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1. ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR 

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN FINDING JOSEPH 
COOPER GUILTY OF FAILURE TO REGISTER AS A SEX 
OFFENDER WHEN THE INFORMATION FAILED TO 
ALLEGE ALL THE ESSENTIAL ELEMENTS OF THE 
CHARGE. 

II. ISSUE PERTAINING TO ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR 

WHETHER JOSEPH COOPER'S SECOND AMENDED 
INFORMATION APPRISED HIM OF ALL THE ELEMENTS 
OF FAILURE TO REGISTER AS A SEX OFFENDER 
WHEN IT FAILED TO SPECIFY THE TlME BY WHICH HE 
MUST REGISTER IN WASHINGTON ESPECIALLY AS 
THE TO-CONVICT INSTRUCTION DID INCLUDE THE 
TlME REQUIREMENT FOR REGISTRATION AS AN 
ELEMENT OF THE CHARGE? 

Ill. STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

A. Procedural Facts 

Joseph Alan Cooper was charged by a second amended 

information with failure to register as a sex offender.' CP 7. The 

information alleged that Cooper was convicted in Oregon in 2003 of 

attempted sexual abuse in the first degree. CP 7. Prior to trial, 

Judge John Nichols heard and denied Cooper's motion in limine in 

which Cooper argued that the Oregon conviction was 

The state had earlier filed an information and an amended 
information against Cooper. All informations filed against Cooper 
charged a single count of failure to register as a sex offender. The 
text remained the same on each information with changes made 
only to the date of the offense. CP 1, 2 & 7. 



constitutionally invalid and could not be used as a predicate offense 

to prove the failure to register charge. CP 8-9; ~ A R P ~  42-1 13. 

Judge John Nichols presided over the May 30-31, 2006, jury 

trial. After the state rested, Cooper challenged the sufficiency of 

the second amended information and moved for dismissal as the 

information failed to include a time by which Cooper must register 

in Washington as a sex offender. 3ARP 274. The court denied 

Cooper's motion. 3ARP 274-75. The state did not move to amend 

the second amended information. 3ARP 27-75. 

Cooper stipulated that his Oregon conviction was 

comparable to a Washington felony sex offense and would require 

him to register as a sex offender in Washington. CP 40. The court 

read the stipulation to the jury. 3BRP 428. 

The jury found Cooper guilty. CP 39. On June 1, Cooper 

was sentenced to 120 days on the charge's unranked 0-12 month 

range. CP 45; 4RP 516. Immediately thereafter, Cooper filed his 

Notice of Appeal. CP 54. 

"2ARP" refers to Volume 2A of the verbatim Report of 
Proceedings held on May 30, 2006. Hereafter, any reference to the 
verbatim Report of Proceedings will be designated by the volume 
number and letter - as appropriate - followed by "RP" and the 
specific page number for the cite. 



B. Substantive Facts 

In 2003, Cooper was convicted in Clackamas County, 

Oregon, of attempted sexual abuse in the first degree. 2BRP 141; 

CP 40. Because of the conviction, Cooper's Oregon probation 

officer required Cooper to live in Oregon. 2BRP 147. Sometime 

between January and August 2005, Cooper did ask his probation 

officer for permission to move to Washington; the probation officer 

denied his request. 2BRP 146-47. From the time of his conviction 

until the May 2006, trial, Cooper's address for probationary 

purposes was always in Oregon. 2BRP 147. 

Nonetheless, the state's witnesses identified Cooper as 

living in Washington. Tammy Hearon - residing at 1631 1 N.E. 76th 

in Vancouver - testified that Cooper lived in the house directly 

across from her in the summer of 2004. 2BRP 184-185. She 

smoked outside in the morning and typically saw Cooper leaving for 

work. 2BRP 192. Cooper would return in the late afternoon and 

mow the lawn or play ball with his kids. 2BRP 192. Hearon's 

neighbor at 16309 N.E. 76th, Ryan Lynch, recalled regularly seeing 

Cooper leave for work from the house across the street. 2BRP 

21 1. Cooper drove a white Ford Ranger and left at about 6:30 a.m. 

2BRP 21 1. Cooper frequently loaded his truck with fencing-type 



tools he took from the garage where Lynch believed Cooper lived. 

2BRP 213-15. Lynch also saw Cooper at the house on the 

weekends playing catch with who he presumed were Cooper's kids 

and doing yard work. 2BRP 217-20. Lynch thought Cooper and 

his family lived at the house from around the Fourth of July 2004 

until Christmas 2004. 2BRP 224. 

