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Information on Court Orders

If you have a court order, it is important to remember:

1.  Keep a certified copy of your order with you at all times.

2.  The order is enforceable throughout the state of Washington, and if issued by Washington State Superior Court, the order is enforceable throughout the United States and in U.S. territories.
3.  If there is a violation of your court order, call 9-1-1 or your local police.  Tell them you have a court order and it is being violated.

Whether or not you have a court order, if you are being harassed, threatened, or assaulted, call 9-1-1 or your local police!!

	
	
	

	Who May Obtain?


	A person who has reported to the police an incident involving harassment as defined in RCW 9A.46.060.  (Criminal charges must be pending or filed.  May be a condition of sentencing.)
	

	What Can an Order Do?
	Refrain from contacting, intimidating or threatening the victim and others listed in the order; order the abuser to stay away from specific locations.

Protects the victim in an active case while waiting for trial and sentencing.  The order can also be a condition of sentence.


	

	How is an Order Obtained?


	A crime must first be reported to the police.  If the abuser has been arrested or issued a citation, the victim may ask the prosecutor to request a no-contact order.  The order may be obtained in district, municipal or superior court.


	

	What is the Cost?
	No cost.
	

	How is an Order Modified or Terminated?
	The no-contact order terminates upon the expiration date listed in the order.  The order may be modified or terminated by the court before the expiration date.  The victim may contact the prosecuting attorney to ask the attorney to file the motion for modification or termination of the order.  The defendant or his or her attorney may file the motion.

	

	What Happens if the Order is Knowingly Violated?
	Mandatory arrest.


	

	Community Resources:
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Legal Protection from Domestic Violence, Harassment, or Abuse
	
	Domestic Violence Order for Protection

RCW 26.50
	
	
	Stalking Protection Order

RCW 7.92

	Who May Obtain?


	Any person who is a victim of domestic violence or fears violence by an “intimate partner” or a “family or household member.”  (Spouses, domestic partners, former spouses or domestic partners, persons with a child in common, persons 16 years or older and are/were in a dating relationship and reside(d) together or never resided together, Adult persons who are related by blood or who reside(d) together, adult in-laws, persons who have a (step)parent and (step)children or a grandparent/grandchild relationship, and persons 13 years or older who dated/is dating a respondent 16 or older. Minors aged 13 – 15 with/by a parent, guardian, guardian ad litem, next friend.)  Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) may petition on behalf of and with the consent of a vulnerable adult.
	
	Who May Obtain?


	(1) Any person who does not qualify for a protection order under chapter 26.50 RCW and who is a victim of stalking conduct; or (2) a person who files the order on behalf of a minor child who does not qualify for a protection order under chapter 26.50 RCW and is a victim of stalking conduct where the petitioner is a parent, a legal custodian, or, where the respondent is not a parent, an adult with whom the child is currently residing; or (3) a person who files the order on behalf of a vulnerable adult as defined in RCW 74.34.020 who does not qualify for a protection order under chapter 26.50 RCW and is a victim of stalking conduct, and where the petitioner is an interested person as defined in RCW 74.34.020(10)

	What Can an Order Do?
	· Prohibit contact of any kind, including cyber stalking, and be tailored to individual needs.

· Remove abuser from shared residence and prohibit from entering.

· Give temporary custody of children and set visitation schedule.
· Grant essential possessions (e.g., vehicle, medicine, pets).
· Order abuser into treatment/counseling.

· Order the surrender and prohibit the possession of firearms, dangerous weapons, and any concealed pistol license(s).
	
	What Can an Order Do?
	Restrains a person in a specific way that is described by the court in reasonable detail such as prohibiting contact, surveillance of the person, including electronic surveillance, excluding the restrained person from specific places, ordering the person to stay away from the protected person(s) and ordering the restrained person to surrender weapons and prohibit them from accessing, possessing, obtaining a firearm, dangerous weapon or concealed pistol license.

