Superior Court of Washington, County of				
In re parentage:				
Petitioner (person who started this case):	No			
And Respondent (alleged or convicted sexual assault perpetrator):	Summons: Notice about Petition to Stop Parentage Based on Sexual Assault (SM)			

Summons: Notice about Petition to Stop Parentage Based on Sexual Assault

To the Respondent: The Petitioner started a case to prevent you from claiming parentage of a child conceived as a result of sexual assault. You <u>must</u> respond in writing for the court to consider your side.

Deadline! Your Response must be served on the Petitioner within 20 days of the date you were served this Summons (60 days if you were served outside of Washington State). If the case has been filed, you must also file your Response by the same deadline. If you do not serve and file your Response or a Notice of Appearance by the deadline:

- No one has to notify you about other hearings in this case, and
- The court may approve the Petitioner's requests without hearing your side (called a default judgment).

Follow these steps:

- **1. Read** the *Petition* and any other documents you receive with this *Summons*. These documents explain what the Petitioner is asking for.
- 2. Fill out the Response to Petition to Stop Parentage Based on Sexual Assault (FL Parentage 382).

You can get the Response and other forms at:

Washington State Court Forms: www.courts.wa.gov/forms,

p. 1 of 2

- Administrative Office of the Courts call: (360) 705-5328,
- Washington LawHelp: www.washingtonlawhelp.org,
- Washington State Law Library: www.courts.wa.gov/library, or
- Superior Court Clerk's office or county law library (for a fee).
- **3. Serve** (*give*) a copy of your *Response* to the Petitioner at the address below and to any other Respondents. You may use certified mail with return receipt requested. For more information on how to serve, read Superior Court Civil Rule 5.

4.	File your original Response with the court clerk at this address: Superior Court Clerk, County					
	address	city	state	zip		
		page 1, this case may not have been filed a ourt Clerk or check www.courts.wa.gov to fin		ot be able to file a		
	If the case was not filed, you must still serve your <i>Response</i> , and you may demand that the Petitioner file th case with the court. Your demand must be in writing and must be served on the Petitioner or his/her lawy (whoever signed this <i>Summons</i>). If the Petitioner does not file papers for this case within 14 days of bein served with your demand, this service on you of the <i>Summons</i> and <i>Petition</i> will not be valid. If the Petition does file, then you must file your original <i>Response</i> with the court clerk at the address above.					
5.	Lawyer not required : It's a good idea to talk to a lawyer, but you may file and serve your <i>Response</i> without one.					
Pe	titioner or his/her lawyer fills	s out below:				
Sig	nature of Petitioner or lawyer		Date			
Prir	nt name (and WSBA No., if lawyer)					
Pet	titioner agrees to accept legal pa	apers for this case at (check one):				
	Petitioner's lawyer's address:					
	lawyer's address	city	state	zip		
	Email (if applicable):					
	the following address (this does	s not have to be your home address	s):			
	address	city	state	zip		
	Note: You and the other party/ies may agree to accept legal papers by email under Civil Rule 5 and ocal court rules.					
		se ends, you must notify all parties and the m (FL All Family 120). You must also upda				

p. 2 of 2

This Summons is issued according to Rule 4.1 of the Superior Court Civil Rules of the State of Washington.