Suggested Change to CrRLJ 6.13  EVIDENCE
  [(a) – (d) No changes.]
  (e) Certified Report of Department of Licensing Custodian
  (1)  Generally.  A certified report from a Department of Licensing (DOL) custodian of records pertaining to a defendant’s driving record(s) and a defendant’s driving status on a particular date is admissible at any hearing or trial in lieu of testimony of a DOL custodian of records.  The certified report shall have the same effect as if the records custodian had testified, if the report is in substantial compliance with the following certification:

CERTIFICATE OF DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING CUSTODIAN OF RECORD
I, _____________ do certify under penalty of perjury as follows:

I have been appointed by the Director of the Department of Licensing as a legal custodian of driving records of the State of Washington.  I certify under penalty of perjury that such records are official and are maintained in the office of the Department of Licensing, Olympia, Washington.
All information contained in this report pertains to the driving record of:

Lic. #




Birthdate:

Name:




Eyes: ____ Sex ___






Hgt: ___ Wgt:_____






License Issued:___________





License Expires:___________

After a diligent search of the computer files, the official record indicates that on ______________ (date), the following statements apply to the status of the above named person:
The attached document(s) are a true and accurate copy of the document(s) maintained in the office of the Department of Licensing, Olympia, Washington.

(specify all documents attached to this affidavit)



Dated: ______________________



_______________________________



(name)



Custodian of Records



Place:  Olympia, Washington



Date: _______________

(2)  Exclusion of Test Reports:  The court shall exclude the Certificate of Department of Licensing Custodian otherwise admissible under this section if:

(i) a copy of the certificate has not been served or mailed to the defendant’s lawyer, if represented, at least 14 days prior to the trial or hearing date, or upon a showing of cause, such lesser time as the court deems proper, or

(ii) in the case of an unrepresented defendant, a copy of this rule in addition to a copy of the certificate has not been served or mailed to the defendant at least 14 days prior to the trial or hearing date or, upon a showing of cause, such lesser time as the court deems proper;
(iii) at least 7 days prior to the trial or hearing date, or, upon a showing of cause, such lesser time as the court deems proper, the defendant has served or mailed a written demand upon the prosecuting authority to produce a custodian of records from the Department of Licensing for trial or hearing.
  (f)  Continuance.  The court at the time of trial shall hear testimony concerning the alleged offense and, if necessary, may continue the proceedings for the purpose of obtaining (1) the maintenance technician’s presence for testimony concerning the working order of the Breathalyzer machine and the certification thereof, (2) evidence concerning the working order of the BAC Verifier Data Master instrument and the certification thereof, (3) evidence concerning the preparation of the BAC Verifier Data Master simulator solution and the certification thereof, or (4) evidence concerning an electronic speed measuring device or laser speed measuring device and the certification thereof, or (5) evidence concerning the certified report of the Department of Licensing.  If, at the time it is supplied, the evidence is insufficient, a motion to suppress the results of such test or readings shall be granted.
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