BMC LCrRU 3.2.2

RELEASE OF THE ACCUSED

(1) Any person arrested on Probable Cause (without a warrant) for an offense classified as a
Domestic Violence offense under Chapter 10.99 of the Revised Code of Washington as
the same exists or shall hereafter be amended shall be held in jail pending the
defendant’s first appearance in the absence of a judicial order.

(Effective September 1, 2020)



BMC LCrRU 3.4 (d) (2)

AGREEMENT

(2) Agreement. Other trial court proceedings including the entry of a Statement of Defendant
on Plea of Guilty as provided for by CrRU 4.2 may be conducted by video conference only by
agreement of the parties, either in writing or on the record, and upon the approval of the trial
court judge.

(Effective September 1, 2005)



BMC LCrRU 4

JURY COST

Jury costs in the amount of $125.00 may be imposed in addition to any other courts costs on all
cases that have a jury confirmed and result in a conviction or plea of guilty. These costs shall be

waived if the court is notified in sufficient time to cancel the services of the jury prior to the City
incurring any costs.

(Effective September 1, 2013)



BMCLCrRL 5

JURY TRIAL CONFIRMATION

The defendant (if pro se) or the defendant’s attorney shall contact the Court Clerk’s office no
later than 12:00 noon 3 business days prior to any scheduled jury trial and confirm the case will
proceed to trial. Failure to confirm any jury trial by the deadline may result in no jury being
present for the scheduled trial, and the trial will be continued, in the administration of justice.

The City may also confirm the trial, no later than 12:00 noon 3 business days prior to the trial
day.

(Effective September 1, 2016)



BMCLCrRU 6

RELEASE OF ACCUSED — BONDING REQUIREMENTS

(a) Surety under CrRU 3.2 or for any other purpose may be posted by any company and any
agent authorized, licensed and/or justified to post bonds by the Washington State
Department of Licensing under RCW 18.185 and by the Superior Court of Kitsap County.

(b) When a Surety seeks remittance of a forfeited bond under RCW 10.19.140, costs of
$150 shall be deducted from the amount returned, unless law enforcement files an
itemization showing a higher cost of transporting, locating, apprehending or processing
the return of the defendant.

(Effective September 1, 2016)



BMC LARU 10

ANTI-HARASSMENT PROTECTION ORDER PROCEDURE

Pursuant to RCW 10.14.150, as amended by HB 1296 (2005}, the Bremerton Municipal Court
may hear and adjudicate petitions for anti-harassment protection orders filed under Chapter
10.14 RCW.

(Effective September 1, 2005)



BMCLIRU 3
DEFECTIVE EQUIPMENT CORRECTION FORM

If a defective equipment correction form is given to a defendant by a Bremerton Police Officer
and

e The defective item has been repaired or corrected; and

¢ The form is completed and signed by a mechanic, service station operator or a
commissioned police officer, who either did the work or verified the work has been
completed; and

e The signed form and the notice of infraction is submitted to the Bremerton Municipal
Court within 15 calendar days of the infraction being issued;

The infraction shall be dismissed by the court clerk with no penalty involved.

In the event that the form is not properly filled out or not filed timely, the clerk has no authority
to dismiss the citation and it will be processed as a failure to appear or respond.

(Effective September 1, 2016)



BMC LIRU 3.5

DECISIONS ON WRITTEN STATEMENT

(a) Request for Decision on Written Statement. If the defendant submits a timely request
for a hearing to mitigate an infraction, the defendant may elect to seek a decision on
written statement pursuant to the provisions of IRU 3.5. A defendant who elects to
mitigate an infraction by decision on written statement shall be deemed to have waived
an in-court hearing to mitigate the infraction in person.

(b) Time for Submitting Request for Decision on Written Statement. The request for a
decision by written statement shall be submitted no later than fourteen (14) days prior
to the date set for the in-court mitigation hearing.

(c) Declaration for Written Statement Required. A defendant wishing to proceed by
decision on written statements shall provide a written statement which sets forth the
facts and/or defense(s) that the defendant would like the court to consider. A written
statement submitted pursuant to this rule shall be submitted by declaration as follows:
“I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the
foregoing is true and correct,” and shall be in substantially the following form:

Name of Defendant

Address

Infraction Number (upper right corner of the citation)
Violation Date

| wish to mitigate the infraction
| wish to defer the infraction

e p—
[ S —)

Statement

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that
the above information is true and correct.



Executed this ~___dayof
at (city/state).

Signature

The written statement shall be submitted at the same time as the request for decision on
written statement.

(d) Time for Examination, Factual Determination, Disposition and Notice to Parties. The
time for examination, factual determination, disposition and notice to parties shall be
pursuant to IRL 3.5(a).

(e) Court May Require In-Person Appearance. In its discretion, the court may deny a
defendant’s request to proceed to Decision on Written Statement and may require the

defendant to appear for an in-person hearing before the court.

(f) No Appeal Permitted. There shall be no appeal from a Decision on Written Statement.

(Effective September 1, 2019)



BMC LIRLI 6.6 (a) (1)

SPEED MEASURING DEVICE EXPERT

(a) (1) All subpoenaed appearances for an electronic or laser speed measuring device (SMD)
expert will be conducted telephonically.

(Effective September 1, 2005)



