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Legal Protection from Domestic Violence, Harassment, or Abuse

Legal Protection
From
Domestic Violence,

Harassment, or
Abuse

Information on Court Orders

If you have a court order, it is important to remember:

1. Keep a certified copy of your order with you at all times.

2. The order is enforceable throughout the state of Washington, and if
issued by Washington State Superior Court, the order is enforceable
throughout the United States and in U.S. territories.

3. If there is a violation of your court order, call 9-1-1 or your local
police. Tell them you have a court order and it is being violated.

Whether or not you have a court order, if you are being
harassed, threatened, or assaulted, call 9-1-1 or your local
police!!



Domestic Violence Order for Protection
RCW 26.50

Stalking Protection Order
RCW 7.92

Any person who is a victim of domestic violence or fears violence by an

(1) Any person who does not qualify for a protection order

Who May “intimate partner” or a “family or household member.” (Spouses, Who May Obtain? under chapter 26.50 RCW and who is a victim of stalking
Obtain? domestic partners, former spouses or domestic partners, persons with a conduct; or (2) a person who files the order on behalf of a
child in common, persons 16 years or older and are/were in a dating minor child who does not qualify for a protection order under
relationship and reside(d) together or never resided together, Adult chapter 26.50 RCW and is a victim of stalking conduct where
persons who are related by blood or who reside(d) together, adult in- the petitioner is a parent, a legal custodian, or, where the
laws, persons who have a (step)parent and (step)children or a respondent is not a parent, an adult with whom the child is
grandparent/grandchild relationship, and persons 13 years or older who currently residing; or (3) a person who files the order on behalf
dated/is dating a respondent 16 or older. Minors aged 13 — 15 with/by a of a vulnerable adult as defined in RCW 74.34.020 who does
parent, guardian, guardian ad litem, next friend.) Department of Social not qualify for a protection order under chapter 26.50 RCW
and Health Services (DSHS) may petition on behalf of and with the and is a victim of stalking conduct, and where the petitioner is
consent of a vulnerable adult. an interested person as defined in RCW 74.34.020(10)
¢ Prohibit contact of any kind, including cyber stalking, and be tailored Restrains a person in a specific way that is described by the
What Can an to individual needs. What Can an Order | court in reasonable detail such as prohibiting contact,
Order Do? » Remove abuser from shared residence and prohibit from entering. Do? surveillance of the person, including electronic surveillance,
e Give temporary custody of children and set visitation schedule. excluding the restrained person from specific places, ordering
e Grant essential possessions (e.g., vehicle, medicine, pets). the person to stay away from the protected person(s) and
e Order abuser into treatment/counseling. orde(ir!g the restrained person to surrepder weapons an(_j
e Order the surrender and prohibit the possession of firearms, prohibit them from accessing, POSsessing, obtaining a firearm,
dangerous weapons, and any concealed pistol license(s). dangerous weapon or concealed pistol license.
An order can be obtained in district, municipal, or superior court. The A petition for relief must describe the existence of stalking
How is an person completes paperwork which the court reviews. The court will How is an Order conduct and must be accompanied by an affidavit made under
Order grant or deny a temporary emergency order effective for up to 14 days. Obtained? oath stating the specific reasons that have caused the petitioner
Obtained? The petitioner arranges for the other party to be served with the petition, to become reasonably fearful that the respondent intends to

notice of hearing, and temporary order. A hearing is scheduled within 2
weeks at which time the court may deny the petition or grant a full
order, effective for up to one year or more. The hearing may be by
telephone in special circumstances.

Forms and instructions are provided by the Clerk’s Office.

injure the petitioner or another person, or the petitioner's
property or the property of another. The petition shall disclose
the existence of any other litigation or of any other restraining,
protection, or no-contact orders between the parties.

What is the Cost?

No cost.

What is the Cost?

No cost.

How is an
Order Modified
or Terminated?

While the order is in effect, either party may file a motion to modify
(change) or terminate (end) the protection order and arrange to serve the
other party with the motion and the notice of hearing. At the hearing the
court may modify or terminate the order for protection.

An emergency order terminates after 14 days or the date of the hearing,
whichever occurs earliest. The full order for protection terminates after
the ending effective date listed on the order. If the petitioner does not
want an order to terminate after the effective date on the order, the
petitioner may file a petition for renewal of the order for protection and
arrange to serve the other party with the motion and notice of hearing.
At hearing, the court may grant the motion and enter a new protection
order, or deny the motion.

How is an Order
Modified or
Terminated?