	How is an Order Obtained?


	An order can be obtained in district, municipal, or superior court.  The person completes paperwork which the court reviews. The court will grant or deny a temporary emergency order effective for up to 14 days.  The petitioner arranges for the other party to be served with the petition, notice of hearing, and temporary order.  A hearing is scheduled within 2 weeks at which time the court may deny the petition or grant a full order, effective for up to one year or more.  The hearing may be by telephone in special circumstances.

Forms and instructions are provided by the Clerk’s Office.
	
	How is an Order Obtained?


	A petition for relief must describe the existence of stalking conduct and must be accompanied by an affidavit made under oath stating the specific reasons that have caused the petitioner to become reasonably fearful that the respondent intends to injure the petitioner or another person, or the petitioner's property or the property of another. The petition shall disclose the existence of any other litigation or of any other restraining, protection, or no-contact orders between the parties.

	What is the Cost?
	No cost.
	
	What is the Cost?
	No cost.

	How is an Order Modified or Terminated?
	While the order is in effect, either party may file a motion to modify (change) or terminate (end) the protection order and arrange to serve the other party with the motion and the notice of hearing.  At the hearing the court may modify or terminate the order for protection.

An emergency order terminates after 14 days or the date of the hearing, whichever occurs earliest.  The full order for protection terminates after the ending effective date listed on the order. If the petitioner does not want an order to terminate after the effective date on the order, the petitioner may file a petition for renewal of the order for protection and arrange to serve the other party with the motion and notice of hearing.  At hearing, the court may grant the motion and enter a new protection order, or deny the motion.
	
	How is an Order Modified or Terminated?
	A final stalking protection order shall be effective for a fixed period of time or may be permanent. An ex parte or final protection order may be renewed one or more times. A respondent may file to terminate or modify an existing order no more than one time in a twelve-month period.

	What Happens if the Order is Know- ingly Violated?
	Mandatory arrest if abuser violates “restraint” provisions or enters a residence where prohibited from entering.  Possible criminal or contempt charges.
	
	What Happens if the Order is Knowingly Violated?
	Mandatory arrest if the person under restraint violates “restraint” provisions.  Possible criminal or contempt charges.



	Domestic Violence No-Contact Order

Criminal Order RCW 10.99

	Who May Obtain?
	A vulnerable adult, or interested person on behalf of the vulnerable adult.
	
	Who May Obtain?
	A person who has reported to the police an incident involving domestic violence as defined in RCW 10.99.020.  Criminal charges must be pending or filed.  May be a condition of sentencing.



	What Can an Order Do?
	An order can restrain the respondent from committing or threatening to commit physical harm, bodily injury, assault, including sexual assault against the vulnerable adult and from molesting, harassing, or stalking the vulnerable adult.

The respondent can also be restrained from transferring the vulnerable adult’s property, committing or threatening to commit acts of abandonment, abuse, and personal exploitation, improper use of restraints, neglect, or financial exploitation against the vulnerable adult. Respondent may be excluded from the vulnerable adult’s residence, prohibited from knowingly coming near the vulnerable adult’s workplace, and cannot come near or have any contact with the vulnerable adult. Respondent may not possess a firearm or ammunition. 
	
	What Can an Order Do?
	An order can prohibit contact of any kind; prohibit the abuser from knowingly coming within or staying within a specific distance of a location; order the surrender and prohibit the possession of firearms, dangerous weapons, and any concealed pistol license(s).  An order protects the victim in an active case while waiting for trial and sentencing.  The order can also be a condition of sentence and effective up to the statutory maximum sentence and/or until probation is concluded.  



	How is an Order Obtained?
	A petition may be filed in superior court and shall allege that the petitioner, or person on whose behalf the petition is brought, is a vulnerable adult and that the petitioner, or person on whose behalf the petition is brought, has been abandoned, abused, financially exploited, or neglected, or is threatened with abandonment, abuse, financial exploitation, or neglect by respondent.
	