Holly Frazier lived at 14004 N.E. 94th Street in Vancouver. 

2BRP 232. Cooper and his family lived next door to her from 

approximately January-August 2005. 2BRP 232-36. There was 

nothing about Cooper's activities in the neighborhood during that 

time that suggested to Frazier that Cooper was anything other than 

the "man of the house." 2BRP 232-36. 

From July of 2004-August of 2005, Cooper did not contact 

the Clark County Sheriffs Office and register as a sex offender at a 

Clark County address. 2BRP 247-51. 

Cooper testified that he did come to Washington periodically 

on travel passes approved by his probation officer. 3ARP 305. He 

came to visit with his wife and children who had lived in rental 

homes first on 76th and later on 94th in Vancouver. 3ARP 291-93. 

He denied living at any place other than various Oregon addresses. 

3ARP 289-305. 



IV. ARGUMENT 

BECAUSE THE SECOND AMENDED INFORMATION DID 
NOT ALLEGE ALL OF THE ESSENTIAL ELEMENTS OF 
FAILURE TO REGISTER AS A SEX OFFENDER, JOSEPH 
COOPER'S CASE MUST BE DISMISSED WITHOUT 
PREJUDICE. 

The constitutional right of a person to be informed of the 

nature and cause of the accusation against him requires that every 

material element of the offense be charged with definiteness and 

certainty. 2 C. Torcia, Wharton on Criminal Procedures Section 

238, at 69 (13'~ ed. 1990). In Washington, the information must 

include the essential common law elements, as well as the 

statutory elements, of the crime charged in order to apprise the 

accused of the nature of the charge. Sixth Amendment; Const. Art. 

l ,  Section 22 (Amend. 10); CrR 2. I (b); State v. Kiorsvik, 1 17 Wn.2d 

93, 812, P.2d 86 (1991). An essential element is one "whose 

specification is necessary to establish the very illegality of the 

behavior." State v. Johnson, 119 Wn.2d 143, 147, 829 P.2d 1078 

(1992) (quoting Kiorsvik, 117 Wn.2d at 106). The term "elements" 

has also been defined as "those facts the prosecution must prove 

beyond a reasonable doubt to establish that the defendant 



committed the offense.'' State v. Johnstone, 96 Wn. App. 839, 846, 

928 P.2d 119 (1999) (quoting State v. Franklin, 116 N.M. 565, 570, 

865 P.2d 1209, 1214 (1993).~ 

It is not fatal to an information that the exact words of the 

statute are not used; it is instead sufficient "to use words conveying 

the same meaning and import as the statutory language." State v. 

Leach, 113 Wn.2d 678, 689, 787 P.2d 552 (1989). The information 

must, however, "state the acts constituting the offense in an 

ordinary and concise language . . . ." State v. Rovse, 66 Wn.2d 

552, 557, 403 P.2d 838 (1965). The question "is whether the words 

would reasonably apprise an accused of the elements of the crime 

charged.'' Kiorsvik, 117 Wn.2d at 109. Where, as here, an 

information is challenged prior to verdict, it is construed strictly. 

State v. Johnson, 119 Wn.2d at 150. The language must not be 

An "element of crime" is defined by Black's Law Dictionary as 
"Those constituent parts of a crime which must be proved by the 
prosecution to sustain a conviction . . . . A term used by the 
common law to refer to each component part of the actus reus, 
causation, and the mens rea that must be proved in order to 
establish that a given offense has occurred. The term is more 
broadly defined by the Model Penal Code in section 1.13(9) to refer 
to each component of the actus reus, causation, the mens rea, and 
grading factors, and the negative of any defense." Black's Law 
Dictionary 520 (6th ed. 1990). 



"inartful or vague" in setting out the elements of the crime. Id. at 

The primary purpose of a charging document is to give 
notice to an accused so a defense can be prepared. (citation 
omitted). There are two aspects of this notice requirement 
involved in a charging document: (1) the description 
(elements) of the crime charged; and (2) a description of the 
specific conduct of the defendant which allegedly constituted 
the crime. 

Auburn v. Brooke, 119 Wn.2d 623, 629-30, 836 P.2d 212 (1992). 

