We copy and mail requests within one working day of receipt. Copying requests are filled as staff time permits and in the order received; priority for service is for requests from state employees. We do not copy materials for patrons working in the library or for same day pick-up.
State employees and local government employees are not charged for photocopies when acting in their official capacity. We do not charge a publicly funded library or a non-profit research institution if it has a reciprocal arrangement with the State Law Library.
Requests made directly by private attorneys, by the general public or by librarians employed by profit-making entities will be charged at the applicable rate for copying services and for shipping and handling charges. Invoices are due and payable upon receipt.
We accept a maximum of 30 pages per day to be copied for each patron or library. Consecutive code sections of a title are treated as a single cite. Updating is limited to pocket part material for the cite requested. For example, we do not Shepardize nor do we update WAC sections with the Washington State Register.
Requests made directly by institutional residents will be returned to their institutional law library for further assistance. Policies about making requests on behalf of inmates by institutional libraries are set by the institution.
Charges are as follows, plus 8.8% sales tax:
|$3.00||per citation (maximum of 3 per day)|
|$.25||per image (maximum of 30 pages copied per day and no more than 3 items)|
|$5.00||shipping and handling per package|
NOTICE WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS
If you need immediate assistance you may wish to visit or call the State Law Library. The State Law Library is located in the Temple of Justice in Olympia, Washington. Hours of operation are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. The telephone number is: 360/357-2136.