PRESS RELEASE

Beginning October 1, 2017, individuals with traffic-related fines in multiple jurisdictions in King
County will have an easier and less expensive way to pay court-mandated fines from multiple
courts through the new Unified Payment (UP) Program. This new program also lifts the hold on
a person’s driver’s license before the fines are completely paid off.

“This is a great program that will allow people a convenient, low-cost way to quickly lift the
hold on their driver’s license,” said LaTricia Kinlow, Court Administrator for the Tukwila
Municipal Court. “Suspended licenses are a huge barrier to employment and other obligations
and often lead to even more fines and court appearances. With this program, it’s one stop
shopping for people who have fines in more than one court, and as soon as they make their
first payment we lift the hold on their license.”

The program is a collaboration between the district and municipal courts in King County. The
UP Program allows people with fines in multiple jurisdictions in King County the ability to pay
off their obligations without going to a collection agency. Because the program only charges a
flat fee of $7.00 per month, individuals save costs that would have been accrued through a
collection agency, which assesses collection fees and compounding interest as high as 19%.
Monthly payments as low as $25 are accepted and the agency will work with court customers
to determine an appropriate amount on an individual basis.

“Court fines can have a snowballing effect that set people up for failure; particularly people
with little economic means,” commented Karen Campbell, Senior Attorney, Northwest Justice
Project Vancouver, and an appointee to the committee created by the Washington State
Legsilature to work on the creation of a statewide relicensing program. “The King County UP
Program represents a positive first step toward reducing barriers faced by low income
individuals. While we continue to work toward a statewide program to assist low income
individuals throughout Washington, and appreciate the work by the Attorney General on that
project, we are equally appreciative of those at the local level, like those in King County, who
are proactively working toward this goal.”

In 2016, 66,000 people in King County had court fines that could lead to automatic suspension
of their driver’s license. The average fine obligation for these individuals was $315. Many of
these individuals have multiple fines in multiple courts, which required two or more separate
payment plans for each court, often through a collection agency charging both interest and
collection fees.

“The courts in King County have a responsibility to administer justice every day. This program
collectively shows the mercy side of the court, and | am proud to be a part of this effort to
provide another service to our customers. We want our customers to know that we can and do
dispense justice in a merciful way,” said Kinlow.



Participating courts include King County District Court and the municipal courts of Algona,
Auburn, Bellevue, Black Diamond, Bothell, Burien, Des Moines, Duvall, Enumclaw, Federal Way,
Hunts Point, Issaquah, Kenmore, Kent, Kirkland, Lake Forest Park, Maple Valley, Mercer Island,
Newcastle, Normandy Park, North Bend, Pacific, Redmond, Renton, Sammamish, SeaTac,
Seattle, Shoreline, Skykomish, Snoqualmie, Tukwila, Woodinville, and Yarrow Point. Each of
these courts operate their own relicensing programs that allow individuals with fines in their
court to participate in similar payment programs and/or payment alternatives.

“We are aware and excited about the effort towards a statewide consolidated payment
program, and we look forward to hearing what the committee proposes. We just believe it is
better for our customers if we start now rather than later,” said Judge Kimberly Walden,
presiding judge of the Tukwila Municipal Court.
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UNIFIED PAYMENT (UP) PROGRAM

Beginning October 1, 2017, individuals with traffic-related fines in multiple jurisdictions in
King County will have an easier and less expensive way to pay court-mandated fines through
the new Unified Payment (UP) Program. This program also lifts the hold on a person's driver's
license before the fines are paid in full.

How it worhs

1. Court customers with suspended licenses due to failure to respond/pay contact a court
where they have fines to receive the necessary documentation needed in order to complete
the online application.

2. Using the documentation provided by the court, the customer will submit an online
application.

3. The paymentagency works with individuals to determine a realistic payment plan, as low
as $25.00 per month, which includes a $7.00 fee.

4. Once the payment agency receives the first installment, participating courts will be notified
and they will notify the Washington State Department of Licensing that the hold can be
removed from the person's driver's license.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is this program needed? Shouldn't people just pay their fines?