The RCW 9A.44.130(4)(a)(v) applicable to the period 

outlined in the charging document provides, in relevant part: 

OFFENDERS WHO ARE NEW RESIDENTS OR 
RETURNING WASHINGTON RESIDENTS. Sex offenders 
and kidnapping offenders who move to Washington state 
from another state or a foreign country that are not under the 
jurisdiction of the state department of corrections, the 
indeterminate sentence review board, or the state 
department of social and health services at the time of 
moving to Washington, must register within thirty days of 
establishing residence or reestablishing residence if the 
person is a former Washington resident. 

Here, Cooper's second amended information did not allege 

these elements: 

That he, JOSEPH ALAN COOPER, in the County of Clark, 
State of Washington, between June 1, 2004 and August 2, 
2005, having previously been convicted on or about the 25th 
day of February, 2003, of a sex offense or kidnapping 
offense, to wit: Attempted Sexual Abuse in the First Degree, 
in the Circuit Court of the State of Oregon, Clackamas, 
Oregon, Court Number (OR003075J) Cause Number 02- 
1457, and being required to register pursuant to RCW 



9A.44.130, did knowingly fail to register with the county 
sheriffs for the counties in which the defendant resided; 
contrary to Revised Code of Washington 9A.44.130(4)(b) 
and 9A.44.130(1 O)(a). 

This information failed to apprise Cooper of the nature of the 

charge. It did not allege that he knowingly failed to notify the Clark 

County Sheriffs Office within 30 days of having moved to 

Washington State and establishing a residence in Clark County, 

though this language does appear in the court's to-convict 

instruction as elements of the offense of failure to register as a sex 

offender. Court's instruction 7; CP 36. "(S)ince both charging 

documents and jury instructions must identify the essential 

elements of the crime of which defendant is charged, " State v. 

McCartv, 140 Wn.2d 420, 426 n. 1, 998 P.2d 296 (2000), the 

information is defective, and the conviction obtained on this charge 

must be reversed and dismissed. State v. Kitchen, 61 Wn.App. 

91 1, 812 P.2d 888 (1991). 

V. CONCLUSION 

The remedy for an insufficient information is reversal without 

prejudice. State v. Simon, 120 Wn.2d 196, 199, 840 P.2d 172 

(1 992). Joseph Cooper is entitled to that remedy. 



Respectfully submitted this 7th day of November, 2006. 

he?&--- - - -  

LISA E. TABBUTNVSBA #21344 
Attorney for Appellant 



APPENDIX 

VI. APPENDIX OF CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORITY, 
STATUTES, AND COURT RULES 

United States Constitution, Amendment VI 

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right 
to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the state 
and district wherein the crime shall have been committed, 
which district shall have been previously ascertained by law, 
and to be informed of the nature and cause of the 
accusation; to be confronted with the witnesses against him; 
to have compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his 
favor, and to have the assistance of counsel for his defense. 

Washington State Constitution, SECTION 22 

RIGHTS OF THE ACCUSED. In criminal prosecutions the 
accused shall have the right to appear and defend in person, 
or by counsel, to demand the nature and cause of the 
accusation against him, to have a copy thereof, to testify in 
his own behalf, to meet the witnesses against him face to 
face, to have compulsory process to compel the attendance 
of witnesses in his own behalf, to have a speedy public trial 
by an impartial jury of the county in which the offense is 
charged to have been committed and the right to appeal in 
all cases: Provided, The route traversed by any railway 
coach, train or public conveyance, and the water traversed 
by any boat shall be criminal districts; and the jurisdiction of 
all public offenses committed on any such railway car, 
coach, train, boat or other public conveyance, or at any 
station or depot upon such route, shall be in any county 
through which the said car, coach, train, boat or other public 
conveyance may pass during the trip or voyage, or in which 
the trip or voyage may begin or terminate. In no instance 
shall any accused person before final judgment be 
compelled to advance money or fees to secure the rights 
herein guaranteed. [AMENDMENT 10, 1921 p 79 Section 1. 
Approved November, 1922.1 



RCW 9A.44.130. Registration of sex offenders and kidnapping 
offenders -- Procedures -- Definition -- Penalties. 

