

Do you have a guardianship* issue?

- Guardianship petitions for instruction
- Annual reporting and periodic reporting
- Modify or terminate a guardianship
- Sale, exchange, lease, or mortgage of property owned by someone subject to guardianship
- Transfer guardianship to an out-of-state court
- Transfer guardianship or conservatorship to Washington state
- 2 Is your household income between 200 and 400% of the Federal Poverty Level?

No. of People in Household	200% of Federal Poverty Level	400% of Federal Poverty Level
1	\$24,120	\$48,240
2	\$32,480	\$64,960
3	\$40,840	\$81,860
4	\$49,200	\$98,400
5	\$57,560	\$115,120

(Numbers as of February 2017)

Then you may be eligible to connect with a lawyer for reduced-fee legal help through the WSBA Moderate Means Program.

Here's what you can expect from a Moderate Means Program attorney:

- The lawyer will charge you fees. The lawyer's time is not a free service.
- You and the lawyer will negotiate the fee. The lawyer's hourly fee rate may vary.
- The lawyer will examine your household income and the number of dependents.
- The lawyer may request an advance deposit.

See other side to get started.

*In addition to guardianship, the Moderate Means Program also accepts family, consumer, and housing issues.

WSBA Moderate Means Program

A partnership with the law schools of Gonzaga University, Seattle University, and the University of Washington

GET STARTED with the Moderate Means Program (MMP)

- Apply now.
 - If you believe you are eligible for the Moderate Means Program (see other side for eligibility), apply online at **www.moderatemeanswa.org**. If you cannot apply online, please leave a voicemail at 855-741-6930.
- **7** Talk with a law student.
 - A law student volunteer will call you with questions about your legal issue and household income.
- Case referral.

 If your case is eligible for MMP, we will attempt to refer you to a participating lawyer. There is no charge for the intake and referral process.
- **Meet with the Lawyer.**

Call the lawyer to schedule a meeting. During your first meeting, you and the lawyer will decide if you want to work together. If you hire the lawyer, you will need to discuss how much to pay and if the lawyer will require you to pay an advance fee deposit before the lawyer starts works on your case. The WSBA recommends that a lawyer in this program reduce his/her fees according to a sliding fee scale:

Client income between 200 and 250% of FPL - **Reduce fee by 75%**Client income between 250 and 350% of FPL - **Reduce fee by 50%**Client income between 350 and 400% of FPL - **Reduce fee by 25%**

You don't have to hire the lawyer. If you decide not to hire the lawyer, please contact us. We may be able to refer your case to another lawyer, but we can't guarantee this.

