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ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS




November 30, 2011
TO:
District and Municipal Court Judges and Court Commissioners, Court Administrators, Prosecuting Attorneys, Defense Attorneys and Law Libraries
FROM:
Merrie Gough, Senior Legal Analyst

SUBJECT:
2011 AMENDMENTS TO THE CrRLJ 4.2(g) STATEMENT OF DEFENDANT ON PLEA OF GUILTY AND ATTACHMENTS
On November 3, 2011, the Washington State Supreme Court adopted amendments to the CrRLJ 4.2(g) Statement of Defendant on Plea of Guilty, “Offender Registration” Attachment, and “DUI” Attachment.  The amendments become effective when they are published in the Official Advance Sheets, Washington Reports, 172 Wn.2d No. 8.  The anticipated publication date is December 13, 2011.  The table, below, contains descriptions of the amendments, which are based upon 2011 legislative changes and other suggested changes:

	1.
	CrRLJ 4.2(g) Statement of Defendant on Plea of Guilty

	
	Laws of 2011, ch. 96 reduced the maximum imprisonment in the city jail for a gross misdemeanor to 364 days.  Laws of 2011, ch. 96, § 34 amended RCW 46.61.500(1), and Laws of 2011, ch. 96, § 35 amended 46.61.5055 to reduce the maximum gross misdemeanor jail term to 364 days.  

To implement this change as it relates to deportation consequences, change paragraph 6(f) as follows:

“If I am not a citizen of the United States, a plea of guilty to an offense punishable as a crime under state law may be is grounds for deportation, exclusion from admission to the United States, or denial of naturalization pursuant to the laws of the United States.”

Laws of 2011, ch. 193 (HB 1455), §2, effective July 22, 2011, amended RCW 9.41.040 by adding a new subsection (4)(b) which states that:

“(b) An individual may petition a court of record to have his or her right to possess a firearm restored under (a) of this subsection only at:

(i) The court of record that ordered the petitioner's prohibition on possession of a firearm; or

(ii) The superior court in the county in which the petitioner resides.”

To implement this change and other recommended changes, change paragraph 6(j) as follows:
“I may not possess, own, or have under my control any firearm, and under federal law any firearm or ammunition, unless my right to do so is restored by the court of record that ordered the prohibition on possession of a firearm or a the superior court in Washington State where I live, and by a federal court if required.  I must immediately surrender any concealed pistol license.  RCW  9.41.040.”
Laws of 2011, ch. 293, § 4, 5, and 6, modified RCW 46.61.500, 46.61.5249, and 46.61.720(3) and (5), to impose ignition interlock requirements on specified convictions for reckless driving and negligent driving in the first degree.  

To implement the new provisions, insert the following two check box options in paragraph 6:

[  ] (o)
If this case involves reckless driving and the original charge was driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or being in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs and I have one or more prior offenses, as defined in RCW 46.61.5055(14), within 7 years; or if the original charge was vehicular homicide (RCW 46.61.520) or vehicular assault  (RCW 46.61.522) committed while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug, I have been informed and understand that I will be subject to the penalties for Reckless Driving described in the “DUI” Attachment 

[  ] (p)
If this case involves negligent driving in the first degree, and I have one or more prior offenses, as defined in RCW 46.61.5055(14), within 7 years, I have been informed and understand that I will be subject to the penalties for Negligent Driving – 1st Degree described in the “DUI” Attachment.
Renumber the remaining paragraphs.

In paragraph (6)(r), relating to DNA analysis, insert the following phrase, based upon RCW 43.43.754(2), at the end of the paragraph:
“, unless it is established that the Washington State Patrol crime laboratory already has a sample from me for a qualifying offense.”


	2.
	CrRLJ 4.2(g), “DUI” Attachment

	
	Below the title, in the information in parentheses, change “January 1, 2011” to “September 1, 2011.”