(1) Any adult or juvenile residing whether or not the person has a 
fixed residence, or who is a student, is employed, or carries on a 
vocation in this state who has been found to have committed or has 
been convicted of any sex offense or kidnapping offense, or who 
has been found not guilty by reason of insanity under chapter 10.77 
RCW of committing any sex offense or kidnapping offense, shall 
register with the county sheriff for the county of the person's 
residence, or if the person is not a resident of Washington, the 
county of the person's school, or place of employment or vocation, 
or as otherwise specified in this section. Where a person required 
to register under this section is in custody of the state department 
of corrections, the state department of social and health services, a 
local division of youth services, or a local jail or juvenile detention 
facility as a result of a sex offense or kidnapping offense, the 
person shall also register at the time of release from custody with 
an official designated by the agency that has jurisdiction over the 
person. In addition, any such adult or juvenile: (a) Who is admitted 
to a public or private institution of higher education shall, within ten 
days of enrolling or by the first business day after arriving at the 
institution, whichever is earlier, notify the sheriff for the county of 
the person's residence of the person's intent to attend the 
institution; (b) who gains employment at a public or private 
institution of higher education shall, within ten days of accepting 
employment or by the first business day after commencing work at 
the institution, whichever is earlier, notify the sheriff for the county 
of the person's residence of the person's employment by the 
institution; or (c) whose enrollment or employment at a public or 
private institution of higher education is terminated shall, within ten 
days of such termination, notify the sheriff for the county of the 
person's residence of the person's termination of enrollment or 
employment at the institution. Persons required to register under 
this section who are enrolled in a public or private institution of 
higher education on June 11, 1998, must notify the county sheriff 
immediately. The sheriff shall notify the institution's department of 
public safety and shall provide that department with the same 
information provided to a county sheriff under subsection (3) of this 
section. 



(2) This section may not be construed to confer any powers 
pursuant to RCW 4.24.500 upon the public safety department of 
any public or private institution of higher education. 

(3) (a) The person shall provide the following information when 
registering: (i) Name; (ii) address; (iii) date and place of birth; (iv) 
place of employment; (v) crime for which convicted; (vi) date and 
place of conviction; (vii) aliases used; (viii) social security number; 
(ix) photograph; and (x) fingerprints. 

(b) Any person who lacks a fixed residence shall provide the 
following information when registering: (i) Name; (ii) date and place 
of birth; (iii) place of employment; (iv) crime for which convicted; (v) 
date and place of conviction; (vi) aliases used; (vii) social security 
number; (viii) photograph; (ix) fingerprints; and (x) where he or she 
plans to stay. 

(4) (a) Offenders shall register with the county sheriff within the 
following deadlines. For purposes of this section the term 
"conviction" refers to adult convictions and juvenile adjudications for 
sex offenses or kidnapping offenses: 

(i) OFFENDERS IN CUSTODY. (A) Sex offenders who 
committed a sex offense on, before, or after February 28, 1990, 
and who, on or after July 28, 1991, are in custody, as a result of 
that offense, of the state department of corrections, the state 
department of social and health services, a local division of youth 
services, or a local jail or juvenile detention facility, and (B) 
kidnapping offenders who on or after July 27, 1997, are in custody 
of the state department of corrections, the state department of 
social and health services, a local division of youth services, or a 
local jail or juvenile detention facility, must register at the time of 
release from custody with an official designated by the agency that 
has jurisdiction over the offender. The agency shall within three 
days forward the registration information to the county sheriff for the 
county of the offender's anticipated residence. The offender must 
also register within twenty-four hours from the time of release with 
the county sheriff for the county of the person's residence, or if the 
person is not a resident of Washington, the county of the person's 
school, or place of employment or vocation. The agency that has 



jurisdiction over the offender shall provide notice to the offender of 
the duty to register. Failure to register at the time of release and 
within twenty-four hours of release constitutes a violation of this 
section and is punishable as provided in subsection (10) of this 
section. 

When the agency with jurisdiction intends to release an 
offender with a duty to register under this section, and the agency 
has knowledge that the offender is eligible for developmental 
disability services from the department of social and health 
services, the agency shall notify the division of developmental 
disabilities of the release. Notice shall occur not more than thirty 
days before the offender is to be released. The agency and the 
division shall assist the offender in meeting the initial registration 
requirement under this section. Failure to provide such assistance 
shall not constitute a defense for any violation of this section. 