A final stalking protection order shall be effective for a fixed
period of time or may be permanent. An ex parte or final
protection order may be renewed one or more times. A
respondent may file to terminate or modify an existing order
no more than one time in a twelve-month period.

What Happens if
the Order is Know-
ingly Violated?

Mandatory arrest if abuser violates “restraint” provisions or enters a
residence where prohibited from entering. Possible criminal or
contempt charges.

What Happens if the
Order is Knowingly
Violated?

Mandatory arrest if the person under restraint violates
“restraint” provisions. Possible criminal or contempt charges.



http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=74.34.020
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=74.34.020

Vulnerable Adult Protection Order
RCW 74.34

Domestic Violence No-Contact Order
Criminal Order RCW 10.99

Who May Obtain?

A vulnerable adult, or interested person on behalf of the
vulnerable adult.

Who May
Obtain?

A person who has reported to the police an incident involving
domestic violence as defined in RCW 10.99.020. Criminal charges
must be pending or filed. May be a condition of sentencing.

What Can an Order
Do?

An order can restrain the respondent from committing or
threatening to commit physical harm, bodily injury, assault,
including sexual assault against the vulnerable adult and
from molesting, harassing, or stalking the vulnerable adult.
The respondent can also be restrained from transferring the
vulnerable adult’s property, committing or threatening to
commit acts of abandonment, abuse, and personal
exploitation, improper use of restraints, neglect, or
financial exploitation against the vulnerable adult.
Respondent may be excluded from the vulnerable adult’s
residence, prohibited from knowingly coming near the
vulnerable adult’s workplace, and cannot come near or
have any contact with the vulnerable adult. Respondent
may not possess a firearm or ammunition.

What Can an
Order Do?

An order can prohibit contact of any kind; prohibit the abuser from
knowingly coming within or staying within a specific distance of a
location; order the surrender and prohibit the possession of firearms,
dangerous weapons, and any concealed pistol license(s). An order
protects the victim in an active case while waiting for trial and
sentencing. The order can also be a condition of sentence and
effective up to the statutory maximum sentence and/or until probation
is concluded.

How is an Order
Obtained?

A petition may be filed in superior court and shall allege
that the petitioner, or person on whose behalf the petition is
brought, is a vulnerable adult and that the petitioner, or
person on whose behalf the petition is brought, has been
abandoned, abused, financially exploited, or neglected, or
is threatened with abandonment, abuse, financial
exploitation, or neglect by respondent.

How is an
Order
Obtained?

A crime must first be reported to the police. If the abuser has been
arrested or issued a citation, the victim may ask the prosecutor to
request a no-contact order. The prosecutor may ask the court for a
protection order regardless of the victim’s wishes. The order may be
obtained in district, municipal or superior court. (In some
jurisdictions, orders are issued via the police or jail.)

What is the Cost?

No cost.

What is the
Cost?

No cost.

How is an Order
Modified or
Terminated?

Any vulnerable adult who has not been adjudicated fully
incapacitated under chapter 11.88 RCW, or the vulnerable
adult's guardian, at any time subsequent to entry of a
permanent protection order under this chapter, may apply
to the court for an order to modify or vacate the order. In a
hearing on an application to dismiss or modify the
protection order, the court shall grant such relief consistent
with RCW 74.34.110 as it deems necessary for the
protection of the vulnerable adult, including dismissal or
modification of the protection order. (valid until January 1,
2022)

How is an
Order
Modified or
Terminated?

The no-contact order terminates upon the expiration date listed in the
order, or upon dismissal of the charges, or upon a not guilty verdict.
The order shall state that it may be extended. If the court finds
probable cause, it may issue or extend a no-contact order. The order
may be modified or terminated by the court before the expiration date.
The victim may contact the prosecuting attorney to ask the attorney to
file the motion for modification or termination of the order. The
defendant or his or her attorney may file the motion.

What Happens if the
Order is Knowingly
Violated?

Respondent faces arrest, and possible contempt and
criminal charges.

What Happens
if the Order is
Knowingly
Violated?