Throughout the DUI Sentencing Grid, change references to the number of hours, months, or years from the written form and Arabic numerals to the written form, only.  For example change “four (4)” to “four.”  
Laws of 2011, ch. 293, §12, effective July 22, 2011, amended RCW 46.61.5054(1) by increasing the alcohol violator’s fee (BAC) from $125 to $200.  To implement this change, in the DUI Sentencing Grid, on page 1, increase the mandatory minimum fine amounts as follows:

$865.50 - $940.50

$1,120.50 - $1,195.50

$1,120.50 - $1,195.50

$1,545.50 - $1,620.50

$1,970.50 - $2,045.50

$2,280.50 - $2,895.50

Laws of 2011, ch. 293, §14, effective July 22, 2011 amended RCW 46.61.5152 as follows:

“In addition to penalties that may be imposed under RCW 46.61.5055, the court may require a person who is convicted of a nonfelony violation of RCW 46.61.502 or 46.61.504 or who enters a deferred prosecution program under RCW 10.05.020 based on a nonfelony violation of RCW 46.61.502 or 46.61.504, to attend an educational program, such as a victim impact panel, focusing on the emotional, physical, and financial suffering of victims who were injured by persons convicted of driving while under the influence of intoxicants. The victim impact panel program must meet the minimum standards established under section 15 of this act.”

To implement Laws of 2011, ch. 293, §14, in the DUI Sentencing Grid, on page 1, change “Alcohol/Drug Ed. or Treatment” to “Alcohol/Drug Ed./Victim Impact or Treatment.”  

Laws of 2011, ch. 96, effective July 22, 2011, reduced the maximum imprisonment in the city jail for a gross misdemeanor to 364 days.  Laws of 2011, ch. 96, § 34 amended RCW 46.61.500(1), and  Laws of 2011, ch. 96, § 35 amended 46.61.5055 to reduce the maximum gross misdemeanor jail term to 364 days.  

To implement these changes, in the Courts DUI Sentencing Grid, on page 1, reduce the maximum jail time to 364 days.

On page 2, in the section titled “Prior Offenses,” in the introductory paragraph, delete the citation to “Seattle v. Quezada, 142 Wn. App. 43, 174 P. 3d 129 (Div. 1 2007).”  In the same section, under the subheading “Deferred Prosecution Granted for the following,” delete the following:

“..See Bremerton v. Tucker, 126 Wn.App. 26, 103 P. 3d 1285 (Div 2 2005); Seattle v. Quezada, 142 Wn.App. 43, 174 P.3d 129 (Div. 1 2007) (a revoked deferred prosecution only counts as one prior offense.)”  

Laws of 2011, ch. 293, effective September 1, 2011, requires several changes to the DUI Sentencing Grid.  Specific changes are listed below, along with other recommended changes:

Laws of 2011, ch. 293, § 7 amended RCW 46.61.5055(14)(a)(iii) and (iv), as follows:

“(iii) A conviction for a violation of RCW 46.61.520 committed while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug, or a conviction for a violation of RCW 46.61.520 committed in a reckless manner or with the disregard for the safety of others if the conviction is the result of a charge that was originally filed as a violation of RCW 46.61.520, committed while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug;
(iv) A conviction for a violation of RCW 46.61.522 committed while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug, or a conviction for a violation of RCW 46.61.522 committed in a reckless manner or with the disregard for the safety of others if the conviction is the result of a charge that was originally filed as a violation of RCW 46.61.522 committed while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug;”
To implement this change, and to incorporate recommended changes, on page 2, under the heading “Prior Offenses,” change the text under the subheading “Amended Convictions for the following,” as follows:

“Amended Convictions for the following: If the person was originally charged with DUI or Phys. Cont. or an equivalent local ordinance, or Veh. Hom.icide (RCW 46.61.520) or Veh. Assault (RCW 46.61.522): but convicted of (1) Neg. Driving 1st (RCW 46.61.5249), (2) Reckless Driving (RCW 46.61.500), (3) Reckless Endangerment (RCW 9A.36.050), 
(4) Equiv. out-of-state or local ordinance for the above offenses.  See, Walla Walla v. Greene, 154 Wn.2d 722, ¶ 14, 116 P.3d 1008 (2005).If originally charged with Veh. Hom. (RCW 46.61.520) or Veh. Assault (RCW 46.61.522) committed while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug: but convicted of Veh. Hom. or Veh. Assault committed in a reckless manner or with the disregard for the safety of others.”

On page 2, under the heading “Mandatory Jail and Electronic Home Monitoring (EHM),” delete the citation to “Bremerton v. Bradshaw, 121 Wn.App. 410, 88 P. 3d 438 (Div. 2 2004).”
Laws of 2011, ch. 293, § 2, modified RCW 46.61.502, by adding a new subsection (6)(b)(iv): 

“(6) it is a class C felony punishable under chapter 9.94A RCW or chapter 13.40 RCW if the person is a juvenile, if: …..

(b) the person has ever previously been convicted of:…

(iv) a violation of this subsection (6) or RCW 46.61.504(6).”

