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WASHINGTON

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS




November 30, 2011
TO:
Superior Court Judges, County Clerks, Superior Court Administrators, Prosecuting Attorneys, Defense Attorneys and Law Libraries
FROM:
Merrie Gough, Senior Legal Analyst

SUBJECT:  
2011 AMENDMENTS TO THE CrR 4.2(g) AND 
JuCR 7.7 GUILTY PLEA FORMS
On November 3, 2011, the Washington State Supreme Court adopted amendments to the CrR 4.2(g) and JuCR 7.7 guilty plea statements and “Offender Registration” Attachments.  The amendments become effective when they are published in the Official Advance Sheets, Washington Reports, 
172 Wn.2d No. 8.  The anticipated publication date is December 13, 2011.  The table, below, contains descriptions of the amendments, which are based upon 2011 legislative changes and other suggested changes:

Following are detailed descriptions of the changes:
	I.
	CrR 4.2(g) Guilty Plea forms

	
	A.
	CrR 4.2(g) Statement of Defendant on Plea of Guilty to Non-Sex Offense (Felony)

In paragraph 6(e), at the end of the first sentence, after “assessment,” insert:

“and any mandatory fines or penalties that apply to my case.”

In paragraph 6(f) in the paragraph beginning with “For crimes committed on or after July 1, 2000,” in the sixth line,  delete “the judge will sentence me to 36 months..” and replace it with “the judge will sentence me for up to 12 months…”

In paragraph 6(h) in the first paragraph, delete “it” and replace it with “the judge.”

Laws of 2011, ch. 193 (HB 1455), §2, effective July 22, 2011, amended RCW 9.41.040 by adding a new subsection (4)(b) which states that:

“(b) An individual may petition a court of record to have his or her right to possess a firearm restored under (a) of this subsection only at:

(i) The court of record that ordered the petitioner's prohibition on possession of a firearm; or

(ii) The superior court in the county in which the petitioner resides.”

To implement this change and other recommended changes, change paragraph 6(j) as follows:

“I may not possess, own, or have under my control any firearm, and under federal law any firearm or ammunition, unless my right to do so is restored by the court in which I am convicted or the a superior court in Washington State where I live, and by a federal court if required.  I must immediately surrender any concealed pistol license.  RCW  9.41.040.”
In paragraph 6(o), delete “..and up to two years community custody…” and replace it with “…and up to one year of community custody…”

In paragraph 6(p) in the second line, change the Session Law “Laws of 2010, ch. 224, §2” to “RCW 9.94A.655.”

Based upon State v Corona, 41436-8-II (Sept. 20, 2011), and State v. Wood, 117 Wash.App. 207, 70 P.2d 151 (2003), change paragraph 6(v) as follows:
“If this crime involves the manufacture, delivery, or possession with the intent to deliver methamphetamine, including its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers, or amphetamine, including its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers, and if a fine is imposed, $3,000 of the fine may not be suspendeda mandatory methamphetamine clean-up fine of $3,000 will be assessed.  RCW 69.50.401(2)(b).”



	
	B.
	CrR 4.2(g) Statement of Defendant on Plea of Guilty to Sex Offense (Felony)

In paragraph 6(e), at the end of the first sentence, after “assessment,” insert:

“and any mandatory fines or penalties that apply to my case.”

In paragraph 6(f) in the section beginning with “For sex offenses committed on or after September 1, 2001,” and in the sub-paragraph beginning with “(ii),” in the fifth line, after “offender” and before “the judge,” insert:

“and this is my second or subsequent conviction of that crime,”

In paragraph 6(h) in the first paragraph, second sentence, delete “it” and replace it with “the judge,” and insert “(except as provided in paragraph 6(f))” at the end of the sentence.

Laws of 2011, ch. 193 (HB 1455), §2, effective July 22, 2011, amended RCW 9.41.040 by adding a new subsection (4)(b) which states that:

“(b) An individual may petition a court of record to have his or her right to possess a firearm restored under (a) of this subsection only at:

(i) The court of record that ordered the petitioner's prohibition on possession of a firearm; or

(ii) The superior court in the county in which the petitioner resides.”

To implement this change and other recommended changes, change paragraph 6(j) as follows:

“I may not possess, own, or have under my control any firearm, and under federal law any firearm or ammunition, unless my right to do so is restored by the court in which I am convicted or the a superior court in Washington State where I live, and by a federal court if required.  I must immediately surrender any concealed pistol license.  RCW  9.41.040.”
In paragraph 6(n), relating to DNA analysis, insert the following phrase, based upon RCW 43.43.754(2), at the end of the first sentence:

“, unless it is established that the Washington State Patrol crime laboratory already has a sample from me for a qualifying offense.”