Mandatory arrest and possible contempt and criminal charges.



https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=10.99.020

Abused Child Restraining Order
RCW 26.44.063

Canadian DV Protection Order
RCW 26.55

In any judicial proceeding in which it is alleged a child has been

A person authorized by Washington law, other than chapter 26.55 RCW, seeking

Who May subjected to sexual or physical abuse, if the court finds reasonable enforcement of a Canadian domestic protection order can request a state court to issue an
Obtain? grounds to believe the abuse occurred it may, on its own motion or order enforcing the Canadian domestic violence protection order.
on the motion of the guardian ad litem or any party, enter a
temporary restraining order protecting the child. A person entitled to protection under a Canadian domestic violence protection order may
have the order registered.
An order can prohibit contact with the child without specific court . . . . .
What Can an approval: restrain from molesting or disturbing the peace of the U_nless a Washlngton court issues an (_)rder refusing to enforce a Canadian domestic

Order Do? child; restrain from entering the child’s home without specific court violence protection order, its terms will be enforced.

approval; restrain from knowingly coming within or remaining
within a specified distance of a specified location. The court may
impose any additional restrictions it determines necessary.

How is an Order
Obtained?

In the Superior Court Juvenile Department, a party or the guardian
ad litem makes a request to the court for issuance of an order, or the
court may issue an order on its own. The order may be obtained
regardless of the victim’s wishes.

Registration:

A person entitled to protection under a Canadian domestic violence order may file it with a
court by presenting a certified/authenticated copy of the order and an affidavit stating that
the order is valid and in effect, to a clerk of the Washington court in which the person filing
resides or believes enforcement may be necessary. An out-of-state agency, department, or
court responsible for maintaining protection order records may send a copy of the order
with digital signature to the clerk of the Washington Court. Once the court clerk properly
receives the Canadian domestic violence protection order, the order will be filed with the
court. Registration or filing of the order with a Washington court is not a requirement for
the Canadian protection order to be enforced by law enforcement.

Enforcement of the order by a state court:

A person authorized by Washington law, other than chapter 26.55 RCW, seeking
enforcement of a Canadian domestic violence protection order, can request an order from a
state court to enforce that order. The court is limited to the terms of the Canadian order and
cannot order additional restrictions or provisions.

What is the
Cost?

No cost.  Order is usually requested by DSHS.

No cost.

How is an Order
Modified or
Terminated?

The order may be modified or terminated by the court upon motion
by any party or the guardian ad litem.

An inaccurate, expired, or unenforceable Canadian domestic violence protection order may
be corrected in accordance with Washington law, other than chapter 26.55 RCW.
RCW 26.55.040(6).

What Happens if
the Order is
Knowingly

Violated?

Mandatory arrest if restraint and exclusion provisions are violated
and legend is on order. Possible criminal or contempt charges.

Mandatory arrest if the person restrained under the Canadian domestic violence protection
order violates the restraint and exclusion provisions. Possible criminal or contempt charges.




Foreign Protection Order
RCW 26.52

Domestic Relations Restraining Order
RCW 26.09, 26.10, 26.26

A protected person who has a valid civil or criminal protection

Married persons filing for divorce, legal separation, or declaration

Who May order issued by a court in a foreign state, territory, possession, Who May concerning validity, persons with a child in common who are filing to
Obtain? tribe, or United States military tribunal may file the order in Obtain? determine parentage, or persons seeking custody of a child. To qualify,
Washington State. a person does not need to have experienced assault or threats of
violence.
An order can provide the protection ordered by the original court Refrain from disturbing the peace, harming, molesting, assaulting, or
What Can an in the foreign protection order. What Can an | stalking; refrain from going onto the grounds of or entering a specified
Order Do? Order Do? location; knowingly coming within or remaining within a specified
The foreign protection order is enforceable in Washington distance from a specified location; order the surrender and prohibit the
State even if the order is not filed in the court or entered in possession of firearms, dangerous weapons, and any concealed pistol
law enforcement’s computer-based information system. license(s); may also order child support, order maintenance income,
assign property to either party, establish permanent child custody,
establish a residential schedule, or use of family home.
A person may file a valid foreign protection order by presenting a Can be obtained in superior court as part of a family law action such as a
How is an Order | certified, authenticated, or exemplified copy of the protection How is an divorce, legal separation, declaration concerning validity, paternity
Obtained? order to the clerk of the court where the protected person resides Order determination, or third party custody. An emergency restraining order
or where the person entitled to protection believes enforcement Obtained? can be filed at the time of a civil petition and signed by the judge,
may be necessary. The person must file a Foreign Protection effective until the preliminary hearing when a temporary order may be
Order Information form with the order. The information form entered. The court may enter a continuing restraining order with the
is provided by the clerk’s office. A clerk may provide the decree. Many persons hire an attorney to represent them. The county
protected person with assistance in filling out the information prosecutor, when involved in paternity actions, may request a restraining
form. The clerk will give the protected person a copy of the order on behalf of the child.
order showing proof that it was filed.
What is the No cost. What is the | The filing fee is $200.00 (plus possible surcharges) but may be waived.
Cost? Cost? Additional costs can include copy, service, and attorney fees.
The foreign protection order terminates upon the expiration date Before the decree is entered, either party may file a motion for
How is an Order | listed in the order. The order may be modified or terminated How is an temporary order to modify or terminate a temporary restraining order.
Modified or before the expiration date according to the laws of the jurisdiction Order The other party is served with the motion and notice of hearing. At the
Terminated? that issued the order. Modified or | hearing, the court will deny the motion, enter a modified temporary