(ii) OFFENDERS NOT IN CUSTODY BUT UNDER STATE OR 
LOCAL JURISDICTION. Sex offenders who, on July 28, 1991, are 
not in custody but are under the jurisdiction of the indeterminate 
sentence review board or under the department of correction's 
active supervision, as defined by the department of corrections, the 
state department of social and health services, or a local division of 
youth services, for sex offenses committed before, on, or after 
February 28, 1990, must register within ten days of July 28, 1991. 
Kidnapping offenders who, on July 27, 1997, are not in custody but 
are under the jurisdiction of the indeterminate sentence review 
board or under the department of correction's active supervision, as 
defined by the department of corrections, the state department of 
social and health services, or a local division of youth services, for 
kidnapping offenses committed before, on, or after July 27, 1997, 
must register within ten days of July 27, 1997. A change in 
supervision status of a sex offender who was required to register 
under this subsection (4)(a)(ii) as of July 28, 1991, or a kidnapping 
offender required to register as of July 27, 1997, shall not relieve 
the offender of the duty to register or to reregister following a 
change in residence. The obligation to register shall only cease 
pursuant to RCW 9A.44.140. 

(iii) OFFENDERS UNDER FEDERAL JURISDICTION. Sex 
offenders who, on or after July 23, 1995, and kidnapping offenders 



who, on or after July 27, 1997, as a result of that offense are in the 
custody of the United States bureau of prisons or other federal or 
military correctional agency for sex offenses committed before, on, 
or after February 28, 1990, or kidnapping offenses committed on, 
before, or after July 27, 1997, must register within twenty-four hours 
from the time of release with the county sheriff for the county of the 
person's residence, or if the person is not a resident of Washington, 
the county of the person's school, or place of employment or 
vocation. Sex offenders who, on July 23, 1995, are not in custody 
but are under the jurisdiction of the United States bureau of prisons, 
United States courts, United States parole commission, or military 
parole board for sex offenses committed before, on, or after 
February 28, 1990, must register within ten days of July 23, 1995. 
Kidnapping offenders who, on July 27, 1997, are not in custody but 
are under the jurisdiction of the United States bureau of prisons, 
United States courts, United States parole commission, or military 
parole board for kidnapping offenses committed before, on, or after 
July 27, 1997, must register within ten days of July 27, 1997. A 
change in supervision status of a sex offender who was required to 
register under this subsection (4)(a)(iii) as of July 23, 1995, or a 
kidnapping offender required to register as of July 27, 1997 shall 
not relieve the offender of the duty to register or to reregister 
following a change in residence, or if the person is not a resident of 
Washington, the county of the person's school, or place of 
employment or vocation. The obligation to register shall only cease 
pursuant to RCW 9A.44.140. 

(iv) OFFENDERS WHO ARE CONVICTED BUT NOT 
CONFINED. Sex offenders who are convicted of a sex offense on 
or after July 28, 1991, for a sex offense that was committed on or 
after February 28, 1990, and kidnapping offenders who are 
convicted on or after July 27, 1997, for a kidnapping offense that 
was committed on or after July 27, 1997, but who are not 
sentenced to serve a term of confinement immediately upon 
sentencing, shall report to the county sheriff to register immediately 
upon completion of being sentenced. 

(v) OFFENDERS WHO ARE NEW RESIDENTS OR 
RETURNING WASHINGTON RESIDENTS. Sex offenders and 
kidnapping offenders who move to Washington state from another 
state or a foreign country that are not under the jurisdiction of the 



state department of corrections, the indeterminate sentence review 
board, or the state department of social and health services at the 
time of moving to Washington, must register within thirty days of 
establishing residence or reestablishing residence if the person is a 
former Washington resident. The duty to register under this 
subsection applies to sex offenders convicted under the laws of 
another state or a foreign country, federal or military statutes, or 
Washington state for offenses committed on or after February 28, 
1990, and to kidnapping offenders convicted under the laws of 
another state or a foreign country, federal or military statutes, or 
Washington state for offenses committed on or after July 27, 1997. 
Sex offenders and kidnapping offenders from other states or a 
foreign country who, when they move to Washington, are under the 
jurisdiction of the department of corrections, the indeterminate 
sentence review board, or the department of social and health 
services must register within twenty-four hours of moving to 
Washington. The agency that has jurisdiction over the offender 
shall notify the offender of the registration requirements before the 
offender moves to Washington. 