	
	C.
	CrR 4.2(g) “Offender Registration” Attachment

In the phrase after “ ‘Offender Registration’ Attachment,” delete the Session Law “Laws of 2010, ch. 267 §1,” and replace it with “RCW 9A.44.128.”

In paragraph 1, in the sentence after “General Applicability and Requirements,” delete the Session Law “Laws of 2010, ch. 267 §1,” and replace it with “RCW 9A.44.128.”

Laws of 2011, ch. 337 §3, effective July 22, 2011, revised RCW 9A.44.130(1)(b) by deleting the prior language relating to school or higher education enrollment, employment or termination of same. The deleted language was replaced with:

“(b) Any adult or juvenile who is required to register under (a) of this subsection must give notice to the county sheriff of the county with whom the person is registered within three business days:


i) prior to arriving at a school or institution of higher education to attend classes;

ii) prior to starting work at an institution of higher education; or

iii) after any termination of enrollment or employment at a school or institution of higher education.”

To implement this change, delete the text of paragraph 5 and replace it with the following text:
  “5.  Notification Requirement When Enrolling in or Employed by a Public or Private Institution of Higher Education or Common School (K-12):  I must give notice to the sheriff of the county where I am registered within three business days:

i) before arriving at a school or institution of higher education to attend classes;

ii) before starting work at an institution of higher education; or

iii) after any termination of enrollment or employment at a school or institution of higher education.”



	II.
	JuCR 7.7 Guilty Plea forms

	
	A.
	JuCR 7.7 Statement on Plea of Guilty 
Change paragraph 11 as follows:

“GROUNDS FOR DEPORTATION:  If I am not a citizen of the United States, a plea of guilty to an offense punishable as a crime under state law may be is grounds for deportation, exclusion from admission to the United States, or denial of naturalization pursuant to the laws of the United States.”

In paragraph 12[C], delete the Session Law “Laws of 2010, ch. 267, §1” and replace it with “RCW 9A.44.128.”
In paragraph 12[D], relating to DNA analysis, insert the following sentence, based upon RCW 43.43.754(2), at the end of the paragraph:
“…This paragraph does not apply if it is established that the Washington State Patrol crime laboratory already has a sample from me for a qualifying offense.”
Laws of 2011, ch. 193 (HB 1455), §2, effective July 22, 2011, amended RCW 9.41.040 by adding a new subsection (4)(b) which states that:

“(b) An individual may petition a court of record to have his or her right to possess a firearm restored under (a) of this subsection only at:

(i) The court of record that ordered the petitioner's prohibition on possession of a firearm; or

(ii) The superior court in the county in which the petitioner resides.”

To implement this change and other recommended changes, change paragraph 12[L] as follows:

“RIGHT TO POSSESS FIREARMS: [JUDGE MUST READ THE FOLLOWING TO OFFENDER] I have been informed that if I am pleading guilty to any offense that is classified as a felony or any of the following crimes when committed by one family or household member against another: assault in the fourth degree, coercion, stalking, reckless endangerment, criminal trespass in the first degree, or violation of the provisions of a protection order or no-contact order restraining the person or excluding the Epson from a residence; that I may not possess, own, or have under my control any firearm, and under federal law any firearm or ammunition, unless my right to do so is restored by the court in which I am adjudicated or a the superior court in Washington State where I live, and by a federal court if required.  RCW  9.41.040.”
In paragraph 12[M], delete the citation “RCW 9.41.040(1)(b)(iii)” and replace it with “RCW 9.41.040(2)(a)(iii).”



	
	B.
	JuCR 7.7 “Offender Registration” Attachment

At the beginning of paragraph 1, “General applicability and Requirements, delete the Session Law “Laws of 2010, ch. 267 §1,” and replace it with “RCW 9A.44.128.”

Laws of 2011, ch. 337 §3, effective July 22, 2011, revised RCW 9A.44.130(1)(b) by deleting the prior language relating to school or higher education enrollment, employment, or termination of same. The deleted language was replaced with:

“(b) Any adult or juvenile who is required to register under (a) of this subsection must give notice to the county sheriff of the county with whom the person is registered within three business days:


i) prior to arriving at a school or institution of higher education to attend classes;

ii) prior to starting work at an institution of higher education; or

iii) after any termination of enrollment or employment at a school or institution of higher education.”

To implement this change, delete the text of paragraph 5 and replace it with the following text:
  “5.  Notification Requirement When Enrolling in or Employed by a Public or Private Institution of Higher Education or Common School (K-12):  I must give notice to the sheriff of the county where I am registered within three business days:

i) before arriving at a school or institution of higher education to attend classes;

ii) before starting work at an institution of higher education; or

iii) after any termination of enrollment or employment at a school or institution of higher education.”