Disputes about child custody, residential placement, or visitation
provisions shall be resolved judicially. Venue and jurisdiction is
determined by the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and
Enforcement Act and the Parental Kidnapping Prevention Act. A
Writ of Habeas Corpus is needed before law enforcement can
remove a child from current placement, unless the child is abused
or neglected.

Terminated?

restraining order, or terminate the order. After the continuing
restraining order is entered with the decree, a party may file a petition
for modification to ask the court to modify or terminate the continuing
restraining order. A filing fee applies. The other party is served with
the petition for modification and notice of hearing. At the hearing, the
court will deny the petition or grant the petition and enter an order
modifying or terminating the restraining order. Forms are not available
to petition for a modification of a continuing restraining order. A
temporary restraining order terminates when the final decree is entered.
A continuing restraining order terminates upon the expiration date listed
in the decree.

What Happens if
the Order is
Knowingly

Violated?

Mandatory arrest if the person under restraint violates “restraint”
provisions. Possible criminal or contempt charges.

What
Happens if
the Order is
Knowingly

Violated?

Mandatory arrest if abuser violates “restraint” provisions or enters a
residence where prohibited from entering. Possible criminal or
contempt charges.




Harassment No-Contact Order
Criminal Order RCW 9A.46

Anti-harassment Order for Protection
RCW 10.14

Who May Obtain?

A person who has reported to the police an incident involving
harassment as defined in RCW 9A.46.060. (Criminal charges must
be pending or filed. May be a condition of sentencing.)

Persons who are seriously alarmed, annoyed, or harassed by conduct which serves no
legitimate or lawful purpose. Person may or may not have a relationship with the person
harassing them. Parents may petition on behalf of a child against an adult or, in some
circumstances, against a minor.

What Can an
Order Do?

Refrain from contacting, intimidating, or threatening the victim and
others listed in the order; order the abuser to stay away from
specific locations; may order the surrender and prohibit the
possession of firearms, dangerous weapons, and any concealed
pistol license(s). Protects the victim in an active case while waiting
for trial and sentencing. The order can also be a condition of
sentence.

e  Prohibit harassment and contact of any kind.

e Restrain party from coming within a specific distance from petitioner’s work place,

school, residence, etc.

e  Order the surrender and prohibit the possession of firearms, dangerous weapons, and

any concealed pistol license(s).

How is an Order
Obtained?

A crime must first be reported to the police. If the abuser has been
arrested or issued a citation, the victim may ask the prosecutor to
request a no-contact order. The order may be obtained in district,
municipal, or superior court.

Generally, you must file your case in district court. However you must file your case in
superior court if:
e the respondent is under age 18;
o the case would interfere with the respondent’s care, control, or custody of
respondent’s minor children;
e the case involves disputes over title, ownership, or possession of real property,
such as landlord-tenant or boundary dispute; or
e the superior court is exercising or has exercised jurisdiction over proceedings
involving the parties.
The court may grant or deny a temporary emergency order effective for up to 14 days. The
other party is served with the petition, notice of hearing, and temporary order. A hearing is
held within 14 days at which time the court may deny the petition or grant an order
effective for up to one year. Forms and instructions are provided by the clerk’s office.

What is the Cost?

No cost.

Filing fees vary. Additional costs can include copy, service, and local surcharge fees. Fees
may be waived if you cannot pay or if you seek protection from domestic violence, sexual
assault, or stalking. Petitioner may be required to pay minor respondent’s guardian ad
litem fees.

How is an Order
Modified or
Terminated?

The no-contact order terminates upon the expiration date listed in
the order. The order may be modified or terminated by the court
before the expiration date. The victim may contact the prosecuting
attorney to ask the attorney to file the motion for modification or
termination of the order. The defendant or his/her attorney may file
the motion.

While the order is in effect, either party may file a motion to modify (change) or terminate
(end) the protection order. The other party is served with the motion and the notice of
hearing. At the hearing the court may modify or terminate the order for protection.