	How is an Order Obtained?
	A crime must first be reported to the police.  If the abuser has been arrested or issued a citation, the victim may ask the prosecutor to request a no-contact order.  The prosecutor may ask the court for a protection order regardless of the victim’s wishes.  The order may be obtained in district, municipal or superior court.  (In some jurisdictions, orders are issued via the police or jail.)

	What is the Cost?
	No cost.
	
	What is the Cost?
	No cost.

	How is an Order Modified or Terminated?
	Any vulnerable adult who has not been adjudicated fully incapacitated under chapter 11.88 RCW, or the vulnerable adult's guardian, at any time subsequent to entry of a permanent protection order under this chapter, may apply to the court for an order to modify or vacate the order. In a hearing on an application to dismiss or modify the protection order, the court shall grant such relief consistent with RCW 74.34.110 as it deems necessary for the protection of the vulnerable adult, including dismissal or modification of the protection order.  (valid until January 1, 2022)
	
	How is an Order Modified or Terminated?
	The no-contact order terminates upon the expiration date listed in the order, or upon dismissal of the charges, or upon a not guilty verdict.  The order shall state that it may be extended. If the court finds probable cause, it may issue or extend a no-contact order. The order may be modified or terminated by the court before the expiration date.  The victim may contact the prosecuting attorney to ask the attorney to file the motion for modification or termination of the order.  The defendant or his or her attorney may file the motion.  

	What Happens if the Order is Knowingly Violated?
	Respondent faces arrest, and possible contempt and criminal charges.
	
	What Happens if the Order is Knowingly Violated?
	Mandatory arrest and possible contempt and criminal charges.


	
	Abused Child Restraining Order

RCW 26.44.063
	
	Canadian DV Protection Order 

RCW 26.55

	Who May Obtain?


	In any judicial proceeding in which it is alleged a child has been subjected to sexual or physical abuse, if the court finds reasonable grounds to believe the abuse occurred it may, on its own motion or on the motion of the guardian ad litem or any party, enter a temporary restraining order protecting the child.
	
	A person authorized by Washington law, other than chapter 26.55 RCW, seeking enforcement of a Canadian domestic protection order can request a state court to issue an order enforcing the Canadian domestic violence protection order. 

A person entitled to protection under a Canadian domestic violence protection order may have the order registered.

	What Can an Order Do?
	An order can prohibit contact with the child without specific court approval; restrain from molesting or disturbing the peace of the child; restrain from entering the child’s home without specific court approval; restrain from knowingly coming within or remaining within a specified distance of a specified location. The court may impose any additional restrictions it determines necessary.

	
	Unless a Washington court issues an order refusing to enforce a Canadian domestic violence protection order, its terms will be enforced.

	How is an Order Obtained?


	In the Superior Court Juvenile Department, a party or the guardian ad litem makes a request to the court for issuance of an order, or the court may issue an order on its own.  The order may be obtained regardless of the victim’s wishes.
	
	Registration:

A person entitled to protection under a Canadian domestic violence order may file it with a court by presenting a certified/authenticated copy of the order and an affidavit stating that the order is valid and in effect, to a clerk of the Washington court in which the person filing resides or believes enforcement may be necessary. An out-of-state agency, department, or court responsible for maintaining protection order records may send a copy of the order with digital signature to the clerk of the Washington Court. Once the court clerk properly receives the Canadian domestic violence protection order, the order will be filed with the court. Registration or filing of the order with a Washington court is not a requirement for the Canadian protection order to be enforced by law enforcement. 

Enforcement of the order by a state court:

A person authorized by Washington law, other than chapter 26.55 RCW, seeking enforcement of a Canadian domestic violence protection order, can request an order from a state court to enforce that order. The court is limited to the terms of the Canadian order and cannot order additional restrictions or provisions.

	What is the Cost?
	No cost.    Order is usually requested by DSHS.
	