Court fines can be a barrier for people, particularly those with limited economic means. In
2016, 66,000 people in King County had court fines that could have led to automatic suspen-
sion of their driver's license. Because fines are often collected through a collection agency, the
baseline fines can grow exponentially due to interest and collection fees. This program allows
people to pay back the fines without collection and interest fees, and lifts the hold on the
license at the first payment. Through the traditional collection agency process, the hold is not
lifted until all fines are recovered.

What about people with fines in only one court?

All District and Municipal Courts in King County operate relicensing programs that have similar
payment and relicensing opportunities for individual court customers. This plan allows a
consolidated payment plan for people with fines in multiple courts in King County. People
with fines in only one jurisdiction should contact that court for information on their relicensing
program.

What if someone stops paying?

If a customer defaults on the UP Program, the payment agency sends a notice to the court,
which then removes the case from the program. At that point, the court may assign the case to
the collection agency and notify the Washington Department of Licensing to issue a hold on
the license.




FAQ continued

Do I have to contact each court?

No. You can go to any King County District or Municipal Court to get a copy of your case history

and the UP Program information.

Who is the payment agency?

Linebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson (LGBS), LLP

What courts are participating in the UP Program?

Participating courts include King County District Court and the Municipal Courts of Algona,
Auburn, Bellevue, Black Diamond, Bothell, Burien, Carnation, Clyde Hill, Des Moines, Enumclaw,
Federal Way, Hunts Point, Issaquah, Kenmore, Kent, Kirkland, Lake Forest Park, Maple Valley,
Medina, Mercer Island, Newcastle, Normandy Park, North Bend, Pacific, Redmond, Renton,
Sammamish, SeaTac, Seattle, Shoreline, Skykomish, Tukwila, Woodinville and Yarrow Point.

Can | use the UP Program to pay a fine in another county?

No. At this time this program is only available in King County courts.

Why is there a $7.00 monthly fee?

Is that really less expensive than a collection agency?

The $7.00 monthly fee pays for LGBS to administer the UP Program. They work directly with
clients to identify a customized payment plan, and interact with the courts to make the pro-
gram successful. See the examples below for a breakdown comparing the UP Program with a

collection agency.

REGULAR COLLECTION COSTS
36 Equal Monthly Payments of $39.53 each

PROPOSED UP PROGRAM
36 Equal Monthly Payments of $34.78 each

Violation $1,000.00  Violation $1,000.00
Collection Fee (19%) 190.00  Collection Fee (0%) -
Interest during repayment period (12%) 232.86 Interest during repayment period (0%) -
Set-up Fee —  Set-up Fee —
Monthly Fees —  Monthly Fees ($7.00/month) 252.00

Total that consumerwill pay  $1,422.86

56 Equal Monthly Payments of $24.99 each

Total consumer will pay  $1,252.00

56 Equal Monthly Payments of $24.86 each

Violation $1,000.00 Violation $1,000.00
Collection Fee (19%) 190.00  Collection Fee (0%) -
Interest during repayment period (12%) 433.98 |Interest during repayment period (0%) -
Set-up Fee —  Set-up Fee —
Monthly Fees —  Monthly Fees ($7.00/month) 392.00

Total that consumerwill pay  $1,623.98

Total consumer will pay  $1,392.00

For more information, please contact 206-433-1840.



P UP

Setting you UP
to succeed

King County District and Municipal Courts
UNIFIED PAYMENT (UP) PROGRAM ELIGIBILITY

Beginning October 1, 2017, individuals with traffic-related fines in multiple jurisdictions in
King County will have an easier and less expensive way to pay court-mandated fines through
the new Unified Payment (UP) Program. This program also lifts the hold on a person's driver's
license before the fines are paid in full.

Participation Requirements

1.
2.
3.
4.

Applying for the Program

Must have two or more tickets in two or more courts in King County.

Must take care of any outstanding warrants issued by a court in King County.

Tickets must have a hold or potential hold against the individual's drivers license.

Must have an ability to pay (those without the ability to pay should contact the courtin
which the ticket is filed).

A program application can be obtained by contacting the payment agency at1-844-544-5242, online
at www.KingCountyUPcom, or by contacting any court of limited jurisdiction within King County.