(vi) OFFENDERS FOUND NOT GUILTY BY REASON OF 
INSANITY. Any adult or juvenile who has been found not guilty by 
reason of insanity under chapter 10.77 RCW of (A) committing a 
sex offense on, before, or after February 28, 1990, and who, on or 
after July 23, 1995, is in custody, as a result of that finding, of the 
state department of social and health services, or (B) committing a 
kidnapping offense on, before, or after July 27, 1997, and who on 
or after July 27, 1997, is in custody, as a result of that finding, of the 
state department of social and health services, must register within 
twenty-four hours from the time of release with the county sheriff for 
the county of the person's residence. The state department of 
social and health services shall provide notice to the adult or 
juvenile in its custody of the duty to register. Any adult or juvenile 
who has been found not guilty by reason of insanity of committing a 
sex offense on, before, or after February 28, 1990, but who was 
released before July 23, 1995, or any adult or juvenile who has 
been found not guilty by reason of insanity of committing a 
kidnapping offense but who was released before July 27, 1997, 
shall be required to register within twenty-four hours of receiving 
notice of this registration requirement. The state department of 
social and health services shall make reasonable attempts within 



available resources to notify sex offenders who were released 
before July 23, 1995, and kidnapping offenders who were released 
before July 27, 1997. Failure to register within twenty-four hours of 
release, or of receiving notice, constitutes a violation of this section 
and is punishable as provided in subsection (10) of this section. 

(vii) OFFENDERS WHO LACK A FIXED RESIDENCE. Any 
person who lacks a fixed residence and leaves the county in which 
he or she is registered and enters and remains within a new county 
for twenty-four hours is required to register with the county sheriff 
not more than twenty-four hours after entering the county and 
provide the information required in subsection (3)(b) of this section. 

(viii) OFFENDERS WHO LACK A FIXED RESIDENCE AND 
WHO ARE UNDER SUPERVISION. Offenders who lack a fixed 
residence and who are under the supervision of the department 
shall register in the county of their supervision. 

(ix) OFFENDERS WHO MOVE TO, WORK, CARRY ON A 
VOCATION, OR ATTEND SCHOOL IN ANOTHER STATE. 
Offenders required to register in Washington, who move to another 
state, or who work, carry on a vocation, or attend school in another 
state shall register a new address, fingerprints, and photograph 
with the new state within ten days after establishing residence, or 
after beginning to work, carry on a vocation, or attend school in the 
new state. The person must also send written notice within ten days 
of moving to the new state or to a foreign country to the county 
sheriff with whom the person last registered in Washington state. 
The county sheriff shall promptly forward this information to the 
Washington state patrol. 

(b) Failure to register within the time required under this section 
constitutes a per se violation of this section and is punishable as 
provided in subsection (1 0) of this section. The county sheriff shall 
not be required to determine whether the person is living within the 
county. 

(c) An arrest on charges of failure to register, service of an 
information, or a complaint for a violation of this section, or 
arraignment on charges for a violation of this section, constitutes 
actual notice of the duty to register. Any person charged with the 



crime of failure to register under this section who asserts as a 
defense the lack of notice of the duty to register shall register 
immediately following actual notice of the duty through arrest, 
service, or arraignment. Failure to register as required under this 
subsection (4)(c) constitutes grounds for filing another charge of 
failing to register. Registering following arrest, service, or 
arraignment on charges shall not relieve the offender from criminal 
liability for failure to register prior to the filing of the original charge. 

(d) The deadlines for the duty to register under this section do not 
relieve any sex offender of the duty to register under this section as 
it existed prior to July 28, 1991. 

(5) (a) If any person required to register pursuant to this section 
changes his or her residence address within the same county, the 
person must send written notice of the change of address to the 
county sheriff within seventy-two hours of moving. If any person 
required to register pursuant to this section moves to a new county, 
the person must send written notice of the change of address at 
least fourteen days before moving to the county sheriff in the new 
county of residence and must register with that county sheriff within 
twenty-four hours of moving. The person must also send written 
notice within ten days of the change of address in the new county 
to the county sheriff with whom the person last registered. The 
county sheriff with whom the person last registered shall promptly 
forward the information concerning the change of address to the 
county sheriff for the county of the person's new residence. Upon 
receipt of notice of change of address to a new state, the county 
sheriff shall promptly forward the information regarding the change 
of address to the agency designated by the new state as the state's 
offender registration agency. 

(b) It is an affirmative defense to a charge that the person failed 
to send a notice at least fourteen days in advance of moving as 
required under (a) of this subsection that the person did not know 
the location of his or her new residence at least fourteen days 
before moving. The defendant must establish the defense by a 
preponderance of the evidence and, to prevail on the defense, must 
also prove by a preponderance that the defendant sent the required 
notice within twenty-four hours of determining the new address. 