	No cost.

	How is an Order Modified or Terminated?
	The order may be modified or terminated by the court upon motion by any party or the guardian ad litem.
	
	An inaccurate, expired, or unenforceable Canadian domestic violence protection order may be corrected in accordance with Washington law, other than chapter 26.55 RCW. 
RCW 26.55.040(6).

	What Happens if the Order is Knowingly Violated?
	Mandatory arrest if restraint and exclusion provisions are violated and legend is on order.  Possible criminal or contempt charges.
	
	Mandatory arrest if the person restrained under the Canadian domestic violence protection order violates the restraint and exclusion provisions. Possible criminal or contempt charges.


	
	Foreign Protection Order

RCW 26.52
	
	
	Domestic Relations Restraining Order

RCW 26.09, 26.10, 26.26

	Who May Obtain?


	A protected person who has a valid civil or criminal protection order issued by a court in a foreign state, territory, possession, tribe, or United States military tribunal may file the order in Washington State.


	
	Who May Obtain?


	Married persons filing for divorce, legal separation, or declaration concerning validity, persons with a child in common who are filing to determine parentage, or persons seeking custody of a child.  To qualify, a person does not need to have experienced assault or threats of violence.

	What Can an Order Do?
	An order can provide the protection ordered by the original court in the foreign protection order.  

The foreign protection order is enforceable in Washington State even if the order is not filed in the court or entered in law enforcement’s computer-based information system.
	
	What Can an Order Do?
	Refrain from disturbing the peace, harming, molesting, assaulting, or stalking; refrain from going onto the grounds of or entering a specified location; knowingly coming within or remaining within a specified distance from a specified location; order the surrender and prohibit the possession of firearms, dangerous weapons, and any concealed pistol license(s); may also order child support, order maintenance income, assign property to either party, establish permanent child custody, establish a residential schedule, or use of family home. 

	How is an Order Obtained?


	A person may file a valid foreign protection order by presenting a certified, authenticated, or exemplified copy of the protection order to the clerk of the court where the protected person resides or where the person entitled to protection believes enforcement may be necessary.  The person must file a Foreign Protection Order Information form with the order.  The information form is provided by the clerk’s office.  A clerk may provide the protected person with assistance in filling out the information form.  The clerk will give the protected person a copy of the order showing proof that it was filed.
	
	How is an Order Obtained?


	Can be obtained in superior court as part of a family law action such as a divorce, legal separation, declaration concerning validity, paternity determination, or third party custody.  An emergency restraining order can be filed at the time of a civil petition and signed by the judge, effective until the preliminary hearing when a temporary order may be entered.  The court may enter a continuing restraining order with the decree.  Many persons hire an attorney to represent them.  The county prosecutor, when involved in paternity actions, may request a restraining order on behalf of the child.

	What is the Cost?
	No cost.
	
	What is the Cost?
	The filing fee is $200.00 (plus possible surcharges) but may be waived.  Additional costs can include copy, service, and attorney fees.

	How is an Order Modified or Terminated?
	The foreign protection order terminates upon the expiration date listed in the order.  The order may be modified or terminated before the expiration date according to the laws of the jurisdiction that issued the order.

Disputes about child custody, residential placement, or visitation provisions shall be resolved judicially. Venue and jurisdiction is determined by the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act and the Parental Kidnapping Prevention Act.  A Writ of Habeas Corpus is needed before law enforcement can remove a child from current placement, unless the child is abused or neglected.
	
	How is an Order Modified or Terminated?
	Before the decree is entered, either party may file a motion for temporary order to modify or terminate a temporary restraining order.  The other party is served with the motion and notice of hearing.  At the hearing, the court will deny the motion, enter a modified temporary restraining order, or terminate the order.  After the continuing restraining order is entered with the decree, a party may file a petition for modification to ask the court to modify or terminate the continuing restraining order.  A filing fee applies.  The other party is served with the petition for modification and notice of hearing.  At the hearing, the court will deny the petition or grant the petition and enter an order modifying or terminating the restraining order. Forms are not available to petition for a modification of a continuing restraining order.  A temporary restraining order terminates when the final decree is entered.  A continuing restraining order terminates upon the expiration date listed in the decree. 