Comparable changes were made in Laws of 2011, ch. 293, § 3 modifying RCW 46.61.504(6)(b)(iv), and Laws of 2011, ch. 293, § 7, modifying RCW 46.61.5055(4)(b)(iv). 

To implement these changes, on page 2, in the paragraph titled “Felony DUI and Felony Physical Control,” change the first sentence as follows:

“A current offense is a Class C felony punished under Ch. 9.94A RCW if the defendant has With (a) four (4) priors convictions within ten (10) years, or (b) one (1) prior conviction of Veh. Homicide or Veh. Assault (see above), or (c) a prior Class C felony resulting from (a) or (b), a current offense is a Class C Felony punished under Chapter 9.94A RCW.”

Below the heading “Department of Licensing – DUI Administrative Sanctions and Reinstatement Provisions, in the information in parentheses, change the date “July 1, 2007” to “September 1, 2011.”

Laws of 2011, ch. 293, § 7 amended RCW 46.61.5055(5)(f) as follows:

“(f) If the court orders that a person refrain from consuming any alcohol and requires the person to apply for an ignition interlock driver's license, and the person states that he or she does not operate a motor vehicle or the person is ineligible to obtain an ignition interlock driver's license, the court shall order the person to submit to alcohol monitoring through an alcohol detection breathalyzer device, transdermal sensor device, or other technology designed to detect alcohol in a person's system. Alcohol monitoring ordered under this subsection must be for the period of the mandatory license suspension or revocation for one (1), five (5), or ten (10) years. The person shall pay for the cost of the monitoring.  The county or municipality where the penalty is being imposed shall determine the cost.”
To implement this provision, on the page titled “Court and Department of Licensing (DOL) Ignition Interlock Requirements, RCW 46.20.280, 46.20.385,” below the heading “Court Ordered Ignition Interlock (II) Driver’s License and Device,” change the end of the first sentence as follows:

“(A) If the court orders a person to refrain from consuming any alcohol and requires the person to apply for an II driver’s license, and the person states that he or she does not operate a motor vehicle, or the person is ineligible to obtain an II driver’s license, then the court shall order the person to submit to alcohol monitoring for the period of mandatory license suspension or revocation one(1), five (5), or ten (10) years, and to pay for the monitoring.”

Laws of 2011, ch. 293, § 7 amended RCW 46.61.5055(5) by adding a new subsection (h):

“(h) Beginning with incidents occurring on or after the effective date of this section, when calculating the period of time for the restriction under RCW 46.20.720(3), the department must also give the person a day-for-day credit for the time period, beginning from the date of the incident, during which the person kept an ignition interlock device installed on all vehicles the person operates. For the purposes of this subsection (5)(h), the term "all vehicles" does not include vehicles that would be subject to the employer exception under RCW 46.20.720(3).

To implement the new provision, below the heading “DOL Imposed Ignition Interlock (II) Device – RCW 46.20.720,” insert the following at the end of the paragraph:

“DOL will give day-for-day credit as allowed by law.”

Laws of 2011, ch. 293, § 4, 5, and 6, modified RCW 46.61.500, 46.61.5249, and 46.61.720(3) and (5), to impose ignition interlock requirements on specified convictions for reckless driving and negligent driving.  
To implement the new provisions, add the new section to the end of the DUI Sentencing Grid titled “Court – Reckless Driving/Negligent Driving – 1st Degree Sentencing Grid.”  See the “DUI” Attachment for the text of the new section.


	3.
	CrRLJ 4.2(g), “Offender Registration” Attachment

	
	Laws of 2011, ch. 337 §3, effective July 22, 2011, revised RCW 9A.44.130(1)(b) by deleting the prior language relating to school or higher education enrollment, employment or termination of same. The deleted language was replaced with:

“(b) Any adult or juvenile who is required to register under (a) of this subsection must give notice to the county sheriff of the county with whom the person is registered within three business days:


i) prior to arriving at a school or institution of higher education to attend classes;

ii) prior to starting work at an institution of higher education; or

iii) after any termination of enrollment or employment at a school or institution of higher education.”

To implement this change, delete the text of paragraph 5 and replace it with the following text:
  “5. Notification Requirement When Enrolling in or Employed by a Public or Private Institution of Higher Education or Common School (K-12):  I must give notice to the sheriff of the county where I am registered within three business days:

i) before arriving at a school or institution of higher education to attend classes;

ii) before starting work at an institution of higher education; or

iii) after any termination of enrollment or employment at a school or institution of higher education.”



