different 

amount. [Adopted September 2, 2014] 

(b)  New Domestic Violence Offenses.  Defendants arrested on domestic violence offenses shall be 

detained without bail until appearance on the next judicial day. [Adopted September 2, 2014] 

AMCLR 3.4 

Presence of the Defendant 

Defendants must attend every scheduled court proceeding.  The only exception to this rule is if an 

attorney, in compliance with CrRLJ 4.1(g), has entered an appearance or a plea of not guilty on behalf of 

a defendant not charged with a domestic violence crime or a violation of RCW 46.61.502 (Driving under 

the influence), RCW 46.61.503 (Driving under twenty-one consuming alcohol), or RCW 46.61.504 

(Physical control of vehicle under the influence), and then the defendant’s presence at arraignment is 



not required.  If a defendant fails to appear as required, a warrant shall issue for the defendant’s arrest.  

Any scheduled hearing or trial date shall be stricken, and costs may be imposed.  [Adopted September 2, 

2014] 

AMCLR 3.5 

Confession Procedure 

All demands for CrRLJ 3.5 hearings shall be in writing and filed not less than 14 days prior to the pretrial 

hearing.  Copies of the demand must be served contemporaneously on the prosecuting attorney.  All 

CrRLJ 3.5 hearings shall be scheduled by the Court.  [Adopted September 2, 2014]      

AMCLR 4.1 

Arraignment 

Defendants charged with Driving under the influence (RCW 46.61.502), Driving under twenty-one 

consuming alcohol (RCW 46.61.503), and Physical control of vehicle under the influence (RCW 46.61. 

504) shall be arraigned on the next judicial day after arrest. [Adopted September 2, 2014] 

AMCLR 6.13 

Evidence 

(a)  BAC Verifier/Maintenance Operator Demand.  Any demand for the appearance of a BAC 

verifier/maintenance operator shall be by separate document and shall be filed with the Court  

and served contemporaneously on the prosecuting attorney not less than 14 days prior to the 

pretrial hearing.  [Adopted September 2, 2014] 

(b) Return of Exhibits.  Every exhibit in a criminal case which is not contraband will be returned to 

the party or attorney who produced the exhibit for identification upon written application, 

following termination of the time for appeal.  Exhibits not requested to be returned during the 

appeal period by the producing party or attorney may be delivered by the Court Administrator 

to the local police authority for disposition as abandoned property.  No exhibit shall be released 

or delivered without it first being receipted for by the receiving party.  [Adopted September 2, 

2014] 

AMCLR 8.1 

Pretrial Motions 

All pretrial motions, including motions to dismiss, motions to suppress and motions in limine, shall be in 

writing and filed with the court and served on the opposing party not less than 14 days prior to the 

pretrial hearing.  All motions shall state the grounds for the motion and shall be supported by a brief and 

memorandum of authorities.  All responses and opposing memorandums shall be filed not less than 5 

days prior to the pretrial hearing.  All pretrial motions shall be heard at the pretrial hearing unless 

otherwise scheduled by the Court.  [Adopted September 2, 2014] 



INFRACTION RULES 

AMCLIR 2.4 

Response to Notice – Time Payments 

Any person who has been served with a notice of infraction and desires to pay the infraction pursuant to 

IRLJ 2.4(b)(1) may arrange for time payments on the monetary penalty by signing the court-approved 

time payment agreement.  An administrative fee for the establishing, monitoring and processing of the 

time pay agreement shall be added as costs.  [Adopted September 2, 2014] 

AMCLIR 2.6 

Schedule of Hearings -- Continuances 

A court clerk may grant one telephone request for a continuance.  For a mitigation hearing, the 

continuance must be requested by 5:00 p.m. the day before the scheduled hearing.  For a contested 

hearing, the continuance must be requested not less than three weeks before the scheduled hearing.  

Thereafter, all requests must be in writing and approved by the court.  [Adopted September 2, 2014]   

AMCLIR 6.6 

Speed Measuring Device – Expert Witness Fee 

Each party is responsible for costs incurred by that party as set forth in RCW 46.63.151.  The party 

requesting a witness shall pay the witness fees and mileage expenses due that witness.  Any person who 

requests production of an electronic speed measuring device expert, and who is thereafter found by the 

court to have committed the infraction, shall be required to pay the fee charged by the expert as a cost 

incurred by the party.  [Adopted September 2, 2014]  