	What Happens if the Order is Knowingly Violated?
	Mandatory arrest if the person under restraint violates “restraint” provisions.  Possible criminal or contempt charges.  
	
	What Happens if the Order is Knowingly Violated?
	Mandatory arrest if abuser violates “restraint” provisions or enters a residence where prohibited from entering.  Possible criminal or contempt charges.


	Harassment No-Contact Order

Criminal Order RCW 9A.46
	
	Anti-harassment Order for Protection

RCW 10.14

	Who May Obtain?


	A person who has reported to the police an incident involving harassment as defined in RCW 9A.46.060.  (Criminal charges must be pending or filed.  May be a condition of sentencing.)
	
	Persons who are seriously alarmed, annoyed, or harassed by conduct which serves no legitimate or lawful purpose.  Person may or may not have a relationship with the person harassing them.  Parents may petition on behalf of a child against an adult or, in some circumstances, against a minor.



	What Can an Order Do?
	Refrain from contacting, intimidating, or threatening the victim and others listed in the order; order the abuser to stay away from specific locations; may order the surrender and prohibit the possession of firearms, dangerous weapons, and any concealed pistol license(s).  Protects the victim in an active case while waiting for trial and sentencing.  The order can also be a condition of sentence.
	
	· Prohibit harassment and contact of any kind.
· Restrain party from coming within a specific distance from petitioner’s work place, school, residence, etc.
· Order the surrender and prohibit the possession of firearms, dangerous weapons, and any concealed pistol license(s).

	How is an Order Obtained?


	A crime must first be reported to the police.  If the abuser has been arrested or issued a citation, the victim may ask the prosecutor to request a no-contact order.  The order may be obtained in district, municipal, or superior court.


	
	Generally, you must file your case in district court. However you must file your case in superior court if:
· the respondent is under age 18;

· the case would interfere with the respondent’s care, control, or custody of respondent’s minor children;

· the case involves disputes over title, ownership, or possession of real property, such as landlord-tenant or boundary dispute; or

· the superior court is exercising or has exercised jurisdiction over proceedings involving the parties.

The court may grant or deny a temporary emergency order effective for up to 14 days.  The other party is served with the petition, notice of hearing, and temporary order.  A hearing is held within 14 days at which time the court may deny the petition or grant an order effective for up to one year.  Forms and instructions are provided by the clerk’s office.

	What is the Cost?
	No cost.
	
	Filing fees vary.  Additional costs can include copy, service, and local surcharge fees. Fees may be waived if you cannot pay or if you seek protection from domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.  Petitioner may be required to pay minor respondent’s guardian ad litem fees.

	How is an Order Modified or Terminated?
	The no-contact order terminates upon the expiration date listed in the order.  The order may be modified or terminated by the court before the expiration date.  The victim may contact the prosecuting attorney to ask the attorney to file the motion for modification or termination of the order.  The defendant or his/her attorney may file the motion.

	
	While the order is in effect, either party may file a motion to modify (change) or terminate (end) the protection order.  The other party is served with the motion and the notice of hearing.  At the hearing the court may modify or terminate the order for protection.  

An emergency order terminates after 14 days or on the date of the hearing.  The full order for protection terminates after the expiration date listed on the order.

If the petitioner does not want an order to terminate after the effective date on the order, the petitioner may file a petition for renewal of the order for protection.  The other party is served the motion and notice of hearing.  At the hearing, the court may grant the motion and enter a new protection order, or deny the motion.

	What Happens if the Order is Knowingly Violated?
	Mandatory arrest.


	
	Violator may be arrested.  Possible criminal or contempt charges.