(6) (a) Any person required to register under this section who lacks 
a fixed residence shall provide written notice to the sheriff of the 
county where he or she last registered within forty-eight hours 
excluding weekends and holidays after ceasing to have a fixed 
residence. The notice shall include the information required by 
subsection (3)(b) of this section, except the photograph and 
fingerprints. The county sheriff may, for reasonable cause, require 
the offender to provide a photograph and fingerprints. The sheriff 
shall forward this information to the sheriff of the county in which 
the person intends to reside, if the person intends to reside in 
another county. 

(b) A person who lacks a fixed residence must report weekly, in 
person, to the sheriff of the county where he or she is registered. 
The weekly report shall be on a day specified by the county sheriffs 
office, and shall occur during normal business hours. The county 
sheriffs office may require the person to list the locations where the 
person has stayed during the last seven days. The lack of a fixed 
residence is a factor that may be considered in determining an 
offender's risk level and shall make the offender subject to 
disclosure of information to the public at large pursuant to RCW 
4.24.550. 

(c) If any person required to register pursuant to this section does 
not have a fixed residence, it is an affirmative defense to the charge 
of failure to register, that he or she provided written notice to the 
sheriff of the county where he or she last registered within forty- 
eight hours excluding weekends and holidays after ceasing to have 
a fixed residence and has subsequently complied with the 
requirements of subsections (4)(a)(vii) or (viii) and (6) of this 
section. To prevail, the person must prove the defense by a 
preponderance of the evidence. 

(7) A sex offender subject to registration requirements under this 
section who applies to change his or her name under RCW 
4.24.1 30 or any other law shall submit a copy of the application to 
the county sheriff of the county of the person's residence and to the 
state patrol not fewer than five days before the entry of an order 
granting the name change. No sex offender under the requirement 
to register under this section at the time of application shall be 
granted an order changing his or her name if the court finds that 



doing so will interfere with legitimate law enforcement interests, 
except that no order shall be denied when the name change is 
requested for religious or legitimate cultural reasons or in 
recognition of marriage or dissolution of marriage. A sex offender 
under the requirement to register under this section who receives 
an order changing his or her name shall submit a copy of the order 
to the county sheriff of the county of the person's residence and to 
the state patrol within five days of the entry of the order. 

(8) The county sheriff shall obtain a photograph of the individual 
and shall obtain a copy of the individual's fingerprints. 

(9) For the purpose of RCW 9A.44.130, 10.01.200, 43.43.540, 
70.48.470, and 72.09.330: 

(a) "Sex offense" means: 

(i) Any offense defined as a sex offense by RCW 9.94A.030; 

(ii) Any violation under RCW 9A.44.096 (sexual misconduct with 
a minor in the second degree); 

(iii) Any violation under RCW 9.68A.090 (communication with a 
minor for immoral purposes); 

(iv) Any federal or out-of-state conviction for an offense that 
under the laws of this state would be classified as a sex offense 
under this subsection; and 

(v) Any gross misdemeanor that is, under chapter 9A.28 RCW, 
a criminal attempt, criminal solicitation, or criminal conspiracy to 
commit an offense that is classified as a sex offense under RCW 
9.94A.030 or this subsection. 

(b) "Kidnapping offense" means: (i) The crimes of kidnapping in 
the first degree, kidnapping in the second degree, and unlawful 
imprisonment, as defined in chapter 9A.40 RCW, where the victim 
is a minor and the offender is not the minor's parent; (ii) any offense 
that is, under chapter 9A.28 RCW, a criminal attempt, criminal 
solicitation, or criminal conspiracy to commit an offense that is 
classified as a kidnapping offense under this subsection (9)(b); and 



(iii) any federal or out-of-state conviction for an offense that under 
the laws of this state would be classified as a kidnapping offense 
under this subsection (9)(b). 

(c) "Employed" or "carries on a vocation" means employment that 
is full-time or part-time for a period of time exceeding fourteen days, 
or for an aggregate period of time exceeding thirty days during any 
calendar year. A person is employed or carries on a vocation 
whether the person's employment is financially compensated, 
volunteered, or for the purpose of government or educational 
benefit. 

(d) "Student" means a person who is enrolled, on a full-time or 
part-time basis, in any public or private educational institution. An 
educational institution includes any secondary school, trade or 
professional institution, or institution of higher education. 

(10) A person who knowingly fails to register with the county sheriff 
or notify the county sheriff, or who changes his or her name without 
notifying the county sheriff and the state patrol, as required by this 
section is guilty of a class C felony if the crime for which the 
individual was convicted was a felony sex offense as defined in 
subsection (9)(a) of this section or a federal or out-of-state 
conviction for an offense that under the laws of this state would be 
a felony sex offense as defined in subsection (9)(a) of this section. 
If the crime was other than a felony or a federal or out-of-state 
conviction for an offense that under the laws of this state would be 
other than a felony, violation of this section is a gross 
misdemeanor. 