Algona (Pacific)

PAC

Auburn (King County) AUM/KCD

Bellevue (King County)
Black Diamond

Bothell

Burien (King County)
Carnation (King County)
Clyde Hill (Kirkland)
Des Moines

Duvall (King County)
Enumclaw

Federal Way

Hunts Point (Kirkland)
Issaquah

Kenmore (King County)
Kent

King County

Kirkland

Lake Forest Park

KCD
BDM
BTM

KCD
KCD
KIM
DMM
KCD
ECM
FWM
KIM
QM
KCD
KEM
KCD
KIM
LFM

253-929-1140
206-205-9200
206-205-9200

360-886-7784

425-487-5587
206-205-9200
206-205-9200

425-587-3160

206-878-4597
206-205-9200
360-825-7771
253-835-3000

425-587-3160

425-837-3170
206-205-9200

253-856-5730
206-205-9200

425-587-3160

206-364-7711

Maple Valley (Kent) KEM
Medina (Kirkland) KIM
Mercer Island MIS

Newcastle (Mercer Island) MIS
Normandy Park (Des Moines) NPP

North Bend (Issaquah) QM
Pacific PAC
Redmond (King County) KCD
Renton REM
Sammamish (King County)  KCD
SeaTac STM
Seattle SMC

Shoreline (King County) KCD
Skykomish (King County) KCD

Snoqualmie (Issaquah) QM
Tukwila TKM
Woodinville (Kirkland) KIM
Yarrow Point (Kirkland) KIM

253-856-5730
425-587-3160
206-275-7604
206-275-7604
206-878-4597
425-837-3170
253-929-1140
206-205-9200
425-430-6550
206-205-9200
206-973-4610
206-684-5600
206-205-9200
206-205-9200
206-205-9200
206-433-1840
425-587-3160
425-587-3160

For more information, please contact any of
the courts listed above or call 206-433-1840.
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COVER SHEET

(Attach to DCH and give to customer)

Use the highlighted case information on the attached document to submit your online
application via this website: www.KingCountyUP.com . Courts will be notified to remove the
hold from your license AFTER your first payment is processed by the payment agency. You can
make your first payment and schedule re-occurring payments online. If you find that you need

assistance with processing your initial payment, please call the payment agency (Linebarger) at
844-544-5242.

Participation Requirements

Must have 1 ticketina King County District or Municipal Court.

Tickets must have a hold or potential hold against the individual's drivers license.

L (%] -l

Must have an ahility to pay (those without the ability to pay should contact the court in
which the ticket is filed).

4. Must take care of any outstanding warrants issued by a court in King County.

HOW TO READ YOUR DEFENDANT CASE HISTORY (DCH)‘

Case Number (9 digits/characters) Court (3 Ltrs) Amount Owed to the Court for this case

TEST, CASE “Nmcd: IN 962 05954
CONFIDENTIAL--NOT FOR RELEASE
TEST, CASE

N



http://www.kingcountyup.com/

PERCENTAGES DATA FROM LGBS

As of 4/30/2018
Data Based on Accounts {Cases) # %

Total Accounts Assigned 2863

Total Accounts Cancelled 972 34%

Total Accounts Cancelled due to Non-Payment 506 18%

Total Accounts Not Eligible for UP 466 16%

Accounts in Payment Default (Less than 60 days) 276 10%

Acconts Paid In Full 37 1%

Total Open (Current) Accounts 1605 56%

Data Based on Defendants # $5S

Total Defendants Assigned . 482 $ 1,354,593.00
Total Defendants Cancelled 242 $  466,873.00
Total Defendants Cancelled Due to Non-Payment 86 S 235,653.00
Total Defendants Not Eligible for UP 198 S 220,125.00
Number of Defendants in Payment Default {Less than 60 days) 56 S 132,790.00
Number of Defendants Paid In Full 24 S 8,912.00
Total Defendants Current : 306 S 754,925.00

Total Paid to Courts S 29,144.00
Total Fees Retained by LGBS $ 6,351.00

PERCENTAGES APR 30 2018