	Community Resources:

	
	


	
	Extreme Risk Protection Order (ERPO)
RCW 7.94
	
	
	Sexual Assault Protection Order

RCW 7.90

	Who May Obtain?


	A family or household member or law enforcement officer or agency. RCW 7.90.030(1)


	
	Who May Obtain?


	1) A person who does not qualify for a protection order under chapter 26.50 RCW and who is a victim of nonconsensual sexual conduct or nonconsensual sexual penetration, including a single incident of nonconsensual sexual conduct or nonconsensual sexual penetration; or

2) a person who files the order on behalf of a person who is a victim of nonconsensual sexual conduct or nonconsensual sexual penetration and who does not qualify for a protection order under chapter 26.50 RCW:

    (i) A minor child; (ii) A vulnerable adult as defined in RCW 74.34.020 or * 74.34.021; or (iii) Any other adult who, because of age, disability, health, or inaccessibility, cannot file the petition.

	What Can an Order Do?
	Order a person (respondent) to immediately surrender all firearms and concealed pistol license(s) in their custody, control, or possession. Order the respondent not to have in his or her custody or control, or purchase, possess, receive, or attempt to purchase or receive, a firearm while the order is in effect. The court can also require a behavioral health evaluation of the respondent.
	
	What Can an Order Do?
	•
Prohibit contact of any kind.

•
Exclude the restrained party, and/or prohibit them from knowingly coming within a specific distance, from petitioner’s work place, school, residence, etc.

•
Order the surrender and prohibit the possession of firearms, dangerous weapons, and any concealed pistol license(s). Protects the victim in an active case while waiting for trial and sentencing.  The order can also be a condition of release or a condition of the sentence.

	How is an Order Obtained?


	A petition must be filed alleging that the respondent poses a significant danger of causing personal injury to self or others by having in their custody or control, purchasing, possessing, accessing or receiving a firearm accompanied by an affidavit made under oath stating the specific statements, actions, or facts, that give rise to a reasonable fear of future dangerous acts by the respondent.  ERPOs can be filed against adults and individuals under the age of 18.

Forms and instructions are provided by the Clerk’s Office.
	
	How is an Order Obtained?


	(1) A petition for relief shall allege the existence of nonconsensual sexual conduct or nonconsensual sexual penetration and shall be accompanied by an affidavit made under oath stating the specific facts and circumstances from which relief is sought. Petitioner and respondent shall disclose the existence of any other litigation or of any other restraining, protection, or no-contact orders between the parties.

(2) A petition for relief may be made regardless of whether or not there is a pending lawsuit, complaint, petition, or other action between the parties

	What is the Cost?
	No cost.
	
	What is the Cost?
	No cost.

	How is an Order Modified or Terminated?
	The respondent may file one written request to terminate the order every twelve-month period the order is in effect. A family or household member or law enforcement officer or agency may, by motion, request a renewal at any time within one hundred five calendar days prior to the expiration of the order. The renewal of an ERPO has a duration of one year, subject to termination or further renewal by the court.
	
	How is an Order Modified or Terminated?
	A final sexual assault protection order shall be effective for a fixed period of time or may be permanent. An ex parte or final protection order may be renewed one or more times. A respondent may file to terminate or modify an existing order no more than one time in a twelve-month period.

	What Happens if the Order is Knowingly Violated?
	Any restrained person who has in their custody or control, or purchases, possesses, or receives a firearm with knowledge that they are prohibited from doing so by an ERPO, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. They are also prohibited to having in their custody or control, or purchasing, possessing, or receiving, or attempting to purchase or receive, a firearm for a period of five years from the date the existing order expires. If the restrained person has two or more previous convictions for violating an ERPO, the person is guilty of a class C felony.
	
	What Happens if the Order is Knowingly Violated?
	Mandatory arrest if the person under restraint violates “restraint” provisions.  Possible criminal or contempt charges.