(1 1) A person who knowingly fails to register or who moves within 
the state without notifying the county sheriff as required by this 
section is guilty of a class C felony if the crime for which the 
individual was convicted was a felony kidnapping offense as 
defined in subsection (9)(b) of this section or a federal or out-of- 
state conviction for an offense that under the laws of this state 
would be a felony kidnapping offense as defined in subsection 
(9)(b) of this section. If the crime was other than a felony or a 
federal or out-of-state conviction for an offense that under the laws 



of this state would be other than a felony, violation of this section is 
a gross misdemeanor. 

CrR 2.1 THE INDICTMENT AND THE INFORMATION 

(a) Use of Indictment or Information. The initial pleading by the 
State shall be an indictment or an information in all criminal 
proceedings filed by the prosecuting attorney. 

(1) Nature. The indictment or the information shall be a plain, 
concise and definite written statement of the essential facts 
constituting the offense charged. It shall be signed by the 
prosecuting attorney. Allegations made in one count may be 
incorporated by reference in another count. It may be alleged that 
the means by which the defendant committed the offense is 
unknown or that the defendant committed it by one or more 
specified means. The indictment or information shall state for each 
count the official or customary citation of the statute, rule, regulation 
or other provision of law which the defendant is alleged therein to 
have violated. Error in the citation or its omission shall not be 
ground for dismissal of the indictment or information or for reversal 
of a conviction if the error or omission did not mislead the 
defendant to the defendant's prejudice. 

(2) Contents. The indictment or the information shall contain or 
have attached to it the following information when filed with the 
court: 

(i) the name, address, date of birth, and sex of the defendant; 
(ii) all known personal identification numbers for the defendant, 

including the Washington driver's operating license (DOL) number, 
the state criminal identification (SID) number, the state criminal 
process control number (PCN), the JUVlS control number, and the 
Washington Department of Corrections (DOC) number. 

(b) Surplusage. The court on motion of the defendant may strike 
surplusage from the indictment or information. 

(c) Bill of Particulars. The court may direct the filing of a bill of 
particulars. A motion for a bill of particulars may be made before 
arraignment or within 10 days after arraignment or at such later 
time as the court may permit. 

(d) Amendment. The court may permit any information or bill of 
particulars to be amended at any time before verdict or finding if 
substantial rights of the defendant are not prejudiced. 



(e) Defendant's Criminal History. Upon the filing of an indictment 
or information charging a felony, the prosecuting attorney shall 
request a copy of the defendant's criminal history, as defined in 
RCW 9.94A.030, from the Washington State Patrol Identification 
and Criminal History Section. 



IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON 
DIVISION I1 

STATE OF WASHINGTON, ) Clark County No. 05- 1 -0 1 792-9 
) Court of Appeals No. 34898-5-11 

Respondent, 

vs. ) AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING 

JOSEPH ALAN COOPER, 

Appellant. 

LISA E. TABBUT, being sworn on oath, states that on the 7th day of November 

2006, affiant deposited in the mails of the United States of America, a properly stamped 

envelope directed to: 

Michael C. Kinnie 
Clark County Prosecuting Attorney 
P.O. Box 5000 
Vancouver, WA 98666 

And 

Mr. Joseph A. Cooper/ SID# 147424 16 
Clackamas County Jail 
2223 Kaen Road 
Oregon City, OR 97045 

AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING - 1 - 

LISA E. TABBUT 
A T T O R N E Y  A T  Li\\Y' 

1402 Broadway Longvlew, WA 98632 
Phone :  (360) 425-8155 Fax:  (360) 423-7499 



And that said envelope contained the following: 

(1) APPELLANT'S BREIF 
(2) AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING 

Dated this7th day of November 2006. 

Attorney for Appellant 

1 SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me this 7th day of November 2006. 

AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING - 2 - 

Sharon A. Ball 
Notary Public in and for the 
State of Washington 
Residing at: Longview, WA 98632 
My commission expires: 0611 0107 

A T T O R N E Y  A T  L A W  

1402  Broadway Longvlew, WJA 98632 
P h o n e :  (360) 425-8155 Fax: (360) 423-7493 


	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