An emergency order terminates after 14 days or on the date of the hearing. The full order
for protection terminates after the expiration date listed on the order.

If the petitioner does not want an order to terminate after the effective date on the order, the
petitioner may file a petition for renewal of the order for protection. The other party is
served the motion and notice of hearing. At the hearing, the court may grant the motion
and enter a new protection order, or deny the motion.

What Happens if
the Order is
Knowingly
Violated?

Mandatory arrest.

Community Resources:

Violator may be arrested. Possible criminal or contempt charges.




Extreme Risk Protection Order (ERPO)
RCW 7.94

Sexual Assault Protection Order
RCW 7.90

A family or household member or law enforcement officer or

1) A person who does not qualify for a protection order under chapter

Who May agency. RCW 7.90.030(1) Who May 26.50 RCW and who is a victim of nonconsensual sexual conduct or
Obtain? Obtain? nonconsensual sexual penetration, including a single incident of
nonconsensual sexual conduct or nonconsensual sexual penetration; or
2) a person who files the order on behalf of a person who is a victim of
nonconsensual sexual conduct or nonconsensual sexual penetration and
who does not qualify for a protection order under chapter 26.50 RCW:
(i) A minor child; (ii) A vulnerable adult as defined in RCW
74.34.020 or * 74.34.021; or (iii) Any other adult who, because of age,
disability, health, or inaccessibility, cannot file the petition.
Order a person (respondent) to immediately surrender all firearms e Prohibit contact of any kind.
What Can an and concealed pistol license(s) in their custody, control, or What Can an |« Exclude the restrained party, and/or prohibit them from knowingly
Order Do? possession. Order the respondent not to have in his or her custody Order Do? coming within a specific distance, from petitioner’s work place, school,
or control, or purchase, possess, receive, or attempt to purchase residence, etc.
or receive, a firearm while the order is in effect. The court can e Order the surrender and prohibit the possession of firearms,
also require a behavioral health evaluation of the respondent. dangerous weapons, and any concealed pistol license(s). Protects the
victim in an active case while waiting for trial and sentencing. The
order can also be a condition of release or a condition of the sentence.
A petition must be filed alleging that the respondent poses a (1) A petition for relief shall allege the existence of nonconsensual
How is an Order | significant danger of causing personal injury to self or others by How is an sexual conduct or nonconsensual sexual penetration and shall be
Obtained? having in their custody or control, purchasing, possessing, Order accompanied by an affidavit made under oath stating the specific facts
accessing or receiving a firearm accompanied by an affidavit made Obtained? and circumstances from which relief is sought. Petitioner and respondent
under oath stating the specific statements, actions, or facts, that shall disclose the existence of any other litigation or of any other
give rise to a reasonable fear of future dangerous acts by the restraining, protection, or no-contact orders between the parties.
respondent. ERPOs can be filed against adults and individuals (2) A petition for relief may be made regardless of whether or not there
under the age of 18. is a pending lawsuit, complaint, petition, or other action between the
Forms and instructions are provided by the Clerk’s Office. parties
What is the No cost. What is the | No cost.
Cost? Cost?
The respondent may file one written request to terminate the order A final sexual assault protection order shall be effective for a fixed
How is an Order | every twelve-month period the order is in effect. A family or How is an period of time or may be permanent. An ex parte or final protection
Modified or household member or law enforcement officer or agency may, by Order order may be renewed one or more times. A respondent may file to
Terminated? motion, request a renewal at any time within one hundred five Modified or | terminate or modify an existing order no more than one time in a

calendar days prior to the expiration of the order. The renewal of
an ERPO has a duration of one year, subject to termination or
further renewal by the court.

Terminated?

twelve-month period.

What Happens if
the Order is
Knowingly

Violated?

Any restrained person who has in their custody or control, or
purchases, possesses, or receives a firearm with knowledge that
they are prohibited from doing so by an ERPO, is guilty of a gross
misdemeanor. They are also prohibited to having in their custody
or control, or purchasing, possessing, or receiving, or attempting
to purchase or receive, a firearm for a period of five years from the
date the existing order expires. If the restrained person has two or
more previous convictions for violating an ERPO, the person is
guilty of a class C felony.

What
Happens if
the Order is
Knowingly

Violated?

Mandatory arrest if the person under restraint violates “restraint”
provisions. Possible criminal or contempt charges.



http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=26.50
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=26.50
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=74.34.020
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=74.34.021

